How do I output a 5.1 file?

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Michael McCaffrey

  • Posts: 685
  • Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2015 1:30 am

How do I output a 5.1 file?

PostThu Jan 17, 2019 1:01 am

I have my tracks setup with buses etc to feed to a 5.1 mix with Dialogue, sound effects, music, etc. Dialogue bus is center, music is front and rear speakers etc. All are feeding to a 5.1 Main output and all the tracks and sounds are coming through the right channels etc.

So from there, how do I output in 5.1, either to a video file with 5.1, or just a .ac3 or both? I've tried this before and couldnt get it to work.
Configuration:
Resolve Studio 15.3.1
Windows 10 Pro
16 Core AMD Ryzen Threadripper 1950X. 64GB RAM
Dual GTX 1080 Ti's
24TB RAID
Intensity Pro 4k
(1) 1080P Display, (1) 27” Display, (1) HPz24 1080P Display for Grading
Offline

xunile

  • Posts: 537
  • Joined: Mon Apr 23, 2018 5:21 am
  • Real Name: Eric Eisenmann

Re: How do I output a 5.1 file?

PostThu Jan 17, 2019 2:26 am

Under the Render tab audio settings, did you try setting the Output Track 1 to Timeline Track?
Win 10 Home
Intel Core I7-7700HQ 32 GB 1 TB NVME SSD 1 TB SATA SSD
GTX-1060-6GB
Resolve 16 Beta
Offline

roger.magnusson

  • Posts: 843
  • Joined: Wed Sep 23, 2015 4:58 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: How do I output a 5.1 file?

PostThu Jan 17, 2019 8:57 am

No that's likely the exact opposite of what he's trying to do if I understand correctly. In the Output Settings > Audio tab, set Output Track 1 to the 5.1 bus.

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Damien, Follet, Henchman, jumbo0 and 33 guests