Multiple instances of BSOD while running DaVinci Resolve

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

Rusty1963

Multiple instances of BSOD while running DaVinci Resolve

PostThu Dec 13, 2018 3:55 am

Hi all

My name is Gavin, I am new to Resolve and this is my first post.

I have been using Premiere CC for a number of years and have not experienced this kind of issue before.

I used the free version of Resolve for a couple of months before purchasing and I never had this issue either.

I have experienced multiple crashes whilst using Resolve. The crashes have occurred mostly during rendering, but yesterday my PC crashed while I was using the razor on the timeline.

The "loading" icon appeared in red for a short while and then - crash!

I thought initially that the issue may be related to the fact that I am editing directly from my client's footage which is located on an external USB-3 drive.

I moved it to an internal RAID drive but the problem did not "resolve." (pardon the pun)

I am not using any heavy effects via fusion, I rarely use transitions but I have been applying colour corrections and LUTs.

My projects are pretty small in general, being between 30s to 20 mins.

During rendering, my CPU runs at around 80% and the GPU somewhat less.

I have uploaded a JPEG giving the specs of my PC.

Has anyone else experienced such issues? Any help appreciated.

Gavin Kadey
Speccy Result.jpg
These are the specs of my machine.
Speccy Result.jpg (107.01 KiB) Viewed 3563 times
Gavin Kadey
Editor, animator, photographer.
Windows 10 Pro, Core i7 7700, 32Gb DDR3, NVIDIA GTX 1050 Ti

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

Re: Multiple instances of BSOD while running DaVinci Resolve

PostThu Dec 13, 2018 8:45 am

Which version? Studio?

Could I confirm if it was an actual BSOD or if starting Resolve is unsuccessful?

Could I request a log archive ?

Rusty1963

PostThu Dec 13, 2018 5:54 pm

Hi Shrinivas