Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

VladVP

  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:23 pm
  • Real Name: Vladimir Potekhin

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostWed Apr 10, 2019 8:37 am

Unfortunatally i had to switch back to DR15. The speed with NON Fuision footage droped dramaticallly (i posted it here viewtopic.php?f=21&t=88932 )
And it's another issue. For 3d animation i use Blender 3d. I don't know why but almost everything in Blender is way out convenient, customizable, contollable and smooth. Just look as an example and pay attention how easy it is to create a new window of any size. How easy it is to work there using G (grab) or S (scale) or R (rotate) keybord buttons with left hand and move mouse with right hand. Hit G - move. Hit S - move. Hit R - move. Which means once you selected keyframes you don't need to hover the mouse over a particular place but simply press G or S or R and move your mouse in desired direction regarless where it was when you pressed G/S/R.

and here

Just as a comparison here we have a simple issue that after more than 200 views i nad no answer. It looks like it's not desinged to be ajusted. viewtopic.php?f=21&t=88696. Thoug you CAN do it in Fusion. And there IS a proper Ease In/Out in Fusion. But if you scale or translate something in Fusion you have to resize and move all your Power windows in Color page. Let alone why i should split clip and then use Fusion for basic transitions at all? WHY?
And here are my feelings. I see a tilt to Fusion by means of basic editing capabilities. Ones again, it's my experience. And i don't like it. I think it'd be more appropriate to polish (or fix?) the basic things first and than move on with extra features. At the moment i can not use DR16 because clips that played smooth without proxy mode in DR15 play twice slower at 1/4 proxy in DR16 and i always see "GPU is full" warning. And maybe it's better for Fusion. But...
But if Fusion is by means of basic editing things i'd prefer Fision separate. Or not Fusion at all. Sorry. The reason why i don't use Blender as NLE is because even though you can do it, it's not designed for that. But DR is designed for that. Or it is not?
Win10 64, Intel Core i7 7800x 3.50Gz, MSI x299 sli plus, 1 GPU NVIDIA GeForce GTX1080Ti, RAM32
Davinci Resolve 15.3.1.003 Studio
Tried 16 beta 1 - "GPU is full" all the time, switched back to 15.
2019.08.14 use both v15 and v16 Studio.
Offline

AndreasOberg

  • Posts: 349
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:09 am

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostWed Apr 10, 2019 11:06 pm

Peter Cave wrote:
Jim Simon wrote:A simple right click on the keyframe>Ease In/Out option is what's needed and wanted here.


You mean like this?

Screen Shot 2018-08-19 at 6.29.19 pm.png

This implementation is what I would like the most. That you have an image on the screen and there is a path that you can move. Similar to After Effects. I think it works really well.

Andreas
Consulting Lead VFX Microsoft Games/Rare Ltd
Offline

VladVP

  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:23 pm
  • Real Name: Vladimir Potekhin

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostThu Apr 11, 2019 7:36 am

Peter Cave wrote:
You mean like this?

Screen Shot 2018-08-19 at 6.29.19 pm.png

Sorry but i can not see the screen shot.
Win10 64, Intel Core i7 7800x 3.50Gz, MSI x299 sli plus, 1 GPU NVIDIA GeForce GTX1080Ti, RAM32
Davinci Resolve 15.3.1.003 Studio
Tried 16 beta 1 - "GPU is full" all the time, switched back to 15.
2019.08.14 use both v15 and v16 Studio.
Offline

VladVP

  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:23 pm
  • Real Name: Vladimir Potekhin

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostThu Apr 11, 2019 10:07 am

Jim Simon wrote:A simple right click on the keyframe>Ease In/Out option is what's needed and wanted here.

It is already there. If you can not do it in keyframe editor you can do it in viewport.
More than that, you can do it in keyframe editor if you want. The thing is that there's no Ease In/OUT option for the first and the last keyframes ONLY(guess WHY).
1-st_keyframe.png
1-st_keyframe.png (9.54 KiB) Viewed 1163 times

If you copy the desired keyframe (lets call it #1) and move it to the left (let's call a duplicate #0), and than rightclick on keyframe #1 again, you will see the oprion
2-nd_keyframe.png
2-nd_keyframe.png (10.74 KiB) Viewed 1163 times

BUT... It "works" just as i had discribed in the posts above. Which means doesn't work. And that's why (as i think) they made it impossible for the first and the last keyframes. They are AWARE.
More than that, they made it possible in DR16, BUT... You can read my post above (here and next viewtopic.php?f=21&t=77981#p496063) about the way it works. And it's sad, because it lookes like it was done just to check the box. Very SAD.
More than that, if you use additional keyframes (like on the second ScreenShot) and try than pull the bezier handle you'll see how at some point transition instead of going from left to right will go first to the left, than change direction, return back to original place and than will go to the desired direction. Then you try to get the point where it doesn't start in the opposite diration. And when you sort of ("sort of" describes how controllable it is), so when you sort of find this point you discover that it is not Ease start anyway... If your transition is both X and Y it starts drawing any path but straight line. If you use zoom animation at the same time you can laugh or cry looking at the results but never use it.
And it's been like this for years. How long else? Is the program a toy for programmers or an instrument for users (i'm talkhing ONLY about this issue, not about other stuff and not in general!)? So far i see the programmers just check/uncheck the box.
Emotional? YES. But 1) i am a human and 2) i need to work and not to knock and knock and knock... I payed the money and i killed tones of time reading and experimenting and knocking. IT IS NOT WORKABLE. Or if it is, explain me how. And i'm not about the color of some pictogram, i'm about BASIC feature. I'm about those things, that are declared in manual as they are (and should work). And i understand those who after using any other NLE soft try Ease in DR for the first time, and they say "i can not belive". Since it IS UNBELIVABLE. Yet it does exist.
I sent an email with this issue (maybe a month ago or so). No answer. If i knew that they work on it (just a reply via email, or here) i'd just wait - no problem. Instead i saw them to throw a bone (that's my feeling) the way they made it in DR16 and checked the box. What i should think? What will be next? Is there end?
Fusion is now integrated. Good. There's a proper Ease In/OUT there - fine. But i prefer to stay on the ground fist. Is the Edit page NLE or an attachment to Fusion? Simple question, more than 200 views - no answer viewtopic.php?f=21&t=88696. Can you use a speedometer of a car if it's range 0-1000 mPh?
Even though i'm very loyal to DR and i like it in general, even though i see they do really many things, as for the Ease IN/OUT, it's UNCHECKED. And if you let us know that you work on it - we'd appreciate it VERY VERY MUCH.
Thank you.
Win10 64, Intel Core i7 7800x 3.50Gz, MSI x299 sli plus, 1 GPU NVIDIA GeForce GTX1080Ti, RAM32
Davinci Resolve 15.3.1.003 Studio
Tried 16 beta 1 - "GPU is full" all the time, switched back to 15.
2019.08.14 use both v15 and v16 Studio.
Offline

VladVP

  • Posts: 28
  • Joined: Fri Dec 14, 2018 12:23 pm
  • Real Name: Vladimir Potekhin

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 3:32 pm

I've been waiting for v16 release to see if the problem solved. And it is NOT. :oops:

What is done is a fake. Just see.
Fig01. This is the default settings (just animation added). Start key frame is read (marked), and it is liner mode (marked with blue circle). The right border of the image in the viewport is aligned with cursor (yellow line as a reference). Now look at the graph line and notice that it is not straight at all (it must be a straight line connecting the key frames). Let's remember it.
01_Default.PNG
01_Default.PNG (33.22 KiB) Viewed 963 times

Fig02. Now we switch line mode to ease out. We see that the handle appeared, we see that the angle of curve changed - but there's no any effect in the viewport. What is also interesting that the angle of the graph line looked more smooth at liner mode comparing to ease mode. But as i said it doesn't make any difference anyway (the image border in the viewport will always stay straight above the cursor).
02_CurveSwitch.PNG
02_CurveSwitch.PNG (26.26 KiB) Viewed 963 times

Fig03. Let's play with the handle. This is the max right position of the handle (there's limit). If you align the angle with horizon you'll still get no changes. If you move it down below horizon the transition will start at the opposite direction and then returns. And it's all far from being ease. If you move the handle up there will be no any changes untill you align the handle with the graph curve and only after that it'll effect (it'll become more abrupt at the start).
03_CurveAdjust_01.PNG
03_CurveAdjust_01.PNG (26.04 KiB) Viewed 963 times

So what do we have? All that we had years before. Is it ease in/out? Obviously not. And the worst thing about all that is that they LIE. They say YOU HAVE EASE IN/OUT when you don't have it. And they DO know about that. I just imagine how hard they tried to make interface "working" so that you could play with handles and curves while whole item is not working! Creative!!!
Shame!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Win10 64, Intel Core i7 7800x 3.50Gz, MSI x299 sli plus, 1 GPU NVIDIA GeForce GTX1080Ti, RAM32
Davinci Resolve 15.3.1.003 Studio
Tried 16 beta 1 - "GPU is full" all the time, switched back to 15.
2019.08.14 use both v15 and v16 Studio.
Offline

AndreasOberg

  • Posts: 349
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:09 am

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 6:35 pm

Did you try if it is better in 16.1? They claim it has been improved.

Best,
Andreas
Consulting Lead VFX Microsoft Games/Rare Ltd
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1533
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 10:55 pm

BMD responded here: viewtopic.php?f=32&t=92986
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Bernhard Pusch

  • Posts: 2
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2019 8:47 pm
  • Location: Österreich
  • Real Name: Bernhard Pusch

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostWed Oct 09, 2019 10:58 pm

This sets me back to After Effects. Coming from there, i am surpriesed how inaccurate the bezier handles are.
Basicly there is only the right click option -> easy in / easy out. Everything else, like very smooth dampering is not possible.
Would realy like to see a AEish solution to handle the x/y positions.
BUMP that topic.
Offline
User avatar

DerPaule13

  • Posts: 7
  • Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 8:28 am
  • Real Name: Paul Kuno

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostTue Oct 22, 2019 12:41 pm

+1
This is driving me nuts.
After the first few minutes in DR I needed to keyframe the position of a clip, combined with a zoom. Couldn't get it to work. After reading all posts about this topic in this forum, I've decided to give up. This is such a standard feature.
I wanted to switch to Davinci Resolve this year, but I know that this missing feature alone will give me massive headaches in the future. (Like Premiere Pro gives me right now with crashes and other bugs)
PLEASE implement a proper way of actually Ease Out/Ease In position keyframes.

I'll stick to Premiere Pro for now, which I really hate. But going into Fusion or creating an XMP file and doing it in Premiere for every single clip that needs position keyframing is just no option. I hope this gets implemented / fixed in the near future.
Offline

TomasM

  • Posts: 33
  • Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 10:26 am
  • Real Name: Tomas Mykolaitis

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostWed Oct 23, 2019 5:21 am

It's a joke! DR is full of "features" that simply don't work, and this "position easing bug" is just one of them.
This bug extends even to "Dynamic zoom":
Using it with Ease In, Out, or Both, it eases only Scale but not Position (try moving one of control rectangles out of center). As a result - you get an "S" style movement instead of speed easing.

I REALY like Resolve (as an Idea, Concept) and manage to overcome current bugs (by not using those features), but lets face it - Adobe Premiere (as crapy as it is) is miles ahead in terms of reliability. It just works where it should. No bugs of that kind (during 10 years).
Attachments
Easing_Rectangles.JPG
Easing_Rectangles.JPG (63.36 KiB) Viewed 768 times
Resolve 16.1 Studio | WIN 10 Pro | Core i7 9700K | RTX2070Super 8GB | RAM 64GB | 2x 970EVO 250GB | 860 EVO 2TB
Offline

AndreasOberg

  • Posts: 349
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:09 am

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostSat Nov 02, 2019 6:52 pm

Has this been improved in 16.1.1?
I remember when FCPX was released I had lots of problems with curves, but Premiere always was good, maybe a bit uggly interface for curves but you could always do what you wanted. In general I'm not so happy with Resolves curves. Especially tricky to do movement so they work well and as we seen ease in/out does not work well.

Another thing I miss is that not everything supports curves, for example plugins seem to have support for keyframes but no curves. I'm also not sure sure if it was really a good idea to put the curves on the timeline, so you have to expand and collapse them, Imagine you need to animate the opacity for 80 clips, that is going to be painful with just expanding, minimizing and switching between the animated properties, while this would be quite fast in AE or Fusion.
I do miss a a real curve editor just like we have in Fusion FX or After Effects where the only thing you see are the curves. Often when we work with curves I need big windows so I can see properly because the setup may need precision.

On a positive note we have switched over almost exlusively to using Fusion FX (standalone) instead of After Effects. Still learning, so its a bit slower, but once you figure out how to do something you get a very beautiful solution that you can easily reuse. In After Effects we would get a complicated mess of precomps which was not fun to work with.

Cheers,
Andreas
Consulting Lead VFX Microsoft Games/Rare Ltd
Offline
User avatar

Jamie LeJeune

  • Posts: 1154
  • Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2013 4:33 am
  • Location: San Francisco

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostSun Nov 03, 2019 8:17 am

I've given up trying to setup position and scale moves in the Edit page. It's better to make position and scale moves in the sizing controls of the Color page instead. You can set key frames and adjust the key frame dynamics (accessible by right clicking on the key frames) to get proper adjustable ease in/ease out. An additional benefit to working this way is that it is far easier to adjust Color page sizing control keyframes than the clunky keyframe curve editor on the Edit page.
www.cinedocs.com
http://www.imdb.com/name/nm4601572/
Offline

AndreasOberg

  • Posts: 349
  • Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:09 am

Re: Edit Page: Still no Ease Out/Ease In Position keyframes?

PostMon Nov 04, 2019 8:43 pm

That is a good tip Jamie, I will try that
Consulting Lead VFX Microsoft Games/Rare Ltd
Previous

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Joshua Morin, Michael_Andreas, MSN [Bot], Soeren Mueller and 58 guests