Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Dave Pultz

  • Posts: 14
  • Joined: Fri Nov 15, 2013 2:39 pm

Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostWed Nov 28, 2018 1:11 am

I successfully installed Resolve 15.2 in my PC and tried to boot up and got the following error message:

Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found
The procedure entry point ??4Pixmap@@QEAAAEAVO@S$QEAVO@@Z could not be located in the dynamic link Library C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Resolve.exe

Any suggestion how I can fix this problem?
Offline

Lindy1

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:28 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Lindquist

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostWed Nov 28, 2018 11:57 pm

When I attempted to start Resolve after upgadeing to 15.2, I got the same error message, but with a different iteration of the entry not found.
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4649
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostThu Nov 29, 2018 1:45 am

Are you using Windows 10?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Lindy1

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:28 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Lindquist

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostThu Nov 29, 2018 6:58 pm

Yes, I am using Window 10 Pro. I also unsuccessfully tried to "go back" before the Resolve 15.2 installation, using earlier Window OS Restore Points. But no joy!
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4649
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostThu Nov 29, 2018 7:38 pm

In a File Explorer window, go to:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

and run CaptureLogs

Then open Windows System Information and do a File - Save (Not a File Export), which will generate a .NFO file.

Place both those files on a file sharing site and provide links to the files here.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Lindy1

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:28 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Lindquist

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostThu Nov 29, 2018 9:34 pm

Hi Dwaine Maggart,
I created a folder on Dropbox and uploaded both the DaVinci Resolve CaptureLog file and the file with the System Information about my computer. The link is:
https://www.dropbox.com/home/DaVinci%20 ... stic%20Log

I set access on Dropbox for support-usa@blackmagicdesign.com.

Let me know if I can do anything else. I really, really appreciate your help!
Cheers,
Lindy1
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4649
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostFri Nov 30, 2018 10:59 pm

I don't see any indication in the logs you've sent, that you ever installed 15.2? Even an install that fails almost immediately should generally leave some indication of it's presence in the logs.

I see no indication of 15.2 in the Windows error log. 15.0, 15.1.0, 15.1.1 and 15.1.2. But no 15.2.

So I'm not sure what you were seeing.

Try the current 15.2.1 version, and if you still have issues with that, send another Resolve log and NFO file.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Lindy1

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:28 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Lindquist

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostSat Dec 01, 2018 1:32 am

Dwaine,
I tried unsuccessfully to install 15.2 on 28 November. That is when I received the first Entry point not found error message.

On 29 November, I tried to install 15.2.1 hoping that the new version or the subsequent install would solve the problem. No joy. I got the same Entry point not found error message.

I have now emailed you both the latest DaVinci Resolve log and an NFO file I just created. I sent these files to your gmail address using Goggle Docs.

Please help me!
Bob Lindquist
310-753-8121
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4649
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostWed Dec 05, 2018 7:33 am

I still see no Resolve crash related info in the latest NFO file you sent.

Uninstall Resolve using the Programs and Features Control Panel.

After it's uninstalled, in File Explorer, rename this folder:

C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

to:

C:\ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve.old

In File Explorer, verify this this folder is gone:

C:\Program Files\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve

If it's not removed, remove it.

Now install 15.2.1.

What happens?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Thomas Dove

  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: Tue Apr 04, 2017 9:24 am

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostWed Dec 05, 2018 11:40 am

I don't know if it is relevant but I had a similar error when upgrading to 15.2.1 from 15.0
I just did the upgrade without uninstalling 15.0
The upgrade script had the Fairlight and Panels boxes unchecked so presumably did not update these.

THEN..
I uninstalled 15.2.1, and Fairlight and Panels installs, checked the BlackMagic Design folder [Program files] was empty then re-installed, and it installed and ran.

(I do have a crash on Win 10 when trying to open a prior HDR project; some projects work - still investigating to see if I can narrow it down - 15.2.1 seems to work fine on Linux Centos 7)


~~~~~~~~~

Davinci Resolve Studio 15.2.1
Win 10 Pro 64-bit Dell XPS 13 w Intel UHD graphics
Main Resolve: Linux Centos 7, Intel i7 16GB RAM, nVidia 1070Ti, Decklink Extreme 12G
Laptop: Win 10 Pro 64-bit 1803 Dell XPS 13 9370 w i7-8550U, 16GB RAM, Intel UHD Graphics 620 GPU
Offline

Lindy1

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2018 10:28 pm
  • Real Name: Robert Lindquist

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostThu Dec 06, 2018 9:49 pm

Hi Dwaine,
First, your instruction on deleting the version entry related to Resolve in the Registry seems to have solved the problem. I was able to install DaVinci Resolve 15.2.1 and it appears to be running fine on my desktop.

However, the opening screen of Resolve no longer showed the list of my projects. Per your instructions, I had renamed the ProgramData\Blackmagic Design\DaVinci Resolve\Support\Resolve Disk Database\Resolve Projects\Users\guest folder on my system drive. The newly installed ProgramData folder did not list the subdirectory \Projects. After I copied \projects subdirectory from the old folder to the new folder, my projects were restored. I assume that this was the proper procedure for restoring the projects, yes? If not, please advise.

Second, do you know what caused this problem in the first place. When I reinstalled this time, I turned off my malware antivirus software per Riz's suggestion. Do you think the problem was caused by my malware software or by something else? Should I have uninstalled the older version of Resolve before I tried to install the new 15.2.1 version?
Thank you very much for sticking with me through all this. I really appreciate your help.
Cordially,
Lindy1
Offline

Steve Waller

  • Posts: 25
  • Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2016 2:48 pm

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostFri Dec 07, 2018 2:38 am

Dwayne’s procedure worked for me also. I renamed the DaVinci Resolve.old file back to normal and deleted the one installed by the software install prior to launching the program the first time
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 4649
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Resolve.exe - Entry Point Not Found

PostSat Dec 08, 2018 1:11 am

@Robert: What you did to restore the projects is fine.

Unfortunately, I haven't the faintest idea how or why any of that happened.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Craig Marshall, Jack Fairley, Redeyed, Robert John, Steve Alexander, xunile and 40 guests