Can't change cache location Resolve 15 beta

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

grinch

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:37 pm
  • Real Name: tom sawyer

Can't change cache location Resolve 15 beta

PostTue Jul 10, 2018 1:48 pm

Hi there!
after installing resolve beta 15, playing around with my first projects, i realized that the .gallery and CacheClip location was set to the downloads folder of my system drive.

so i deleted this location from preferences->media storage and added a new location on a different drive which is also constantly connected to the system. (the first and only entry now)
additionally i changed the location in the project settings->working folders and saved.

then i deleted the cacheClip folder from the system drive, hoping everything is fine now.

no matter what, each time i load a project in resolve, it recreates the cacheclip folder in the downloads folder of my system drive and cache is going to go there.

is it a beta bug ?

i also looked into all the config files in C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Preferences\
like config.dat etc. etc.
each file only contains my new location on drive D:\

but it seems that resolve don't care...

what can i do ?

thx in advance
Offline

Dermot Shane

  • Posts: 1788
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 6:48 pm
  • Location: Vancouver, Canada

Re: Can't change cache location Resolve 15 beta

PostTue Jul 10, 2018 3:43 pm

a few thoughts

cache target location is set in pref's, if has not been changed there, Resolve will re-creae as it needs
best pratice is to set caches loction per project inside a project folder, you can then manage / delete at the os level
Offline

grinch

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:37 pm
  • Real Name: tom sawyer

Re: Can't change cache location Resolve 15 beta

PostTue Jul 10, 2018 5:44 pm

as i said, i did set the working files location for each project to a specific folder on drive D:\
AND i did set the media storage location in preferences to a folder on drive D:\

but it always recreates the cache folders (CacheClip) in my downloads folder when opening a project, no matter what.

it totally ignores which location i have set in both preferences and project settings
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5871
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Can't change cache location Resolve 15 beta

PostThu Jul 12, 2018 6:03 am

Tom, when you say 'opening a project' its not clear if you mean opening a new or existing?

Now that you have changed the first drive path in preferences, start a new project, make sure the project settings are set to the new drive/path and then in project settings, presets, select the default use and system configs and save.
then exit resolve, restart and test.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

John Tarvin

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2017 9:53 pm

Re: Can't change cache location Resolve 15 beta

PostSun Jul 22, 2018 2:05 am

Yes, this must certainly be a bug. I want to move the cache and gallery stills off my drive for video and onto a new larger drive, as these things take a lot of room until you are finished and can delete them.

Project settings let me change the gallery stills location, but it complains and asks for confirmation every time. It does NOT however let me change my cache files location. It has decided to put them on my OS drive (C:) in some weird folder (vol0). And, I can't change it and have it stick.

Hope this gets fixed in the very near future.

Thanks,
John Tarvin
*************************************
Win 10 pro, I7 Hex Core, 3.5Ghz, 32Gb, Nvidia GTX 770 4Gb
Mavic 2 Pro, Phantom 4 Pro, Sony AX100, Nikon D810
Offline

edjski

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Sun Mar 31, 2019 12:10 am
  • Real Name: Ed Janiszewski

Re: Can't change cache location Resolve 15 beta

PostSun Mar 31, 2019 12:24 am

I'm experiencing the exact same issue. I'm successfully running Resolve 15.1.2.008 on Linux Mint 19. The problem is that I am unable to change the CacheClip location. I can enter the new file path in File > Project Settings > Master Settings > Working Folders "Cache files location" field but when I tab out of the field, it resets to the existing file path.
At some point I was able to change the file path as the existing (current) file path is one I set (rather than the default).
Part of my issue may be that I changed the name of one of the folders in the file path. Resolve apparently doesn't like it. It won't let me change the existing file path, there is no way to delete the file path and "Add New Folder" doesn't allow for / in the New Folder field and there is no way to browse the drives to "manually" select the folder of my choosing.
Resolve is stuck on a folder that no longer exists and there seems to be no way to fix it.
Offline

pyrodarkness

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Thu Apr 11, 2019 5:22 pm
  • Real Name: brandon arachikavitz

Re: Can't change cache location Resolve 15 beta

PostThu Apr 11, 2019 5:25 pm

Same issue here. Whenever I change it, it changes back. This is even after I change the Medai STorage Location in preferences.
Offline

AndreasOberg

  • Posts: 283
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:09 am

Re: Can't change cache location Resolve 15 beta

PostSat Apr 13, 2019 7:41 pm

I got it to work after adding the path to Media Storage. Then restarting Resolve and then reconnecting it.
Andreas
Consulting Lead VFX Microsoft Games/Rare Ltd
Offline

Mark_Rodriquez

  • Posts: 97
  • Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2016 12:56 am

Re: Can't change cache location Resolve 15 beta

PostSun Apr 28, 2019 2:59 am

Thank goodness for this forum otherwise wouldn't have ever come up with the solution.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dominik.eckold, franciscovaldez, Google Feedfetcher and 51 guests