DR15 + DCP = True

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Thom Britten-Austin

  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:44 am

DR15 + DCP = True

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 5:43 pm

:D Jumpin' Jack Flash and what a gas!

Finally BM have put a native DCP render into the deliver page. THANKYOU!

This means they have taken away all the hard work in making a DCP, getting the colour conversion/gamma etc right. As easy as any other format...

Well almost, crashes after about 2 minutes of render but hey, it's still a Beta.

bm_15_dcp1.PNG
bm_15_dcp1.PNG (7.17 KiB) Viewed 1288 times


I wonder what the guys over at EasyDCP will do now?
Last edited by Thom Britten-Austin on Sun Apr 15, 2018 6:13 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thom Britten-Austin
Windows 10, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X, DR15 Studio
Offline

Pierpaolo Ferlaino

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 4:31 pm

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 5:57 pm

Well almost, crashes after about 2 minutes of render but hey, it's still a Beta.


It's very stable for me, so far...

I wonder what the guys over at EasyDCP will do now?


EasyDCP still renders faster on my machine. Moreover, the standalone easyDCP has lots of capabilities the Resolve plugin doesn't have.
Offline

Thom Britten-Austin

  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:44 am

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 6:15 pm

using a MAC perhaps?
Thom Britten-Austin
Windows 10, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X, DR15 Studio
Offline

Pierpaolo Ferlaino

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 4:31 pm

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 6:19 pm

Yes, I'm on a mac.

And - I didn't mention it earlier - I must say the ability to export DCP and IMF packages natively it's one of my favourite additions in Resolve 15.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6157
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 10:46 pm

I did a try on my pc for dcp 2k scope plus audio and a side a color science note, it seems to work pretty good.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline

Thom Britten-Austin

  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:44 am

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 6:21 am

It works for a while. If I export video only then I get to about 40 minutes. If I include audio then it crashes after only a couple of minutes.

How long are your renders that are working?

As far as being slower is concerned then yes but if you include the time taken to render the original DNXhR or equivalent before doing the DCP in DoM or easyDCP then I think the total time is about the same.
Thom Britten-Austin
Windows 10, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X, DR15 Studio
Offline

Juan Ugarriza

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2018 4:48 pm
  • Location: Madrid, Spain
  • Real Name: Juan Ugarriza

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 7:49 am

EasyDCP plugin is much faster on my Mac. But this built-in DCP is a really nice feature and works fine.

By the way, if anybody need a free online DCP naming tool:

http://static.kinofreund.com/dcnt/
http://www.finalcutpro.es
Offline

Pierpaolo Ferlaino

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Mon Oct 20, 2014 4:31 pm

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 9:40 am

By the way, if anybody need a free online DCP naming tool


Thanks for sharing this. Very useful.
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1083
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 3:32 pm

Thx for sharing, but my co-workers and I have all been making DCP on DCP-o-Matic for a while now...
Anyway, it's always good to know...
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and Sierra, Resolve 15 Studio
Offline
User avatar

Rakesh Malik

  • Posts: 2182
  • Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2012 1:01 am
  • Location: Tacoma, WA

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostMon Apr 16, 2018 3:40 pm

Thom Britten-Austin wrote:I wonder what the guys over at EasyDCP will do now?


They probably aren't worried; the built-in DCP export won't do encryption, so EasyDCP isn't going to lose any business. It's just making DCP export easier for those of us who aren't able to spend the money for an EasyDCP license... anyone who'se using one of the free/open source DCP tools wasn't an EasyDCP customer yet anyway. :)
Rakesh Malik
Cinematographer, photographer, adventurer, martial artist
http://WinterLight.studio
System:
HP Spectre x360 Kaby Lake-R w/ 1080Ti eGPU in RazerCore
Offline

Thom Britten-Austin

  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:44 am

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSat Apr 21, 2018 6:57 am

Have now tried using a MC and it fails there too. Much later than in the PC but still falls apart after about 45 minutes into the program with 'failed to encode frame'

so something is wonky with your frame encoding process when encoding to jpg2000

Hope you can find it and fix it.

The test material was a 60 project in DNxHR 12 bit
Thom Britten-Austin
Windows 10, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X, DR15 Studio
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6157
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSat Apr 21, 2018 5:15 pm

No problem with my system at home (old amd with 1080ti, sas connection with 45tb raids)

Full length movie 5.1 audio.

Did it three times: the software does not seems to be the issue
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 1723
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSat Apr 21, 2018 5:29 pm

beware of delivery DCP or Jpeg2000 or IMF: it pushes the CPU very strong consumption (here 100%). It must have a good FAN CPU and good ventilation otherwise: overheating :oops:
Windows 10 PRO X64 1709 and 1803 | DaVinci Resolve Studio 15.1.1.005 | Fusion Studio 9.0.2 | Decklink Studio 4K 6G | Desktop Video 10.10.11 | Nvidia 416.16
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6157
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostSat Apr 21, 2018 5:56 pm

Jean Claude wrote:beware of delivery DCP or Jpeg2000 or IMF: it pushes the CPU very strong consumption (here 100%). It must have a good FAN CPU and good ventilation otherwise: overheating :oops:


You can also limit the max frame speed in export
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline

Thom Britten-Austin

  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:44 am

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostTue Apr 24, 2018 9:28 am

Jepp, tried that as well. Screwed it all the way down to 10, still falls to bits after about 65% i.e 40 minutes into the production
Thom Britten-Austin
Windows 10, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X, DR15 Studio
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6157
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostWed Apr 25, 2018 4:39 pm

Thom Britten-Austin wrote:Jepp, tried that as well. Screwed it all the way down to 10, still falls to bits after about 65% i.e 40 minutes into the production


I'm pretty sure that with the setup at "max" you're getting not real-time but some half time (12-15) fps.

So, go down to 5, otherwise thete is no significant advantage.

Also you can render an intermediate dpx/dnx/ prores then do the dcp.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline

Thom Britten-Austin

  • Posts: 193
  • Joined: Sun Jul 09, 2017 9:44 am

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostThu Apr 26, 2018 8:50 pm

Works in latest update.. good work!
Thom Britten-Austin
Windows 10, 32gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce GTX TITAN X, DR15 Studio
Offline

Greg Huson

  • Posts: 185
  • Joined: Mon Oct 01, 2012 10:34 pm
  • Location: Culver City, CA

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostFri Aug 10, 2018 6:39 pm

Has anyone SCREENED the DCPs using the Kakadu settings? The name's not exactly inspiring.

My very first Kakadu render was glitchy; same short film on a second pass looks clean.
GH
----------------------------------------------------
Greg Huson
Secret Headquarters, Inc
Post Production / Production
Culver City, CA
323 677 2092
www.SecretHQ.com
www.DigitalServiceStation.com
greg (at) SecretHQ.com
Offline

jamiegau

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2014 12:41 pm

Re: DR15 + DCP = True

PostThu Aug 16, 2018 3:41 am

Glad Peter took my submission about building these tools into DR onboard, tho took a while. (2 years)

Anyway,
I cannot seem to get 5.1 audio into a kakadu DCP render. Maybe I am not getting the output setup right.
Has anyone been able to render 5.1 audio against DCP-kakadu?

I setup a 5.1 channel BUS, and select that as the audio channel to use in the render, then complains about EasyDCP needs even number of channels..
Maybe needs more work by the Devs.
But if anyone has gotten it to work, drop me a line.
I have not tried individual tracks, but that would take ages to setup and be a pain.

My test show Kakadu is 15-20% faster on my hi-core system. (24-cores)
Kakadu is also the leader in J2k, been the most used and developed J2K codec. Most everyone else uses it or bases their version on the Kakadu code base. Its used mostly in Military and large cooperates doing a lot of image manipulation. But most of the DCP tools apart from EasyDCP(Franhofer based and developed), and DVS-Clipster, (Hardware implementation) use Kakadu for DCP encoding. Also very respected in medial (X-Rays and such).
It is said to have the best bit to quality result. Tho, I understand the others may have cough up a lot.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Beezle, Leslie Wand, Mannay and 30 guests