Resolve Color Managed - Export Lower Contrast Back in Resolv

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
matthew.kingdon

Resolve Color Managed - Export Lower Contrast Back in Resolv

PostMon Oct 08, 2018 3:31 pm

Hi there,

I'm fairly new to HDR workflows and Resolve Color Management and keep encountering an issue I wondered if anyone could help with.

I'm working in a project for various image fixes (noise reduction, dead pixel removal etc) which I think is set up for an HDR workflow/color pipeline, however, whenever I export my clips and bring them back into Resolve they appear to have a lower contrast and saturation.

My Color Management Settings are as follows:

Color Science: DaVinci YRGV Color Managed
Use Separate Color Space and Gamma: Checked
Input Color Space: Bypass
Timeline Color Space: P3-D65 - ST2084
Output Color Space: Bypass (i.e. same as Timeline Color Space)

I'm exporting in ProRes 4444XQ

Once exported I bring the .mov back into Resolve and the color is completely different to how the original appears in the timeline. I've tried exporting with Data Levels set to 'Full' / 'Video' / 'Auto' but none make the clip look as it did before in the timeline.

Any light anyone can shed on the situation would be greatly appreciated! I'm sure it's probably my lack of knowledge regarding Color Spaces and HDR workflows so forgive me if it's something obvious.

Cheers,
MK

etang77

Re: Resolve Color Managed - Export Lower Contrast Back in Re

PostSat Oct 20, 2018 12:04 am

I'll call it a Davinci “issue”. It’s sort of in the manual.

As I had a nearly identical problem. Here is what I found.

The “Auto, Video, Full” data setting is not only in the rendering section. Each clip imported is set to auto, which is a setting you can change individually (or highlight a brunch) by entering clip attributes.