Resolve not caching

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Ian Duncan

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 6:55 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Resolve not caching

PostWed Jun 13, 2018 8:10 pm

I have an issue.

I cannot seem to get resolve to cache. No cache bars appearing on the timeline no matter what i do.

Render cache clip output is checked and render cache is set to smart.

any thoughts?
Cheers,

Ian


Machine:
Custom Built Win10 Pro
Intel Core i9-7980X
GIGABYTE X299 DESIGNARE EX
Samsung 960 PRO Series 512 for OS and 2TB for cache
128gb DDR4 3000
2 x TitanXp GPU
External black magic Decklink 4k through thunderbolt 3
10GBE Nic
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4149
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve not caching

PostWed Jun 13, 2018 11:06 pm

Make sure Resolve Preferences - System - Media Storage has a valid first path entered. The first path in the list will be used for the cache files.

If that looks OK, then on the Color page, right click a clip thumbnail and set Render Cache Clip Source to On, and set Playback - Render Cache to User, and see if that clip caches.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Nathan Morgan

  • Posts: 139
  • Joined: Wed May 20, 2015 3:02 pm

Re: Resolve not caching

PostWed Jun 13, 2018 11:22 pm

Any chance you are in a collaborative project? Note that cacheing is not working with collaborative projects at this time.

If this is the case you can turn off collaboration and the caching will work again.
PC: Resolve 15.0.0B.057, Windows 10, GTX Titan X
(All bug reports etc. are PC unless specified.)
Mac: Macbook Pro 15", Resolve 15.0.0B.057, 10.12.6
Terrablock 24D Shared Storage on 10G network
Offline

Ian Duncan

  • Posts: 37
  • Joined: Wed Aug 09, 2017 6:55 pm
  • Location: Los Angeles

Re: Resolve not caching

PostThu Jun 14, 2018 12:22 am

Nathan Morgan wrote:Any chance you are in a collaborative project? Note that cacheing is not working with collaborative projects at this time.

If this is the case you can turn off collaboration and the caching will work again.



This is it.

Thanks ever so much!
Cheers,

Ian


Machine:
Custom Built Win10 Pro
Intel Core i9-7980X
GIGABYTE X299 DESIGNARE EX
Samsung 960 PRO Series 512 for OS and 2TB for cache
128gb DDR4 3000
2 x TitanXp GPU
External black magic Decklink 4k through thunderbolt 3
10GBE Nic

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Leslie Wand, Sam Steti and 16 guests