DR 15 - Really Bad Playback

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

mhumph

DR 15 - Really Bad Playback

PostWed Sep 05, 2018 8:04 pm

To start, I am very new to DR, and video editing in general. I have been using Adobe Premiere Elements for a while, and looking at DR as an upgrade. So far I really like it but I am having a lot of trouble with the timeline playback. It is pretty much unusable.

I fear my computer may be under powered for this software. I am on a laptop with an 7th Gen i7, 8GB Ram, Intel 620 GPU and SSD. However, since this is only a hobby, purchasing a new computer is not an option.

I have found several article and YouTube videos that try to address this issue, but none of them have made a difference. The video I am working with is 1080p at 60fps. I have added an animated title (Text+) and transitions between the clips (mostly dip to black or cross dissolve).

What I have tried:
1) Playback - use Optimized Media if available
2) Playback - Proxy Mode - Quarter Resolution
3) Playback - Render Cache - User
4) Right Click Clip - Render Cache Fusion Output - On
5) Right Click Clip - Generate Optimized Media

As a note, when I set the Proxy Mode to Half or Quarter, the red/Blue line disappears from the timeline. I thought this was the render cache line.... Does that mean it's not catching with those settings?

Are there any other suggestions to try to improve playback of the timeline?

On a different note, is the Render Quality of DR significantly better than that of Premiere Elements?

Thanks
-M

Uli Plank

Re: DR 15 - Really Bad Playback

PostThu Sep 06, 2018 12:32 am

Yes, unfortunately your Intel GPU is underpowered.
If better hardware (like a decent desktop) is not an option, Resolve is not for you.
No, an iGPU is not enough, and you can't use HEVC 10 bit 4:2:2 in the free version.

Studio 18.6.5, MacOS 13.6.5
MacBook M1 Pro, 16 GPU cores, 32 GB RAM and iPhone 15 Pro