2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostTue Aug 21, 2018 7:55 pm

Even after restarting my secondary monitor goes mostly black when loading the fusion page. Never had this issue in the last few betas.

I really need this working asap as most of the work Im doing now is in Fusion. I un-installed and re-installed Fusion 15 final and its STILL black.
Attachments
black monitor.PNG
black monitor.PNG (30.47 KiB) Viewed 768 times
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostTue Aug 21, 2018 8:12 pm

Turned secondary display off/one. That didnt work.

Reset UI settings and ended up with this... 2 panels restored but the third one still black

black screen 2.png
black screen 2.png (77.39 KiB) Viewed 650 times
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostTue Aug 21, 2018 8:16 pm

RESOLVED: (no pun intended)

What finally worked was turning off the dual display. Resetting the UI. Turning the 2nd display back on, and it worked. I think launching Fusion 9 may have been what started this mess. I had been switching back and forth between the fusion page and the edit page a lot the last couple days and never had any issues until launching Fusion 9 thismorning.
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostTue Sep 25, 2018 9:33 pm

Still having problems with fusion and black boxes. Here now is my main display. Full of black boxes and I cannot do anything in fusion. No response.

fusion black windows.PNG
fusion black windows.PNG (377.36 KiB) Viewed 589 times


Tried disabling dual monitors and resetting the UI. And it worked. Problem was my scrub bar was now at the beginning of my sequence. So I go back to my clip, go back into Fusion, and the black boxes were back! So I restarted Resolve. It booted up into the fusion page and everything was good. Did what I needed for the most part, then went back to the edit page. Needed to make one more tweak in Fusion so I went back to the fusion page and --- black boxes -- AGAIN. I cannot keep up with this. This has been happening since the beta versions and its making working in the fusion page untenable :(
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostMon Oct 01, 2018 7:03 pm

Still having problems. Now every single time I go to the fusion page this is what I am greeted with.

IMG_1951.jpg
IMG_1951.jpg (457.58 KiB) Viewed 571 times


Fusion was working SO much better in 15 and 15.1. What happened? Fusion so broken I literally am unable to use it at all anymore. Not exaggerating. I may have to downgrade.

(sorry pic is upside down. A distress signal I guess)
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostMon Oct 01, 2018 11:11 pm

Video

Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostThu Oct 11, 2018 9:15 pm

Sorry its upside down again!
IMG_1985.jpg
IMG_1985.jpg (562.81 KiB) Viewed 517 times


9 out of 10 times entering Fusion I see this. Please please fix this BMD. Fusion is completely broken if I cant see what Im doing :(
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostMon Oct 22, 2018 5:40 pm

15.1, 15.1.1 and now 15.1.2 Fusion is still completely broken. How long will Fusion be broken guys? :cry:

black boxes.PNG
black boxes.PNG (140.33 KiB) Viewed 494 times
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostWed Oct 31, 2018 10:47 pm

....still....broken
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Peter Chamberlain

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4981
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 7:08 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostThu Nov 01, 2018 5:31 am

I don't see any of these issues and with no one else reporting them its likely you should review the drivers for your GPU or some other config issue.
DaVinci Resolve Product Manager
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostWed Nov 14, 2018 4:34 am

So disappointed. Still having this issue in 15.2.

I will check the drivers. But I am having this problem on two different machines. Both PCs with nvidia cards. Dont know what the issue is but that is what they have in common. I'll look into the drivers. *sigh*
Attachments
fusion.PNG
fusion.PNG (102.51 KiB) Viewed 392 times
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostWed Nov 14, 2018 4:53 am

Updated my GPU drivers to the new release two days ago. Still getting black windows when trying to use fusion. This is really frustrating because Fusion has become completely unusable for me. What else would you suggest trying?
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostWed Nov 14, 2018 10:49 pm

Now, for the first time ever, and the first time in 15.2, my EDIT page is now all black.

I have had these issues on two machines, with various drivers and Resolve releases now since mid August. So for two months I've been reporting these issues. Can someone please help?? Not only is Fusion unusable now, but if this persists with the Edit page, Resolve is completely broken for me. 100% unusable. I would call tech support but my phone call keeps getting dropped on transfers. (Ive had this problem for a year now and Ive reported that before also) So I have to get someone to call me.

What else can I do? I just tried a complete re-install of Resolve, after deleting the old install. Still didnt work. Im out of ideas here.
Attachments
edit page.PNG
edit page.PNG (377.64 KiB) Viewed 335 times
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 104
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostWed Nov 14, 2018 11:44 pm

Are your two graphics cards in SLI mode? If yes, disable it. Do you have an integrated graphics card enabled? If yes, disable it in the BIOS.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Version 10.0.16299 Build 16299
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
The latest Resolve (Standard)
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostThu Nov 15, 2018 9:34 pm

Gary Hango wrote:Are your two graphics cards in SLI mode? If yes, disable it. Do you have an integrated graphics card enabled? If yes, disable it in the BIOS.


Thanks for the help. But no and no. Custom built PC with two GTX 1080 Ti's. (only GPUs in the machine)
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostMon Nov 19, 2018 5:09 pm

Peter Chamberlain wrote:I don't see any of these issues and with no one else reporting them its likely you should review the drivers for your GPU or some other config issue.


Another suggestions Peter? I'd really like to get this fixed so I can use fusion again.
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostTue Nov 20, 2018 8:41 pm

Anyone???
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

Boris Tivchev

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:06 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostWed Nov 21, 2018 9:58 am

I have had the exact same problem ever since Fusion was integrated. Still do on 15.2. It is absolutely unusable.
iMac 2017, MacOS 10.13.5, Radeon Pro 580 8 GB, 4,2GHz i7, 40GB RAM, QNAP TVS-1282T, APC Smart-UPS 3000 RM, BMD UltraStudio 4K, FSI CM250, BMD Teranex Mini SDI to HDMI 12G, Panasonic 55EZ950, DRS 15b4, BMD Mini Panel
Offline

Boris Tivchev

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 7:06 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostWed Nov 21, 2018 10:30 am

Switching over to Metal seems to fix this. I got other issues with Metal but Fusion UI seems to be ok.
iMac 2017, MacOS 10.13.5, Radeon Pro 580 8 GB, 4,2GHz i7, 40GB RAM, QNAP TVS-1282T, APC Smart-UPS 3000 RM, BMD UltraStudio 4K, FSI CM250, BMD Teranex Mini SDI to HDMI 12G, Panasonic 55EZ950, DRS 15b4, BMD Mini Panel
Offline

puhovik

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 10:00 pm
  • Real Name: Nikita Kozhemyakin

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostWed Nov 21, 2018 11:19 am

i have same problem. i use 2 monitors and sometime i go fusion elements on first monitor with nodes goes black. i switch nodes on\of , switch 2nd monitor on \off on fusion and sometimes it go normal state. some time i need to restart davinci
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostWed Nov 21, 2018 9:29 pm

puhovik wrote:i have dame problem. i use 2 monitors and sometime i go fusion elements on first monitor with nodes goes black. i switch nodes on\of , switch 2nd monitor on \off on fusion and sometimes it go normal state. some time i need to restart davinci


Thats exactly what I've encountered. When loading fusion the windows will be black. If I disable the dual screen option, and then re-enable it, the fusion comp will display correctly. Once in awhile Id have to restart. Im on windows so no metal option for me. I've got nvidia cards anyway.
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

puhovik

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 10:00 pm
  • Real Name: Nikita Kozhemyakin

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostSun Nov 25, 2018 12:57 pm

any solutions? this bug can apear at start of using fusion. but can not apeat for a couple of hours
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 618
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

Re: 2nd display goes black in Fusion :(

PostMon Nov 26, 2018 6:36 pm

puhovik wrote:any solutions? this bug can apear at start of using fusion. but can not apeat for a couple of hours


Unfortunately not. In three months of reporting this issue I've only had one response from BMD and was told nobody else is having the issue and try updating the GPU drivers. Obviously I tried that and it did not fix anything. Asked for more help two weeks ago but so far, nothing.
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Norm Marion, voldyr and 15 guests