H.264/265: the big troubles

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Alex Potemkin

  • Posts: 124
  • Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:27 pm
  • Location: Queens, NY

H.264/265: the big troubles

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 7:33 pm

Hello.
Seems like I have big troubles with h264/h265 decoding in ResolveStudio.

Please, check the video (the link is below) . Sorry about the quality, I just made a screen recording with my smartohone, but the problem itself is very visible.

One of those videis was taken from a regular Windows' player, another from DaVinci Studio 15.1.2

Thake a look to the wall behind the moving legs.

This footage from Sony A7RII, h.264
And I have the same issue with foitages from Phantom 4PRO, h.265

I newer saw anything like this in the older DaVinci version. So, I believe it something new in the latest one.

Help please!

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id= ... IjK-1cdRKC

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk
Alex Potemkin
http://yourphoto.nyc
http://yourphoto.biz
http://getty.yourphoto.biz
http://istock.yourphoto.biz
http://alexpotemkin.com
Offline
User avatar

MikeMeagher

  • Posts: 95
  • Joined: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:21 pm
  • Location: Bellingham, WA. USA

Re: H.264/265: the big troubles

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 8:53 pm

FYI Resolve is known for not having a good H.264 rendering engine. I believe because it uses the Windows or OS system encoder. My work around is to export to a variant of DNx file or similar high quality codec first then re-encode that using myffmpeg for superior results.
Mike Meagher Underwater Cinematographer
www.youtube.com/WolfeelDiver
Win 10 64 pro I 7 6 core X99 board 64 GB ram
M.2 app drive. 2x SSDs in Raid 0 for cache.
3x spinning HHDs raid 0 for source files.
Dual 2x EVGA1080 ti video cards
Resolve 14.3 studio
Offline

RCModelReviews

  • Posts: 112
  • Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2018 1:39 am
  • Real Name: Bruce Simpson

Re: H.264/265: the big troubles

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 9:44 pm

That is one work-around Mike... but it adds a significant extra step to the workflow and time is money.

Fortunately in "most" cases, the DR rendering engine is "good enough" for what I'm doing although I must admit that in the case of larger projects, I use an external program to render because it gives a great size/quality ratio.
Still using Resolve 14 until 15 is sorted, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 (1709), GPU: GTX1060/6
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.
Offline
User avatar

Cary Knoop

  • Posts: 731
  • Joined: Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:35 pm
  • Location: Newark, CA USA

Re: H.264/265: the big troubles

PostThu Nov 08, 2018 11:10 pm

Alex Potemkin wrote:Hello.
Seems like I have big troubles with h264/h265 decoding in ResolveStudio.

Please, check the video (the link is below) . Sorry about the quality, I just made a screen recording with my smartohone, but the problem itself is very visible.

One of those videis was taken from a regular Windows' player, another from DaVinci Studio 15.1.2

Thake a look to the wall behind the moving legs.

This footage from Sony A7RII, h.264
And I have the same issue with foitages from Phantom 4PRO, h.265

I newer saw anything like this in the older DaVinci version. So, I believe it something new in the latest one.

Help please!

https://drive.google.com/folderview?id= ... IjK-1cdRKC

Sent from my SM-G955U using Tapatalk

Could you provide (a few seconds of) the out of camera source?
Offline

Alex Potemkin

  • Posts: 124
  • Joined: Tue Nov 01, 2016 9:27 pm
  • Location: Queens, NY

Re: H.264/265: the big troubles

PostFri Nov 09, 2018 1:19 am

Hello!

In this case, it was a false accusation. But just partially false.

I placed 29.97 footages on to 23.97 timeline, but I forgot to change clip attributes to 23.97 (it supposed to be a slight down slowed video). When I changed clips' framerate to 23.97 it returned to normal. So, it's not an h.264 problem. I tried it with the same clip transcoded to ProRes and I got the same result in the same situation.

But it is not right, anyway :( seems like a problem with a frames interpolation algorithm, after all.
Alex Potemkin
http://yourphoto.nyc
http://yourphoto.biz
http://getty.yourphoto.biz
http://istock.yourphoto.biz
http://alexpotemkin.com
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 3546
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: H.264/265: the big troubles

PostFri Nov 09, 2018 7:42 am

Which frame interpolation algorithm did you use?
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Cosmin Hodiș-Mîndraș, dirk-pel, Johannes Hoffmann, Majestic-12 [Bot], Michael Parfit, Milan Michalik, Phil Side, torger and 21 guests