Why has Resolve applied a LUT to my entire project?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

InterrobangMP

Why has Resolve applied a LUT to my entire project?

PostSun Jul 15, 2018 2:00 am

I'm pretty new to Resolve, and am currently working through Film Simplified's tutorials, however I feel like I have just come across a bug in the Public Beta version.
I'm learning about how to apply LUTs and Resolve seems to have applied a project-wide LUT without me asking it to.
I'm working on an Apple ProRes 422 EDL which I brought in from Premiere.
Some clips which have grades applied have the little coloured outline to denote a graded clip, however, even ones without this indication clearly have a LUT applied. I have no LUTs applied to the project in the settings dialogue either.
Opening and closing the project, the problem is still there.
If I view each clip with the "bypass" button applied, the LUT still appears to be applied to all the clips.
Am I missing something here, or is this indeed a bug?
2021 Macbook Pro M1Max
10-core CPU, 32-core GPU and 16-core Neural Engine
64GB RAM
Resolve 18

Uli Plank

Re: Why has Resolve applied a LUT to my entire project?

PostSun Jul 15, 2018 6:50 am

How are you viewing your footage?
If it's not an I/O device with a calibrated monitor, the display on a Windows machine will be off from what the final footage looks like on a TV. Not a bug, but a well known condition for using Resolve, see config guide.
Now that the cat #19 is out of the bag, test it as much as you can and use the subforum.

Studio 18.6.6, MacOS 13.6.6, 2017 iMac, 32 GB, Radeon Pro 580
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro
Speed Editor, UltraStudio Monitor 3G

InterrobangMP

PostSun Jul 15, 2018 8:47 am