Some basic Fairlight issues

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Bazzikaster

Some basic Fairlight issues

PostFri Aug 17, 2018 3:08 pm

Please, have a look at the video I recorded from the screen.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1lDiYLI ... sp=sharing

As a professional sound engineer I have found it really hard to work with on basic level.

1. When working in Layered audio editing, after creating the overlap no way to see quickly overlapped area. Some crosshair or other visualization is highly welcomed! Of course, I can switch on the layers and see what's going on, but that's not really convinient when you work fast and have a lot of files.
2. Layered audio editing doesn't allow you quickly change which audio is on top of the other. Again, you can do it when turning on Show audio track layers and do it there manually by dragging the clip up or down, but no key command (at least, I couldn't find it)
3. I could find the easy way to move the entire crossfade area (the same as transition)
4. And it has a bug in my understanding. If you crossfade the 2 clips with different levels it sharply changes the level at the end of crossfade area. For some reason you can't see that drop on the waveform of bounced clip, but you can clearly hear it.
5. Please, add the same way of automation editing as for the volume automation. Just adding points and change their position etc. Current way of drawing the line by pencil is IMO very unprecise and awkward. You have to use two different tools for the drwaing and editing. And you seems can't delete the automation point? Also, it creates lots of automation point which will unnessecery load CPU.

I am a Nuendo user since the v1 and all those stuff are way better implemented there. Would be nice to have the same level of flexibility in Resolve ar some point...

Thanks!
DaVinci Resolve Studio 18.6.2, MacOS 13.6, MacBook M1 Pro Max 16

Steven Reid