Page 1 of 1

Fuji X-T2 raw (.RAF) timelapse converted to DNG not working

PostPosted: Thu Jan 17, 2019 9:24 am
by AlxndrWlsn
Hi. I'm a bit confused.

I thought Resolve (I'm using the free version, if that makes a difference) could import non-CinemaDNG DNG stills and use them as a sequence. I've done 10 time lapses with my Fuji X-T2 recently and converted the proprietary .RAF files to DNG using Adobe DNG converter. When I try to import them, Resolve does see the individual files as a sequence but displays the "Media Offline" still for them, and they are effectively unusable. Obviously, they are not offline, as I can navigate to their location, see them, and import them, but I can't get any image out of them. Am I doing something wrong or have I not understood something about the limitations?

Thanks for your help!

Re: Fuji X-T2 raw (.RAF) timelapse converted to DNG not work

PostPosted: Sat Jan 19, 2019 12:29 pm
by AlxndrWlsn
Anyone?

Re: Fuji X-T2 raw (.RAF) timelapse converted to DNG not work

PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 10:37 pm
by Mario Kalogjera
Just found out the same happens here (Resolve 15.2.3.015) with Canon EOS 5DS R footage converted from cr2 to dng via Adobe DNG converter, while Fusion standalone has no problem loading them. I used the same procedure earlier with Canon EOS 6D and same version of Adobe converter and those DNGs still load correctly.

Come on, BMD, what's gone wrong here?

Re: Fuji X-T2 raw (.RAF) timelapse converted to DNG not work

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:45 am
by Fanjan Combrink
Same here.

I import my .RAF files as .dng. I simply exported from Lightroom the .dng sequences using LR simply as a renaming tool for the various sequences (all sequences where imported into LR as a single sequence in terms of file name convention).

Open Resolve Studio, navigate to the folder, all 5 sequences are there, but each thumbnail shows "Media Offline".

I've imported them, still "Media Offline".

I've tried generating optimized media for them but Studio crashes in such a way that I have to restart my PC.

Blackmagic team, ANY news on this issue?

Re: Fuji X-T2 raw (.RAF) timelapse converted to DNG not work

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:50 am
by Craig Marshall
No issues here with the latest Resolve. (free version) We regularly use Adobe's standalone converter to transcode Olympus 4K 4:3 RAW files to DNG image sequences. We import the sequence then use Resolve's motion flow and speed change algorithms to successfully output super smooth smooth 4K 16:9 Uncompressed Timelapse movie Masters ready for programme insertion.

Re: Fuji X-T2 raw (.RAF) timelapse converted to DNG not work

PostPosted: Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:58 pm
by Fanjan Combrink
TIFF files work, but are WAAAAY bigger to work with in terms of storage.

Just tested it it for importing it into Studio.

As for optimised media, I have yet to see it work.