H.264/265: the big troubles

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Alex Potemkin

  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:27 pm
  • Location: Queens, NY

H.264/265: the big troubles

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 7:33 pm

Hello.
Seems like I have big troubles with h264/h265 decoding in ResolveStudio.

Please, check the video (the link is below) . Sorry about the quality, I just made a screen recording with my smartohone, but the problem itself is very visible.

One of those videis was taken from a regular Windows' player, another from DaVinci Studio 15.1.2

Thake a look to the wall behind the moving legs.

This footage from Sony A7RII, h.264
And I have the same issue with foitages from Phantom 4PRO, h.265

I newer saw anything like this in the older DaVinci version. So, I believe it something new in the latest one.

Help please!

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id= ... IjK-1cdRKC

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Alex Potemkin
http://yourphoto.nyc
http://yourphoto.biz
http://getty.yourphoto.biz
http://istock.yourphoto.biz
http://alexpotemkin.com
Offline
User avatar

MikeMeagher

  • Posts: 117
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:21 pm
  • Location: Bellingham, WA. USA

Re: H.264/265: the big troubles

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 8:53 pm

FYI Resolve is known for not having a good H.264 rendering engine. I believe because it uses the Windows or OS system encoder. My work around is to export to a variant of DNx file or similar high quality codec first then re-encode that using myffmpeg for superior results.
Mike Meagher Underwater Cinematographer
Win10 64 pro I7 6core X99 mboard 64 GBram
M.2 sys drive.
2x SSDs Raid0 cache.
3x 7200 HHDs raid0 storage
External NAS RAID0 backup
Dual 2x EVGA1080 TI video cards
Resolve 15.3 studio
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 220
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: H.264/265: the big troubles

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 9:44 pm

That is one work-around Mike... but it adds a significant extra step to the workflow and time is money.

Fortunately in "most" cases, the DR rendering engine is "good enough" for what I'm doing although I must admit that in the case of larger projects, I use an external program to render because it gives a great size/quality ratio.
Resolve 15 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709) 32GB RAM, GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline
User avatar

Cary Knoop

  • Posts: 819
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
  • Location: Newark, CA USA

Re: H.264/265: the big troubles

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 11:10 pm

Alex Potemkin wrote:Hello.
Seems like I have big troubles with h264/h265 decoding in ResolveStudio.

Please, check the video (the link is below) . Sorry about the quality, I just made a screen recording with my smartohone, but the problem itself is very visible.

One of those videis was taken from a regular Windows' player, another from DaVinci Studio 15.1.2

Thake a look to the wall behind the moving legs.

This footage from Sony A7RII, h.264
And I have the same issue with foitages from Phantom 4PRO, h.265

I newer saw anything like this in the older DaVinci version. So, I believe it something new in the latest one.

Help please!

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id= ... IjK-1cdRKC

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Could you provide (a few seconds of) the out of camera source?
Offline

Alex Potemkin

  • Posts: 126
  • Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:27 pm
  • Location: Queens, NY

Re: H.264/265: the big troubles

PostFri Nov 09, 2018 1:19 am

Hello!

In this case, it was a false accusation. But just partially false.

I placed 29.97 footages on to 23.97 timeline, but I forgot to change clip attributes to 23.97 (it supposed to be a slight down slowed video). When I changed clips' framerate to 23.97 it returned to normal. So, it's not an h.264 problem. I tried it with the same clip transcoded to ProRes and I got the same result in the same situation.

But it is not right, anyway :( seems like a problem with a frames interpolation algorithm, after all.
Alex Potemkin
http://yourphoto.nyc
http://yourphoto.biz
http://getty.yourphoto.biz
http://istock.yourphoto.biz
http://alexpotemkin.com
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4414
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: H.264/265: the big troubles

PostFri Nov 09, 2018 7:42 am

Which frame interpolation algorithm did you use?
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: DavetheMushroom, Peter Chamberlain and 37 guests