How to do a News-ticker or Marquee with plain text?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Christoph

How to do a News-ticker or Marquee with plain text?

PostFri Sep 14, 2018 3:41 pm

Hi all,

I am new to DaVinci Resolve and so far I like working with it and found it pretty intuitive. Unfortunately I somewhat hit the wall by trying to add a kind of news-ticker or better marquee to a video so basically a line of plain text that is running from left to right at the bottom of the video.

I found a way to have some text running through the video using different positions and key frames, but even thought that is a start it's not what I am looking for. Somewhere I found the info that there was a news-ticker function in an earlier version but that doesn't seem to be there anymore or only in the pro version?
I am still working with the Free Version 15 and testing before I make the decision to buy.

So, is there a way to do so some kind of news-ticker with plain text?

Thankful for every help.

Christoph

Christoph

Re: How to do a News-ticker or Marquee with plain text?

PostSat Sep 22, 2018 6:58 pm

Hi all....

mhhh... only 27 viewes and no answer in over a week. :(

Somehow I get the feeling that this is either very common knowledge and therefore a pretty stupid question or the program simply can't do it.
The latter would surprise me since other programs I use for making simple short videos were able to do that without any problems. I was under the asumption that Davinci is in the same category like Final Cut Pro or Adobe Premiere Pro, maybe I am wrong here.

Thanks

RainerL

PostWed Mar 20, 2019 10:32 am

Hey Christoph, if you're still there, and still wondering, or maybe someone else is wondering
Came across your post needing to set up a news ticker myself and couldn't find a description how so had to figure it out myself. Turns out it wasn't so hard.