Problem with grain and artifacting

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

dudemanbro

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:15 pm
  • Real Name: Nick McGettigan

Problem with grain and artifacting

PostSun Apr 15, 2018 8:23 pm

Hi all,

I am new to using Resolve abeit I have done my research to try and figure this out before posting. I am importing 1080p mp4 videos, then editing within reslove and when I render them they end up with a fair amount of grain, especially once posted to youtube. I am rendering using the following settings: youtube 1080p, mp4 H.264, res: 1920 x 1080, frame rate matched to clips, I've tried quality at both auto and restricting to 30000 kb/s and everything else is left default. Does anyone know what I can do to get the same quality out as the clips I am putting in? Thanks.
Offline

Byron Dickens

  • Posts: 122
  • Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2018 7:34 pm

Re: Problem with grain and artifacting

PostTue Apr 17, 2018 10:11 am

Are tou sure it is not YouTube's fault?
DR 14.3 W10 Home. Core i7 3.4 GHz. 16GB RAM. Intel HD graphics 530.
Offline
User avatar

MikeMeagher

  • Posts: 98
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:21 pm
  • Location: Bellingham, WA. USA

Re: Problem with grain and artifacting

PostTue Apr 17, 2018 6:41 pm

I believe that Resolve uses the windows h.264 export .dlls and is well documented on this forum to have pretty poor encoding for h264. Myself and others export a file to a DNX variant then use a 3rd party app such as myffmpeg to render a better quality h.264 file. And then YouTube will again recompress it again.
Mike Meagher Underwater Cinematographer
www.youtube.com/WolfeelDiver
Win 10 64 pro I 7 6 core X99 board 64 GB ram
M.2 app drive. 2x SSDs in Raid 0 for cache.
3x spinning HHDs raid 0 for source files.
Dual 2x EVGA1080 ti video cards
Resolve 14.3 studio
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4944
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Problem with grain and artifacting

PostWed Apr 18, 2018 12:39 am

There are theories out there that no matter what you upload to YouTube, they're going to re-encode it anyway.

Three things you can try:

1) upload ProRes 422 and let YouTube re-encode that and see what happens.

2) create a 4K version of the project and then let YouTube encode that and hope it gives you more bandwidth than the HD version.

3) Go to a higher-bandwidth site like Vimeo Pro and use that instead.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

Charles Bennett

  • Posts: 394
  • Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 11:55 am
  • Location: United Kingdom

Re: Problem with grain and artifacting

PostWed Apr 18, 2018 9:12 am

Nick, like you I edit 1080 50p mp4 video and upload to YouTube. Even though I upload at the original file bit rate of 35Mbps, the re-encoding by YT to a lower bit rate introduces blocking artifacts if you have noise in the picture. I have done some tests outputting the HD as 4k and uploading that. YT gives more bandwidth to 4k and this seems to stop the artifacts.
As an aside, I have not had Resolve introduce any noise into the picture that was not already there.
Dell XPS 8700 Core i7-4790 @ 3.60GHz, 24GB RAM, Nvidia Geforce GTX 750Ti, Win 10 Home, DaVinci Resolve 15.2.1 (free), Canon HF G40.
Dell Precision 490 dual 4 core Xeon Workstation, 16GB ECC RAM, Win 7 Ultimate, Pro Tools 2018.7
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4348
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Problem with grain and artifacting

PostWed Apr 18, 2018 9:56 am

Marc Wielage wrote:There are theories out there that no matter what you upload to YouTube, they're going to re-encode it anyway.

Three things you can try:

1) upload ProRes 422 and let YouTube re-encode that and see what happens.

2) create a 4K version of the project and then let YouTube encode that and hope it gives you more bandwidth than the HD version.

3) Go to a higher-bandwidth site like Vimeo Pro and use that instead.


These are not theories- it's FACT :D
Another FACT is that youtube bitrates are fairly low so grainy/noisy videos will look blocky (like in this case).
Offline

Cedric Cornell

  • Posts: 27
  • Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2016 10:22 am

Re: Problem with grain and artifacting

PostWed Apr 18, 2018 12:57 pm

I've tried quite a lot of the things Andrew and other have suggested like reverting to source footage before render. Various handbrake attempts et etc.

it seem like YT and Vimeo really compress, especially fast moving sceens. Of course filming with a gopro is not the best start...

Best thing is to move 2 steps back from the screen, not so bad then..... :D
GoPro Hero 4 & 5 / Canon 70D
i7-6700K, ASUS Z170-E, ASUS GeForce GTX 1080 8GB, DDR4 2666MHz 32GB, Samsung 512 GB (NVMe), 2 TB Storage.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4348
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Problem with grain and artifacting

PostWed Apr 18, 2018 3:25 pm

Stop fighting with something which you have no direct control over.
Don't try to take those "great looking videos" as reference. They do look good because they were shot on good cameras with very film alike style. You can always (well- problem is that in most cases you can't) shoot like this also and it will help.

You can do only few things which are in your control (assuming you are already uploading decent master not some already over-compressed crap):
- upload UHD for bit better quality on UHD encodes
- shot on good camera with shallow depth of field (if you can)
- de-noise footage (just don't over do it as then it's also crap)
- upload fake 50/60p ( 25/30p with repeated frames) to get better bitrates (it won't really make your footage higher fps)
- use other hosting website which allow for better quality

This is about it.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andy Mees, Bing [Bot], Bryan Worsley, Cary Knoop, Craig Marshall, etang77, George Costakis, JPOwens and 19 guests