Resolve does not detect any video files

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

krankin

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:44 pm
  • Real Name: Przemysław Orłowski

Resolve does not detect any video files

PostThu Jul 19, 2018 4:16 pm

Hello.

I have installed Resolve 14.3.1, created a new project, however when I tried to import my video files, I found myself unable to. There is no error message, no notification, nothing, just no action at all.
When browsing directories with the built-in browser I can see jpg files, audio files, but none of my video files (both mp4 and avi formats), which I know are there and can be opened normally with external video players.

I have also tried the 15.0 beta 6 but the result is the same, no video files detected.

Is there a setting I'm missing somewhere? An action I should take before I can import my files to a project?

My computer is running Windows 10 Professional, quad core i5@3.2 GHz, 8 GB RAM, 4GB GTX1050 Ti.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4634
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Resolve does not detect any video files

PostFri Jul 20, 2018 7:19 am

It's likely that you are using files that are not supported in Resolve but as you haven't provided enough detail or links to samples its hard to guess.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

krankin

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 3:44 pm
  • Real Name: Przemysław Orłowski

Re: Resolve does not detect any video files

PostFri Jul 20, 2018 8:06 pm

The files I'm trying to use are h264 mp4s:
Code: Select all
Video: MPEG4 Video (H264) 1600x900 25fps 1096kbps [V: h264 constrained baseline L4.0, yuv420p, 1600x900, 1096 kb/s]
Audio: PCM 48000Hz stereo 1536kbps [A: pcm_s16le, 48000 Hz, 2 channels, s16, 1536 kb/s]

These are on the supported list, I think?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3150
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Resolve does not detect any video files

PostSat Jul 21, 2018 2:04 am

Yes, for the Studio version.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cary Knoop, David Williams, Mike Warren, Piotr Wozniacki and 14 guests