Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

George Deierling

  • Posts: 142
  • Joined: Thu Feb 25, 2016 11:26 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostMon Dec 17, 2018 3:12 am

So we are getting Imac Pro setup.
Question: What to use for 4k playback?
Do I really have to spend $1k on a big overkill Decklink box?
Offline

Dan Sherman

  • Posts: 596
  • Joined: Fri Jul 01, 2016 11:07 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostMon Dec 17, 2018 3:56 am

George Deierling wrote:So we are getting Imac Pro setup.
Question: What to use for 4k playback?
Do I really have to spend $1k on a big overkill Decklink box?


Yep, that's one of the many consequences of going Apple.
X99-A II, 6850K 4.2 GHz, GTX 1070 FE, DDR4-2400 CL12-14-14 4x8 GB
Win 10 Pro 1809, Resolve Studio 15.2.3.015
Offline

Glenn Venghaus

  • Posts: 869
  • Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 9:56 pm
  • Location: Amsterdam , The Netherlands

Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostMon Dec 17, 2018 7:26 am

George Deierling wrote:So we are getting Imac Pro setup.
Question: What to use for 4k playback?
Do I really have to spend $1k on a big overkill Decklink box?


Nah, not realy. Cheapest route would be a owc thunderbay helios 3 , now on sale for only 200usd at owc and add any of the entry level cheap decklink 4k card you want. (Like mini monitor 4k)
These thunderbays are great. I run a 10gb card on my mac that way so multi purpose.
Beatstep & APC-40 Resolve Edition Custom Controllers https://posttools.tachyon-consulting.com
Test rig : UNRAID VM OSX10.13.6 | 32 vcores | 2xGTX980ti | 64GB | DRS 15.x
V: Decklink-SDI > HDlink > Eizo + Scopebox
A: 5.1RME-FireFace
Offline

Dave Reid

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2012 11:18 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostThu Feb 07, 2019 8:01 pm

Which BM Card to use for the second monitor output?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4409
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostFri Feb 08, 2019 6:48 am

Depends on your needs. BM is offering a whole range: https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/decklink
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline

Michael Garrett

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 7:39 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSat Mar 02, 2019 4:16 am

Newish Resolve user here, I've read most of this thread. My background is in film vfx (Nuke) but I have reason to do more ingest and color work in Resolve these days.

So if I want to monitor DCI 2k or DCI 4k in 12 bit RGB and I buy an $895 Decklink card, am I limited to monitoring in Rec709 gamut? I have a Dreamcolor that supports P3 and through the DisplayPort I can monitor in P3. In Resolve if for example I was working in ACES I would be likely to use one of the P3 ODT's. I wouldn't want P3 primaries to be inelegantly clipped to 709 by the Decklink just so I can monitor on a second screen. That would be super weird for high end grading software.

It should also be noted that the Dreamcolor stores my X-Rite hardware calibration directly so I'm bypassing any OS calibration anyway.
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5281
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSat Mar 02, 2019 6:00 am

Michael Garrett wrote:Newish Resolve user here, I've read most of this thread. My background is in film vfx (Nuke) but I have reason to do more ingest and color work in Resolve these days.

So if I want to monitor DCI 2k or DCI 4k in 12 bit RGB and I buy an $895 Decklink card, am I limited to monitoring in Rec709 gamut? I have a Dreamcolor that supports P3 and through the DisplayPort I can monitor in P3. In Resolve if for example I was working in ACES I would be likely to use one of the P3 ODT's. I wouldn't want P3 primaries to be inelegantly clipped to 709 by the Decklink just so I can monitor on a second screen. That would be super weird for high end grading software.

It should also be noted that the Dreamcolor stores my X-Rite hardware calibration directly so I'm bypassing any OS calibration anyway.


No.
You can use the DeckLink or Ultrastudio range to output the color gamma and gamut u select.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4814
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostSat Mar 02, 2019 9:59 am

There is something interesting here.
If you monitor over 422 then Resolve RGB data has to be converted to YUV and this has to go through some matrix and in most cases it's Rec.709 (it's not gamut just color matrix). On your monitor it has to go through reverse Rec.709 matrix and you get your starting RGB data (well 422 version of it).
Question is: does those 2 conversions are lossless enough in case modern, wide gamut, HDR etc signals?
I would rather expect that anything above Rec.709 should go through Rec.2020 matrix, but not many BM cards can do this. Also does Resolve actually use Rec.2020 (when converting data to pass to SDI card) in case projects outside Rec.709?
Good monitors or even TV can be specifically set to Rec.2020. What is happening in Resolve then? This is specially important for cases when someone wants to monitor UHD project with wide gamut, but uses just HD preview.

If you use 444 monitoring then whole "problem" is gone as data doesn't need any conversions on the chain. Problem is that 90% monitoring is done over YUV.
Offline

Jernej Rozenberger

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2015 4:52 pm

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostTue Mar 12, 2019 3:32 pm

I was just about to cancel my subscription to Adobe CC.
Searched everywhere for a fullscreen preview on another monitor and than this punch in the gut ... Got so used to it from Premiere. Bought a 4k TV that hangs above my 2 regular monitors just so people could see what I'm working on while sitting behind me.

I'll see if I can live with it or if a DeckLink Mini Monitor 4K will be a necesity in the future.

I think I'll stop my subscription anyway just to force myself into it :lol:
Offline
User avatar

Marc Wielage

  • Posts: 5267
  • Joined: Fri Oct 18, 2013 2:46 am
  • Location: Hollywood, USA

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostWed Mar 13, 2019 5:23 am

Jernej Rozenberger wrote:I'll see if I can live with it or if a DeckLink Mini Monitor 4K will be a necesity in the future.

$150 for a Mini Monitor sounds cheaper than $600 a year for Adobe CC. That's assuming I do my math correctly.
marc wielage, csi • VP/color & workflow • chroma | hollywood
Offline

peterjackson

  • Posts: 265
  • Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2018 7:12 pm
  • Real Name: Peter Jackson

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostWed Mar 13, 2019 8:19 am

Not trying to bring this thread back from the dead, but also remember you not only need a free TB3 port, you also want that port to sit on a dedicated controller and not have its bandwidth shared with another port on the same controller. So no eGPU, external screens, docks etc for laptop users. For me this is the real price to pay. Also 4k 30fps is max.
XPS 9750, i9-8950HK, 32GB, 2TB NVM, Intel 630, GTX 1050 Ti, 1080 Ti eGPU, Mini Monitor, BMCC4K. Versions: BIOS 1.7.0, Intel 630 24.20.100.6287, Nvidia 25.21.14.1881, Thunderbolt 17.4.77.13, Win10 Enterprise 10.0.17134.
Offline

Andrew Kolakowski

  • Posts: 4814
  • Joined: Tue Sep 11, 2012 10:20 am

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostWed Mar 13, 2019 9:17 am

Marc Wielage wrote:
Jernej Rozenberger wrote:I'll see if I can live with it or if a DeckLink Mini Monitor 4K will be a necesity in the future.

$150 for a Mini Monitor sounds cheaper than $600 a year for Adobe CC. That's assuming I do my math correctly.


Yearly cost of Premiere is 240$ not 600$.
150$ is not a high cost for accurate monitoring either, assuming you are fine with UHD 30p max and possible compatibility issues with Decklink HDMI output.
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4409
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Full Screen 'Viewer' on second display...

PostWed Mar 13, 2019 11:58 am

Are you sure you need an iMac Pro setup? I got pretty good results with my non-Pro and an eGPU.

@ Peter Jackson: the iMac Pro has two independent TB3 ports.

The Pro is the machine you want if you need heavy CPU processing, like for R3D footage. But I doubt it makes much sense. Even as a die-hard Mac fan, I'd go for a Hackintosh or a PC in that case.

IMHO, the sweet spot at Apple right now is the iMac with the Radeon 580 and an eGPU.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Curt Massof, parkerfly5150 and 41 guests