DR15 + DCP = True

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Thom Britten-Austin

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:44 am

DR15 + DCP = True

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 5:43 pm

:D Jumpin' Jack Flash and what a gas!

Finally BM have put a native DCP render into the deliver page. THANKYOU!

This means they have taken away all the hard work in making a DCP, getting the colour conversion/gamma etc right. As easy as any other format...

Well almost, crashes after about 2 minutes of render but hey, it's still a Beta.

bm_15_dcp1.PNG
bm_15_dcp1.PNG (7.17 KiB) Viewed 323 times


I wonder what the guys over at EasyDCP will do now?
Last edited by Thom Britten-Austin on Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thom Britten-Austin
Windows 10, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X, DR15 Studio
Offline

Pierpaolo Ferlaino

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 4:31 pm

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 5:57 pm

Well almost, crashes after about 2 minutes of render but hey, it's still a Beta.


It's very stable for me, so far...

I wonder what the guys over at EasyDCP will do now?


EasyDCP still renders faster on my machine. Moreover, the standalone easyDCP has lots of capabilities the Resolve plugin doesn't have.
Offline

Thom Britten-Austin

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:44 am

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 6:15 pm

using a MAC perhaps?
Thom Britten-Austin
Windows 10, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X, DR15 Studio
Offline

Pierpaolo Ferlaino

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 4:31 pm

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 6:19 pm

Yes, I'm on a mac.

And - I didn't mention it earlier - I must say the ability to export DCP and IMF packages natively it's one of my favourite additions in Resolve 15.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 5759
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 10:46 pm

I did a try on my pc for dcp 2k scope plus audio and a side a color science note, it seems to work pretty good.
Walter Volpatto - C.S.I.
Digital Intermediate Colorist
Fotokem, Burbank. USA
www.fotokem.com
www.coloristsociety.com

Inb4YouCanJustColorComments: yes you can, good luck with that.
Offline

Thom Britten-Austin

  • Posts: 162
  • Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:44 am

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 6:21 am

It works for a while. If I export video only then I get to about 40 minutes. If I include audio then it crashes after only a couple of minutes.

How long are your renders that are working?

As far as being slower is concerned then yes but if you include the time taken to render the original DNXhR or equivalent before doing the DCP in DoM or easyDCP then I think the total time is about the same.
Thom Britten-Austin
Windows 10, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X, DR15 Studio
Offline

Juan Ugarriza

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 4:48 pm
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Real Name: Juan Ugarriza

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 7:49 am

EasyDCP plugin is much faster on my Mac. But this built-in DCP is a really nice feature and works fine.

By the way, if anybody need a free online DCP naming tool:

http://static.kinofreund.com/dcnt/
http://www.finalcutpro.es
Offline

Pierpaolo Ferlaino

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 4:31 pm

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 9:40 am

By the way, if anybody need a free online DCP naming tool


Thanks for sharing this. Very useful.
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 887
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 3:32 pm

Thx for sharing, but my co-workers and I have all been making DCP on DCP-o-Matic for a while now...
Anyway, it's always good to know...
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap, Resolve 14 Studio
Offline
User avatar

Rakesh Malik

  • Posts: 1869
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:01 am
  • Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 3:40 pm

Thom Britten-Austin wrote:I wonder what the guys over at EasyDCP will do now?


They probably aren't worried; the built-in DCP export won't do encryption, so EasyDCP isn't going to lose any business. It's just making DCP export easier for those of us who aren't able to spend the money for an EasyDCP license... anyone who'se using one of the free/open source DCP tools wasn't an EasyDCP customer yet anyway. :)
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Davis Saïd, Google [Bot], Steve Kovacs and 22 guests