flicker, tool should not look at "tails"

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6169
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

flicker, tool should not look at "tails"

PostThu Apr 19, 2018 10:59 pm

Wr need the de- flicker when we are doing restoration, if you scan a final piece, you will use the cut detect to cut the piece therefore the "tail" is the previous/ next cut.

That make both the temporal Denise and the deflicker really unusable because the the tool will look beyond first and last frame: basically looking at "tails" that are completely different shots.

So, there should be a checkbox to tell the temporal tools to limit the action to "visible frames" or "use the tail" (normal behaviours).
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4315
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: flicker, tool should not look at "tails"

PostThu Apr 19, 2018 11:44 pm

It's poor design. Any decent or even semi decent restoration tool should detect cut (perform actual cut detection on the fly) and don't take "wrong" info into account. This is quite fundamental feature for temporal based filters.
Resolve has cut detection option, so this should be built-in into all filters which do need to be aware of scene changes. You should not need to have scenes to be already pre-cut.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6169
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: flicker, tool should not look at "tails"

PostFri Apr 20, 2018 3:45 am

I'm ok with cutting, just tell the tool to work with visible cranes only
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline

Sam Steti

  • Posts: 1090
  • Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2014 7:29 am
  • Location: France

Re: flicker, tool should not look at "tails"

PostFri Apr 20, 2018 8:41 am

Yep Walter, I agree... I had the same issue with the denoiser; I also remember I had this issue with old Apple stabilizer which was not able to restrict its search area to the cut clip, it looks the same here, unfortunately...
Legacy MacPro 8core Xeons, 32 Go ram, 2 x gtx 980 ti, 1SSD for system, 2 SSDs raid0 for footage and caches, OSX ElCap and Sierra, Resolve 15 Studio
Offline

Rohit Gupta

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 1009
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 5:00 am

Re: flicker, tool should not look at "tails"

PostFri Apr 20, 2018 1:58 pm

waltervolpatto wrote:Wr need the de- flicker when we are doing restoration, if you scan a final piece, you will use the cut detect to cut the piece therefore the "tail" is the previous/ next cut.

That make both the temporal Denise and the deflicker really unusable because the the tool will look beyond first and last frame: basically looking at "tails" that are completely different shots.

So, there should be a checkbox to tell the temporal tools to limit the action to "visible frames" or "use the tail" (normal behaviours).


Are you using the pre-conform workflow? In that mode, we don’t use the handles. Else if it’s from the same media pool clip, we use the handles.
Rohit Gupta

DaVinci Resolve Software Development
Blackmagic Design
Offline
User avatar

Johan Hansson

  • Posts: 68
  • Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:52 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: flicker, tool should not look at "tails"

PostSat Apr 21, 2018 12:17 pm

waltervolpatto wrote:...That make both the temporal Denise and the deflicker really unusable because the the tool will look beyond first and last frame: basically looking at "tails" that are completely different shots.
Rohit Gupta wrote:Are you using the pre-conform workflow? In that mode, we don’t use the handles. Else if it’s from the same media pool clip, we use the handles.

That doesn't make sense to me.

When there's a cut, either from an edl, scene cut detection or added manually - the method shouldn't matter.

Motion blur, temporal denoise etc are as Walter points out often pretty useless if we can't choose to use handles or not, so please make this an option checkbox.
Johan Hansson
Colorist | Editor | Post Production Consultant

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], marcus_st, Willian Aleman and 32 guests