Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 835
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Nov 06, 2018 9:00 am

Image
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig :HACK OSX10.12.4 | 4790K | 2xGTX980ti | 32GB | DRS 15.2
V: CUDA387.128 | 378.05.05.05f02 | DTV10.11.2 | MiniMon-SDI |HDlink
A: 5.1RME-FireFace
Offline

alan bovine

  • Posts: 131
  • Joined: Mon Aug 07, 2017 6:20 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Nov 06, 2018 9:45 am

What about us Fusion users who had unlimited floating windows for both image viewers, 3d viewports, scopes and meta data. A complete modular UI that's now been frozen in a very rigid way.

All of which are no longer present in Resolve's Fusion.
Fusion video tutorials : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCTCeDas53OEcWcRujkQiwLg/videos?view_as=subscriber
Fusion Tools : https://github.com/statixVFX/stx_tools
Nuke 2 Fusion nodes : https://github.com/statixVFX/nuke2fusion
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 835
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Nov 06, 2018 9:55 am

I think "THAT" is the most interesting and recent twist to the story that may be the reason why we might eventually get some sort of floating window option or similar.
A bit like what happend with Fairlight where there is a floating video window option now.
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig :HACK OSX10.12.4 | 4790K | 2xGTX980ti | 32GB | DRS 15.2
V: CUDA387.128 | 378.05.05.05f02 | DTV10.11.2 | MiniMon-SDI |HDlink
A: 5.1RME-FireFace
Offline
User avatar

Micha Clazing

  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:26 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Nov 06, 2018 11:18 am

Al Spaeth wrote:If BM were only interested in the needs of professional colorists and studios they would have not invested the money into developing a full blown NLE to compete with products like Premiere available for free and $299 for the full version. Until BM says "No" we will continue to ask for it.


I think I've said it before, but I think with the Edit page maturing and the addition of the Fusion page, this is now reaching critical mass to a point where I'd be very surprised if Resolve 16 doesn't include more flexible monitoring options.
Offline

Al Spaeth

  • Posts: 269
  • Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:48 pm
  • Location: South Africa

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Nov 06, 2018 11:57 am

Thanks Micha - Lets hope so :)
Resolve 14.1 free Win 10 64bit
Offline
User avatar

Daz Wood

  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: Mon May 08, 2017 2:59 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Nov 06, 2018 3:41 pm

Glenn Venghaus wrote:I think "THAT" is the most interesting and recent twist to the story that may be the reason why we might eventually get some sort of floating window option or similar.
A bit like what happend with Fairlight where there is a floating video window option now.

That floating video window keeps disappearing behind and will not appear again until you quit fairlight and then enter it again. This is one bug that's very very annoying.
Thank you

Daz
Offline

bjornzitting

  • Posts: 17
  • Joined: Tue Jan 23, 2018 5:09 pm
  • Real Name: Bjorn Zitting

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Nov 06, 2018 6:34 pm

I think all agree on this:
- If a program supports more than one monitor - and I've setup an environment with more than one monitor via systems graphic card(s), I want to choose which monitor has it's role in that program

- In case of an OS that don't distribute 'Main OS menus' to all, I want to exclude/dedicate one cheap monitor for 'file handling and house-keeping' whatever 'multi-monitor aware" program is running front, also (sometimes?) for scopes which works today

With the 'overpowered' GPU cards we have nowadays 3+ monitors on one card is easy to setup
BMD recommends having all physical monitors connected to one GPU card - OK
BMD currently only supports dual monitor via OS + scopes as an extra window which is great!

With Resolve Studio on Linux (two monitors + grading via BMD HW), I'm not comfortable with any of the choices in Resolve dual monitor menu now, as others on this thread also say

Please reconsider your current 'locked down' choices and give us more freedom in multi monitor setups!

Björn
Offline

Rick van den Berg

  • Posts: 251
  • Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Nov 06, 2018 7:44 pm

bjornzitting wrote:I think all agree on this:
With Resolve Studio on Linux (two monitors + grading via BMD HW), I'm not comfortable with any of the choices in Resolve dual monitor menu now, as others on this thread also say

Björn


Lately i've been editing more and more in resolve with 3 monitors from which 2 are GUI monitors and 1 decklink output. at first i felt 'limited' too. But to be honest, i'm getting more and more used to it now. even better, i might even think that i like the fact that its so ''not''-customizable.

you just know what to expect.

i've been a part of this discussion too a while ago. and i still think i sometimes miss a -for example-, full screen source monitor / multicam monitor somewhere on my desk.

sure there are always some things that could be ''better'', and that also goes for resolve. but as a fulltime editor, i can really recommend to try and ''just live with it'', for now.

everyone has his/her own preferences, but i think resolve is getting there.

oh, and i want a resolve to have snapchat filters. thats a must.
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 129
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Nov 06, 2018 11:31 pm

Rick van den Berg wrote:oh, and i want a resolve to have snapchat filters. thats a must.

LOL... now I have to clean both my monitors... I spat coffee on them when I read that :lol:
Still using Resolve 14 until 15 is sorted, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709), GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4933
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostWed Nov 07, 2018 6:29 am

alan bovine wrote:What about us Fusion users who had unlimited floating windows for both image viewers, 3d viewports, scopes and meta data. A complete modular UI that's now been frozen in a very rigid way.

I think that still exists in standalone Fusion 9.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

TonyLewis

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Mon Sep 24, 2018 11:10 pm
  • Real Name: Tony Lewis

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 5:19 pm

Well I learned something new today. I already have an Intensity Pro PCIe card in my PC, but forgot that it can provide an HD output. I just updated the software, rebooted, and now Resolve clearly lists the Intensity Pro as an output device for use as a separate full screen 'viewer'. So this card (and I suppose its new 4K brother) offers the best of two worlds (ability to capture from a wide variety of video sources, as well as output).

Off to the store for my third display!
Offline
User avatar

RobertSmith

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 4:10 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSun Nov 18, 2018 1:09 pm

Glenn Venghaus wrote:train-wreck of an inconsistent and brain farts inducing design like for example adobe premiere.


your quoted comment reminded this Adobe switcher how long it took to discover a method to enable 'dynamic project switching' recently :-)


... anyone don't know; you should go into project settings and right click to the right hand side of the window.
Offline

Mark Grgurev

  • Posts: 158
  • Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 7:22 am

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSun Nov 18, 2018 5:33 pm

Does anybody else here have an HTC Vive? You hook it up to your computer via you're GPUs HDMI or DisplayPort out but it doesn't show up as a generic display to the OS, it's only accessible by VR programs. I would assume that this method of accessing a display via the GPU should allow any program to bypass the OSs color settings since the output display is known to whatever's gonna access it.

Surely whatever it's doing could be done by Resolve as well. And btw, I do have an Intensity Pro 4K that I use for capture and playback, however it would be nice to swap it with a GPU and get better performance if I don't intend to capture anything for awhile.
Offline

gooobla@gmail.com

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Wed Jun 13, 2018 5:40 am
  • Real Name: Alexander Alfonso

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostFri Dec 07, 2018 7:19 am

The HTC Vive post is interesting and made we wonder if there is any way to view/monitor your project on a modern cell phone. 95% of the time my projects are watched on a cell phone, and as of now, the only way I know how to grade for my anticipated audience is to estimate what might be good, render project, upload to my phones, view on phone, REPEAT, REPEAT, etc. I'd pay BM whatever they want if i could use a phone as a second display.
Offline

aLeXXtoR

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Wed Nov 28, 2018 8:19 am
  • Real Name: Alexander Zubkov

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostFri Dec 07, 2018 8:16 am

Marc Wielage wrote:I think that still exists in standalone Fusion 9.

I think that Fusion standalone is no longer supported. Sorry Marc, but you sound like "I used to do this in 70's so let me keep it this way and go away!" (with all respect)

Future Fusion is a part of Resolve now. Fusion users now need to start using Resolve and currently it isn't pretty handy due to interface. Personally I used to deal with 3-monitor layout: (1) nodes and properties, (2) big view and timeline, (3) 2 other views + spline view etc. In the current version of Resolve there is no way to do 3-monitor layout and even in dual-monitor working with the node window (for example) reminds me my first PC at work in 2001 (15 inch display with 1024x768 pixels resolution).

Not every user of Resolve today needs really 100%-accurate colour preview since last versions of Resolve are not just a colour correcting software (correct me BMD if I'm wrong: yolu did everything last years to say everyone that Resolve is the editing, VFx and sound design tool too): most of compositing artists, sound designers and editors for example must see a big picture but really don't need it to be that accurate.
Offline

bruce alan greene

  • Posts: 80
  • Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2015 5:06 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostFri Dec 07, 2018 4:20 pm

gooobla@gmail.com wrote:The HTC Vive post is interesting and made we wonder if there is any way to view/monitor your project on a modern cell phone. 95% of the time my projects are watched on a cell phone, and as of now, the only way I know how to grade for my anticipated audience is to estimate what might be good, render project, upload to my phones, view on phone, REPEAT, REPEAT, etc. I'd pay BM whatever they want if i could use a phone as a second display.

I imagine that it's possible to write a phone app that will let you feed the phone HDMI and display it on the phone. I think there are already apps to let one use an iPad or maybe iPhone as a computer monitor display as well, though these might only work with a Mac.

So, google around and see what you find. I wouldn't work this way, but if you really want to, it may already be possible.
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostFri Dec 07, 2018 11:52 pm

Google Spacedesk and Nobe Display.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Version 10.0.16299 Build 16299
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
The latest Resolve (Standard)
Offline

etang77

  • Posts: 68
  • Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 8:51 am
  • Real Name: Eric Tang

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSat Dec 08, 2018 12:46 am

Is Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle the only way to go for an external device? Are there any brand alternative that works with Resolve?
Offline
User avatar

Craig Marshall

  • Posts: 886
  • Joined: Sun Apr 07, 2013 4:49 am
  • Location: Blue Mountains, Australia

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSat Dec 08, 2018 1:45 am

I was filming in Asia last month and worked with a number of very professional video and stills producers. (I'm talking the latest Nikons, GoPros everywhere backed up by multiple Sony FS7s) One video producer showed me some of his recent work, streaming off his private Channel direct to his smart phone where it looked particularly rich and vibrant but somewhat 'unrealistic' if I'm honest.

I asked: "Did you push those colors?" where he relied, "Sure, I did". My response as a traditionally trained 'broadcaster': "I guess that's not likely to pass QC?"

His response? "Who cares? This is how people watch stuff these days"
4K Post Studio, Freelance Filmmaker, Media Writer
Win10/Lightworks/Resolve 15.1/X-Keys 68 Jog-Shuttle/OxygenTec ProPanel
12G SDI Decklink 4K Pro/Calibrated 10bit IPS SDI Monitor
HDvideo4K.com
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4933
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSun Dec 09, 2018 5:55 am

etang77 wrote:Is Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle the only way to go for an external device? Are there any brand alternative that works with Resolve?

I think Blackmagic has about a dozen different external devices to provide a dedicated viewing display from Resolve, range in price from about US$150 for the Mini-Monitor to US$3000 for the UltraStudio 4K Extreme 3. Lots of different choices in between.

aLeXXtoR wrote:
Marc Wielage wrote:I think that still exists in standalone Fusion 9.

I think that Fusion standalone is no longer supported. Sorry Marc, but you sound like "I used to do this in 70's so let me keep it this way and go away!" (with all respect)

Naw, all the color and VFX we did in the 1970s and 1980s was analog, most of it composite. I don't miss those days at all and I much prefer working in digital and with resolution independence. I use enough different software that different interfaces and different methods don't bother me. Flexibility will keep you alive, particularly in a competitive, challenging industry like video post.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline
User avatar

Micha Clazing

  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:26 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSun Dec 09, 2018 1:14 pm

Marc Wielage wrote:Naw, all the color and VFX we did in the 1970s and 1980s was analog, most of it composite. I don't miss those days at all

You take that back, the Scanimate was a magnificent beast and you don't disrespect it.
Offline

etang77

  • Posts: 68
  • Joined: Mon Aug 27, 2018 8:51 am
  • Real Name: Eric Tang

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSun Dec 09, 2018 1:46 pm

Marc Wielage wrote:
etang77 wrote:Is Blackmagic Intensity Shuttle the only way to go for an external device? Are there any brand alternative that works with Resolve?

I think Blackmagic has about a dozen different external devices to provide a dedicated viewing display from Resolve, range in price from about US$150 for the Mini-Monitor to US$3000 for the UltraStudio 4K Extreme 3. Lots of different choices in between.

Thanks for that, I didn't know about mini-monitor!
Offline

Benjamin de Menil

  • Posts: 258
  • Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2015 9:04 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSun Dec 09, 2018 2:12 pm

I actually bought a used BM card to solve this issue. But my PC is crammed with 2 nvidia 1080s (necessary for 4k work on resolve these days) and there's no room for the BM card.

Anyway, the idea that BM has to protect users from the possibility of inaccurate color on a second monitor is laughable. Sort of how apple had to protect people from google maps ;)
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 4933
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSun Dec 09, 2018 9:26 pm

Micha Clazing wrote:You take that back, the Scanimate was a magnificent beast and you don't disrespect it.

Oh, I know all about Scanimate. I had good buddies at Image West back in the day (sort of the LA version of Dolphin Productions), and I know too many of their secrets. The hilarious thing about Computer Image Corporation and all those 1970s/1980s "computer" graphics is that about 80% of the work was done through clever analog image manipulation through multi-generation mattes, done on devices like the Ampex HS-200 slo-mo recorder. Lotta smoke & mirrors. A guy on YouTube (a former Computer Image guy) sells a terrific 2-hour documentary that explains much of what they did. I loved that stuff back in the day.

But I very much live in today. I have a little nostalgia for the past, but 90% of the work I did in the 1980s and 1990s I'd love to redo today. Number one, I'm a better colorist now; #2, the equipment is a lot better (particularly in HD and 4K); #3, we can push the image further and solve more problems today than we could back then. So no: I don't miss analog video at all.

But I also keenly remember a time when a great color-correction system cost $500,000. So to me, being able to have a nice room in LA for 1/10th that investment that can do more is a wonderful thing. For me, the glass is half-full -- and I think there are very valid reasons for having a color-managed display as a hero monitor.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

Ole Kristiansen

  • Posts: 52
  • Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:37 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSun Dec 09, 2018 10:39 pm

Benjamin de Menil wrote:I actually bought a used BM card to solve this issue. But my PC is crammed with 2 nvidia 1080s (necessary for 4k work on resolve these days) and there's no room for the BM card.

Anyway, the idea that BM has to protect users from the possibility of inaccurate color on a second monitor is laughable. Sort of how apple had to protect people from google maps ;)
Attachments
intensity.png
Look here !
intensity.png (548.5 KiB) Viewed 123 times
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 838
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostMon Dec 10, 2018 6:57 am

"Anyway, the idea that BM has to protect users from the possibility of inaccurate color on a second monitor is laughable".

I agree, but there's the possibility of REALLY bad looking videos tagged with 'Graded on DaVinci Resolve' floating around the web.
I sometimes think this is the real reason behind BMD insisting that users use proper monitoring. There are forums full of posts regarding video/data levels and monitoring and poor looking videos rendered from Resolve. Mostly (not all, of course) the new users of Resolve don't have a proper understanding of video technical issues (levels, codecs, bit depth, hardware requirements etc.) and struggle with the technicalities that such a fully developed piece of professional software require the operator to be proficient with.

I would only use a full screen display on a computer for detailed fx work, not for grading.
However it WOULD be useful!
Resolve 15
Mac OSX 10.13.3
iMac (Retina 5K, 27-inch, Late 2014)
4 GHz Intel Core i7
AMD Radeon R9 M295X 4096 MB
Offline

Hendrik Proosa

  • Posts: 349
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 6:53 am
  • Location: Estonia

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostMon Dec 10, 2018 10:38 am

Peter Cave wrote:I agree, but there's the possibility of REALLY bad looking videos tagged with 'Graded on DaVinci Resolve' floating around the web.
I sometimes think this is the real reason behind BMD insisting that users use proper monitoring.

Web is already full of bad looking videos 'graded on davinci resolve' and not having fullscreen viewer on second monitor is not going to help one bit. It would imply that having an IO card will magically make any monkey a colorist that produces really good looking videos, which ofcourse is nonsense. Only option to prevent people from producing ugly stuff in Resolve is returning to 500K $ pricing, which will not happen. With current pricing Resolve actually screams 'use me for producing REALLY bad videos, pretty please!!! You will apply profession LUTs in most advanced hollywood software in no time!
I do stuff.
Offline

Dan Sherman

  • Posts: 467
  • Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostMon Dec 10, 2018 4:27 pm

Hendrik Proosa wrote:With current pricing Resolve actually screams 'use me for producing REALLY bad videos, pretty please!!!


This is a fairly ridiculous statement. I'm a developer by trade, and cost has almost zero bearing on the intelligence/skill of end users. If anything, dedicated BM cards protect dumb users from themselves more than anything else at this point in time.
Offline
User avatar

Micha Clazing

  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: Sat Apr 01, 2017 3:26 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostMon Dec 10, 2018 4:51 pm

Hendrik Proosa wrote:Web is already full of bad looking videos 'graded on davinci resolve' and not having fullscreen viewer on second monitor is not going to help one bit. It would imply that having an IO card will magically make any monkey a colorist that produces really good looking videos, which ofcourse is nonsense.

I'm willing to bet that an experienced colourist grading on a $100 uncalibrated sRGB screen will still produce vastly better results than some "social media influencer" in a professional grading booth with FSI monitors.
Offline

Edgar Bueltemeyer

  • Posts: 20
  • Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2015 4:32 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Dec 11, 2018 9:34 am

Micha Clazing wrote:I'm willing to bet that an experienced colourist grading on a $100 uncalibrated sRGB screen will still produce vastly better results than some "social media influencer" in a professional grading booth with FSI monitors.


I totally agree. And even if this discussion has been going on for too long already i need to add my thoughts...

Figure this: I use Resolve on my laptop too. I EDIT on it. And the USB 3.0 port doesn't work with an SSD AND the BM Ultrastudio SDI connected at the same time because the BM Ultrastudio needs the full bandwith and therefore when you try to use both simultaneously Resolve crashes every few minutes....
BUT i have an additional HDMI port which i could use for full screen...
So what? Why can't we do that?
Get off this silly idea that Resolve is only for Color Grading...seems like a lot of people still believe that...
Seriously, get over it...

(oh, and yes.. i have an Intensity 4K and an Ultrastudio SDI...)
--
Machine 1:
Resolve 15.1.2 - BM Intensity Pro 4K - Tangent Wave
Win. 10
HP Z620 - Dual 8 core
NVIDIA QUADRO K2000+GTX 1060

Machine 2:
Resolve 15.1.2 - BM Ultrastudio SDI USB3
Win. 10
ATI Radeon R9 390
Offline

Mark Foster

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:59 am

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Dec 11, 2018 10:36 am

Here again we see the problem when a really good professional software
for little money or free is available.

BMD should ask for the next version 3000 bucks (including 12G I/O card)
and so this discussion has done + g *
MacPro 5.1 12-core 3,46GHz
SSD7101A-1
RocketU 1344A
RX vega 64
BMD extreme 4k
2xEizo FX2431
MacPro 5.1 12-core 3,46GHz
tempoSSD
allegraPRO
GTX980ti
LG27UD88
MBP 15" 2017 3.1GHz i7 16 GB/2 TB
MBP 15" 2014 2.8GHz i7 16 GB/1 TB
OSx 10.13.6
Offline

Rick van den Berg

  • Posts: 251
  • Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 7:47 am

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Dec 11, 2018 11:07 am

Mark Foster wrote:Here again we see the problem when a really good professional software
for little money or free is available.

BMD should ask for the next version 3000 bucks (including 12G I/O card)
and so this discussion has done + g *


Mark, with all due respect, i think i speak for the most if i say this has nothing to do with the price. also, bmd is not a charity organization. they know what they are doing.

i own a lot of bmd hardware, i spent much much more then 3000 bucks on all of it, and i could still see this as a welcome addition.

you are not helping by saying ''you dont need it''

we all dont need it, i dont need it. but again, it might be a welcome addition for a other people, also professionals
Last edited by Rick van den Berg on Tue Dec 11, 2018 11:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4344
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Dec 11, 2018 11:29 am

Peter Cave wrote:"Anyway, the idea that BM has to protect users from the possibility of inaccurate color on a second monitor is laughable".

I agree, but there's the possibility of REALLY bad looking videos tagged with 'Graded on DaVinci Resolve' floating around the web.
!


Like there is already not enough of them. Everyone today having 0 knowledge (including famous youtubers) can download and start using Resolve and produce total crap. Full screen preview has not much to do with it and fact it's not accurate only makes whole situation worse as those people don't use BM hardware for sure.
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BrandonFreeman, cadeg_rsh, Cary Knoop, Google [Bot], Johannes Hoffmann, Willian Aleman and 35 guests