RED Gemini 5K optimized media

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Gerhard Riesenhuber

  • Posts: 350
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 8:32 am

RED Gemini 5K optimized media

PostFri Jan 11, 2019 1:06 pm

Hello together,

I'm working on a MacPro Mid2012 (12-Core 3.33GHz, 128 GB RAM, GTX 980Ti, OS 10.13.4) on Resolve 15.1.2.
I have populated a HD timeline with 5K RED RAW files (from GEMINI 5K). I generated optimized media (ProRes444 in original resolution) and checked "use optimized media if available".

I don't see any performance change between using optimized media and not using it (half res premium debayer). The optimized media is located on a SSD.

It doesn't seem to work, anyone has an idea or similar experience?

Best,
Gerhard
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 480
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: RED Gemini 5K optimized media

PostFri Jan 11, 2019 3:34 pm

Gerhard Riesenhuber wrote:Hello together,

I'm working on a MacPro Mid2012 (12-Core 3.33GHz, 128 GB RAM, GTX 980Ti, OS 10.13.4) on Resolve 15.1.2.
I have populated a HD timeline with 5K RED RAW files (from GEMINI 5K). I generated optimized media (ProRes444 in original resolution) and checked "use optimized media if available".

I don't see any performance change between using optimized media and not using it (half res premium debayer). The optimized media is located on a SSD.

It doesn't seem to work, anyone has an idea or similar experience?

Best,
Gerhard


ProRes444 at 5k is still huge(221 MByte/sec at 24 fps) and will cripple your CPU, harddrive.

Try ProRes422HQ (good enough for editing) at 2k, it's only 25 MByte/sec at 24 fps.
Offline

Gerhard Riesenhuber

  • Posts: 350
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 8:32 am

Re: RED Gemini 5K optimized media

PostFri Jan 11, 2019 5:28 pm

It didn't work with ProRes422HQ either, also not with half resolution.
Finally it worked with Node cashing! I assume it's a bug?!?
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 480
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: RED Gemini 5K optimized media

PostFri Jan 11, 2019 7:00 pm

Gerhard Riesenhuber wrote:It didn't work with ProRes422HQ either, also not with half resolution.
Finally it worked with Node cashing! I assume it's a bug?!?


Why don't you shoot ProRes 422 HQ, ProRes 422 or ProRes 422 LT at 2K (2048 × 1080) simultaniously when shooting 5k.R3D, saves a lot of time. (The ProRes is your optimized media during editing).
Offline

Gerhard Riesenhuber

  • Posts: 350
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 8:32 am

Re: RED Gemini 5K optimized media

PostFri Jan 11, 2019 8:00 pm

I did shoot ProRes422HQ simultaniously. But the point is to work with the RED RAW directly.
I want to find a way to get realtime performance with RED RAW without having to upgrade my machine.

Btw.: This is a camera and post workflow test, not an actual project.
Offline

MishaEngel

  • Posts: 480
  • Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2018 12:18 am
  • Real Name: Misha Engel

Re: RED Gemini 5K optimized media

PostFri Jan 11, 2019 8:44 pm

Gerhard Riesenhuber wrote:I did shoot ProRes422HQ simultaniously. But the point is to work with the RED RAW directly.
I want to find a way to get realtime performance with RED RAW without having to upgrade my machine.

Btw.: This is a camera and post workflow test, not an actual project.


The optimized media is normally used for editing and the R3D is used for final rendering.

Without upgrading your machine you won't be able to get realtime performance with 5k.R3D 3:1 24 fps.

With a $4k PC you can make it work or with a $8k iMac Pro
Offline

Gerhard Riesenhuber

  • Posts: 350
  • Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 8:32 am

Re: RED Gemini 5K optimized media

PostSat Jan 12, 2019 7:23 am

I know that the CPU is the main limiting factor on my setup and that realtime at the moment is not possible. But RED is planing to outsource the decoding process away from CPU to GPU. They introduced this concept with the RTX series of NVidia. So at the moment I think it's worthwhile to wait for that before spending a few thousand bucks.

https://blogs.nvidia.com/blog/2019/01/0 ... g-laptops/

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: dirk-pel, idlxqz, Michael_Andreas, roger.magnusson and 22 guests