DaVinci won't run

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

deebers35

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:36 pm
  • Real Name: mike deebers

DaVinci won't run

PostSat Oct 06, 2018 9:30 pm

trying to run DVinci, but after a few seconds of that busy circle icon, nothing happens. It won't boot up and run. I have not changed McAfee antivirus settings. Nothing has changed. Any ideas why i suddenly can't run it anymore? I downloaded the update qa few weeks back and it was fine.

Thanks.
CPU - i7 6700K
Board - Z170A M3 Gaming
RAM - G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM
OS - Windows 10 Pro
GPU - MSI GeForce GTX 1050
Offline

Chip.Murphy

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostSat Oct 06, 2018 11:41 pm

Upload your logs
Offline

deebers35

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:36 pm
  • Real Name: mike deebers

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostSat Oct 06, 2018 11:44 pm

Chip.Murphy wrote:Upload your logs


Not sure what that is or how to do it.
CPU - i7 6700K
Board - Z170A M3 Gaming
RAM - G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM
OS - Windows 10 Pro
GPU - MSI GeForce GTX 1050
Offline

Chip.Murphy

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostSat Oct 06, 2018 11:49 pm

Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6269
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostSun Oct 07, 2018 12:02 am

post the specs of your system, the OS, the gpu, what you need to do, which files you are trying to use and so on.

99.999% of the cases, your system is underpowered for what you want to do.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline

deebers35

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:36 pm
  • Real Name: mike deebers

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostSun Oct 07, 2018 12:13 am



both files are too large according to this site (2.8MB and 83MB).
CPU - i7 6700K
Board - Z170A M3 Gaming
RAM - G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM
OS - Windows 10 Pro
GPU - MSI GeForce GTX 1050
Offline

deebers35

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:36 pm
  • Real Name: mike deebers

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostSun Oct 07, 2018 12:14 am

waltervolpatto wrote:post the specs of your system, the OS, the gpu, what you need to do, which files you are trying to use and so on.

99.999% of the cases, your system is underpowered for what you want to do.


Added my specs. All's been fine for months and suddenly it won't start-up.
CPU - i7 6700K
Board - Z170A M3 Gaming
RAM - G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM
OS - Windows 10 Pro
GPU - MSI GeForce GTX 1050
Offline

Chip.Murphy

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostSun Oct 07, 2018 12:15 am

Upload to Google drive and post a public link
Offline

deebers35

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:36 pm
  • Real Name: mike deebers

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostSun Oct 07, 2018 12:33 am

CPU - i7 6700K
Board - Z170A M3 Gaming
RAM - G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM
OS - Windows 10 Pro
GPU - MSI GeForce GTX 1050
Offline

Chip.Murphy

  • Posts: 137
  • Joined: Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:59 pm

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostMon Oct 08, 2018 2:50 am

It looks like Resolve is trying to launch in OpenCL mode on your Intel HD 530 instead of your GTX 1050.

1. Try downloading the latest drivers for your GTX 1050 at nvidia.com/drivers as Windows updates can sometimes wipe the driver with the Windows update one.

2. If that doesn't work, try removing your config files. First, uninstall Resolve, then delete these two files if they still exist, and the reinstall resolve

C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Preferences\.config.data
C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Preferences\config.dat

Those two files contain the info for Resolve's global preferences, so lets flush it out.

Let me know how it goes.
Offline

deebers35

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:36 pm
  • Real Name: mike deebers

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostMon Oct 08, 2018 2:58 pm

Chip.Murphy wrote:It looks like Resolve is trying to launch in OpenCL mode on your Intel HD 530 instead of your GTX 1050.

1. Try downloading the latest drivers for your GTX 1050 at nvidia.com/drivers as Windows updates can sometimes wipe the driver with the Windows update one.

2. If that doesn't work, try removing your config files. First, uninstall Resolve, then delete these two files if they still exist, and the reinstall resolve

C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Preferences\.config.data
C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Preferences\config.dat

Those two files contain the info for Resolve's global preferences, so lets flush it out.

Let me know how it goes.


tried all the above to no avail. also turned off antivirus.

any further ideas?

[just realized that it is possible the HDMI cable MAY have been plugged into the motherboard instead of the graphics card previously and is now plugged into the graphics card. I was not in-charge of that, so not sure. Still, you seem to have the solution to that by uninstalling, so perhaps that is irrelevant now.]

thanks.
CPU - i7 6700K
Board - Z170A M3 Gaming
RAM - G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM
OS - Windows 10 Pro
GPU - MSI GeForce GTX 1050
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4639
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostMon Oct 08, 2018 5:09 pm

Where the monitor is plugged in can have a big effect. And if what you say is true, that's almost certainly the issue. Move the display back to the motherboard connection.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

deebers35

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:36 pm
  • Real Name: mike deebers

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostMon Oct 08, 2018 5:12 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:Where the monitor is plugged in can have a big effect. And if what you say is true, that's almost certainly the issue. Move the display back to the motherboard connection.


Will try. But it's much preferable to be able to use my GPU than my motherboard. Any idea why I can't?
CPU - i7 6700K
Board - Z170A M3 Gaming
RAM - G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM
OS - Windows 10 Pro
GPU - MSI GeForce GTX 1050
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4639
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostMon Oct 08, 2018 5:16 pm

If you plug the display into the GPU, by default, Resolve will use that to drive the GUI, and use the Intel GPU for processing. You want the Intel GPU driving the GUI, so Resolve uses the NVIDIA GPU for processing.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

deebers35

  • Posts: 32
  • Joined: Fri Sep 07, 2018 2:36 pm
  • Real Name: mike deebers

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostMon Oct 08, 2018 6:09 pm

Dwaine Maggart wrote:If you plug the display into the GPU, by default, Resolve will use that to drive the GUI, and use the Intel GPU for processing. You want the Intel GPU driving the GUI, so Resolve uses the NVIDIA GPU for processing.


Strange. I unplugged the HDMI cable from my graphics card and plugged it into my motherboard. But now my display shows no signal. It shows a cable is connected but no signal.

Any idea what is happening?
CPU - i7 6700K
Board - Z170A M3 Gaming
RAM - G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 SDRAM
OS - Windows 10 Pro
GPU - MSI GeForce GTX 1050
Offline

pimpmg

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 12:46 pm
  • Real Name: Max Good

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 7:49 pm

HELP!
I recently updated my windows 7 machine to run windows 10 so that I could utilize Resolve 15 to it's fullest extent. Unfortunately the program now is basically unusable because it crashes whenever I try to do any editing color correcting pretty much anything.

I ran all of the 14 series of resolve on my computer with no problems and Davinci Resolve 14.3 also ran perfectly on my computer with Windows 7 Professional but could not render 2160p. So I decided to upgrade my machine to Windows 10 Pro.

My machine stats are as follows
Windows 10 pro (64bit)
Dell optiplex 9020
Intel core i7-4770 3.4 GHz
32 Gigs of ram
1TB Samsung Evo SSD
4TB External drive
AMD Radeon HD 8570 Gpu ( I know not a great card but like I said 14.3 ran perfect on my machine until I upgraded to Windows 10).

I have tried installing every version of Resolve 14 on my now Windows 10 machine, every one of them crash at some stage or another during use . I have uninstalled and reinstalled each version of 15 as well with the same result. I have used the control comma and changed my GPU settings to openCl that seemed to allow the program to stay open a little bit longer until I tried to actually trim a clip or color grade something. The program is basically unusable on my computer right now.

Any help would be greatly appreciated...

I have attached my log file to this post
on dropbox
[/s/2ictgga5ok37ufs/DaVinci-Resolve-logs-20181009-153548.zip?dl=0]

I am able to run Adobe Premier free trial perfectly fine on this system in Windows 10 right now so I don't know if it is just a settings issue or what.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4639
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostTue Oct 09, 2018 10:26 pm

Your link is not working.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

pimpmg

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 12:46 pm
  • Real Name: Max Good

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostThu Oct 11, 2018 1:15 pm

How in the heck do you post a freaking link on this site? Every time I try it says I can't post a url
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6269
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostThu Oct 11, 2018 8:47 pm

pimpmg wrote:How in the heck do you post a freaking link on this site? Every time I try it says I can't post a url


Post it as plain text
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline

pimpmg

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 12:46 pm
  • Real Name: Max Good

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostThu Oct 11, 2018 9:02 pm

DROPBOX Link to my log file computer specs up above. Like I said everything worked good before I upgraded to windows 10 pro now constant crashes...

https://www.dropbox.com/s/2ictgga5ok37u ... 8.zip?dl=0
Last edited by pimpmg on Thu Oct 11, 2018 9:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Offline

pimpmg

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 12:46 pm
  • Real Name: Max Good

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostThu Oct 11, 2018 9:04 pm

Thank You waltervolpatto! I kept copying and pasting it trying different ways to post it never thought just typing it in would work... Thanks again. Now maybe someone can help me figure out why Davinci Keeps crashing... I don't know what else to try.
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6269
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 7:34 am

for the little I can see (and understand) in your logs the resolve software is looking at the radeon 8570 and the only GPU in your system and give up.

That will be a reason for crashing.

if you have that card, it is unlikely that resolve 15 will run.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline

pimpmg

  • Posts: 9
  • Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2018 12:46 pm
  • Real Name: Max Good

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 8:26 am

I wonder why Resolve 14 worked great before I upgraded to windows 10. Now that I upgraded to windows 10 no versions I install work they all crash the same way. So are you saying I need another GPU or a new GPU? And which type should I get?

Thanks for the help...

Max
Offline

Al Spaeth

  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:48 pm
  • Location: South Africa

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 10:40 am

Has ver 15 increased hardware demands over 14?? Many user posts suggest this may be the case :)
Resolve 14.1 free Win 10 64bit
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6269
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 1:45 pm

Yes, if you read the specs, most old card are deprecated.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline

Al Spaeth

  • Posts: 267
  • Joined: Thu Sep 17, 2015 9:48 pm
  • Location: South Africa

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 3:50 pm

Thanks Walter - where do I find new specs? Website shows OSs supported but not new hardware requirements. :)
Resolve 14.1 free Win 10 64bit
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6269
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostFri Oct 12, 2018 3:55 pm

SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline

Phoenix

  • Posts: 1
  • Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2018 10:52 am
  • Real Name: Jason Abbott

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostSat Oct 13, 2018 11:04 am

Hi all.

New member and first post.

Just a quick query regarding the issue of Resolve not running - it gets stuck when the loading splash screen shows "loading waveform monitor".

My iMac is a late 2009 intel i7 2.8, but is running only a 512MB ATI Radeon 4850. Would this be causing the issue?

TGZ and SPX files located here:
dropbox. com/sh/lnhdjw4rlzmwntd/AAAOixSAtdLDzZnk7oojIWB8a?dl=0

Maybe it's just about time to upgrade the computer... ;)

Cheers.
Jason
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 6269
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: Burbank, CA

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostMon Oct 15, 2018 6:30 pm

Your gpu card seems weak.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - Resolve Studio 15.0.1.003
nvidia dr: 398.82
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4639
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: DaVinci won't run

PostTue Oct 16, 2018 9:18 pm

Your 4850 GPU is not supported.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Leslie Wand, Majestic-12 [Bot] and 18 guests