Massive playback issues in Edit mode on brand new PC (14.3)

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

DopeItUp

Massive playback issues in Edit mode on brand new PC (14.3)

PostThu Aug 09, 2018 9:38 pm

Hello,

This is my first post here, go easy on me. I have been using Resolve 12.5 for a year or two on a 6 year old PC and it worked but barely. So I decided to upgrade.

I now have a brand new Dell Precision 5820 with a Xeon 2145 (8 cores at 3.7GHz), 32GB RAM, SSD drives and an Nvidia P4000. Resolve 14.3 on Windows 10 x64 which I literally just installed a week ago so this system is as fresh as can be. Only thing I've really done is install all the drivers and such. Just for reference I have 20 years professional IT experience so I'm savvy enough and willing enough to do just about anything.

The problem is, in Edit mode the playback video and audio stutters constantly and also freezes for several seconds at a time. It is 100% unusable. I have now:

-Set Proxy mode to quarter resolution
-Enabled Performance mode
-Set cache drives to a secondary SSD (not the system drive)
-Render cache set to "Smart"
-Under Preferences -> User -> Performance options I have checked off "hide ui overlays" and "minimum interface updates"
-Under the project master settings, I have the video monitoring format at 720p 59.94fps and video bit to 8bit (instead of 10).
-A variety of other things that I don't quite remember. I tried changing the hardware video settings to opencl vs CUDA, no change from any of those things.

These have all improved the experience dramatically but the FPS counter is still always red and the stuttering is still there. I've found that if I play a clip and then wait a few minutes and play it again it will be much faster this time (render cache or optimized media or something happening in the background?) but it's STILL not smooth, but nearly acceptable at least.