Page 1 of 1

XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 11:42 am
by Valentina Massimi
Hi all, does the free version of DaVinci support xavc 10bit files?
All my media are offline, but I can see them in PremierePro.
Thank you,
Vale

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 5:53 pm
by Jean Claude
Valentina Massimi wrote:Hi all, does the free version of DaVinci support xavc 10bit files?
All my media are offline, but I can see them in PremierePro.
Thank you,
Vale


I'm with Windows 10 and Studio version (no problem here) but if it's the same as for H.264 or H.265 or other> = 10 bits, I think you need the Studio version.

Now if someone has the FREE version and XAVC 10 bit works, please tell Valentina. :)

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 11:50 pm
by Ole Kristiansen

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 8:44 am
by Andrew Kolakowski
What BM needs to do is change message. Media offline is bad text in this case. Should say unsupported media as offline is so misleading.

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:36 am
by Trensharo
Free Resolve doesn't support 10-Bit

They need a trial version for Studio. Hard to test the NLE if you shoot 10-Bit, but the footage is unusable in the free version.

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 10:34 am
by Valentina Massimi
Thank you all for your replies.

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:40 pm
by Rui Branquinho
Trensharo wrote:Free Resolve doesn't support 10-Bit
They need a trial version for Studio. Hard to test the NLE if you shoot 10-Bit, but the footage is unusable in the free version.


Not quite...
XAVC is not all the same. As you can see in the attachment, a clip coming from Sony's FS7, an XAVC Intra 4:2:2 10bit works fine in free Resolve 15.2.2.007

What camera are your unusable clips coming from?

Read these information from Sony for more details:
https://pro.sony/en_GB/technology/xavc/ ... hite-paper
https://assets.pro.sony.eu/Web/ngp/pdf/ ... erview.pdf

From my experience, the only 10bit codec that doesn't work in the free version of Resolve is Panasonic's GH5 4:2:2 10bit.
Anyone found others not working?

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:42 pm
by Andrew Kolakowski
It most likely will be related to container. All MXF based files will be decoded by different path using Sony libraries (I think) and 10bit should work there.
Any MP4/MOV will be using default h264 decoder provided by BM (or rather OS) and this won't do 10bit in free version.

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 1:54 pm
by Rui Branquinho
Or...
Simply put, BM is encouraging us to buy Resolve Studio!

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:20 pm
by Andrew Kolakowski
BM can't provide free AVC decoder as someone has to pay licensing fees. They can use what is provided by OS (as MS and Apple did pay fees) and this is what they do, but those decoders are limited.
Want to have pice of mind buy Studio version which uses licensed fully featured Mainconcept decoder.

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 2:40 pm
by Piotr Wozniacki
Andrew Kolakowski wrote:It most likely will be related to container. All MXF based files will be decoded by different path using Sony libraries (I think) and 10bit should work there.
Any MP4/MOV will be using default h264 decoder provided by BM (or rather OS) and this won't do 10bit in free version.

Yep - even before I bought my dongle for Studio, I graded the XAVC-I, 10bit 4:2:2 clips from my FS7 without a problem. But the GH5's version of H.264 wouldn't work in the free version...

Piotr

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 4:17 pm
by Bryan Worsley
Rui Branquinho wrote:Or...
Simply put, BM is encouraging us to buy Resolve Studio!


Or BM is encouraging people to buy the BMPCC 4K over the GH5 and get Studio free.
Got shot down in flames when I suggested that before, but I still think that's part of it. And why wouldn't they ?

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 6:35 pm
by Andrew Kolakowski
I would not buy my main camera based on fact that I'm getting free Resolve or not. Resolve is cheap compared even to those tools. If you need Studio you can just buy it- it doesn't ruin your budget.
Hard to see this as valid argument for me.

It's plain and simple fact that AVC decoder cost money in licensing fees. Quite a lot, so it's hard to include this in free product.

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:07 pm
by Bryan Worsley
Andrew Kolakowski wrote:I would not buy my main camera based on fact that I'm getting free Resolve or not. Resolve is cheap compared even to those tools. If you need Studio you can just buy it- it doesn't ruin your budget.


I'm not at all suggesting that one would choose the BMPCC 4K over the GH5 based on the fact that Studio Resolve is included in the package, but it does sweeten the pot.

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:
Hard to see this as valid argument for me.


But you can't speak for BMD. Makes perfectly good business sense as a marketing strategy.

Andrew Kolakowski wrote:It's plain and simple fact that AVC decoder cost money in licensing fees. Quite a lot, so it's hard to include this in free product.


How is that at odds with what I said ?

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 7:32 pm
by Andrew Kolakowski
Bryan Worsley wrote:[
Andrew Kolakowski wrote:It's plain and simple fact that AVC decoder cost money in licensing fees. Quite a lot, so it's hard to include this in free product.


How is that at odds with what I said ?


People trying to make stories to something which is plain simple.

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:32 pm
by Bryan Worsley
I don't doubt that the AVC decoder costs money in licensing fees. And BMD have chosen to absorb the associated costs in the BMPCC 4K package by including the Studio version free. And that is a factor that many people will consider. Where's the story ?

Have you purchased the Studio version of Resolve by the way ?

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:34 pm
by Andrew Kolakowski
Yep, few days ago actually :) But nothing to do with 10bit, but HDR.

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Fri Jan 18, 2019 7:05 am
by Trensharo
Andrew Kolakowski wrote:I would not buy my main camera based on fact that I'm getting free Resolve or not. Resolve is cheap compared even to those tools. If you need Studio you can just buy it- it doesn't ruin your budget.
Hard to see this as valid argument for me.

It's plain and simple fact that AVC decoder cost money in licensing fees. Quite a lot, so it's hard to include this in free product.

Then use the AVC Decoder in the OS.

I think someone made a feature require for Resolve to properly support DirectShow Decoders/Encoders on Windows. I echo that, but I don't think they would do it because it would delete a lot of the differentiation between Free and Studio from a CODEC support perspective.

I think this has less to do with licensing (because this can be avoided), and more to do with creating differentiation for Studio - because it would be useless to consider if if the Free Version could do things like 10-Bit and HDR.

Re: XAVC 10 bit format

PostPosted: Wed Feb 20, 2019 8:56 am
by ZoViktor
Hey there,

I've searched the forums and this seems a reasonable post to aks, maybe the question has been already answered somewhere (sorry, i didn't really find useful answers).
Just to get this straight, i've planning on purchasing a the Resolve 15 Studio version, for it is really great, and for 300 dollars they almost give it for free (I mean Fairlight + Fusion, damn it is soo good). So i wanted to confirm this about the Studio version, does it handle the XAVC-L 10 Bit files? I'm aware that at least in the free version it does not (media offline). Also does it handle the HEVC files as well?
I'd be grateful is someone could clarify these.

Thanks in advance.