Audio track auto insert

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Jim Jordan

  • Posts: 68
  • Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:41 pm

Audio track auto insert

PostThu Jan 17, 2019 4:04 pm

When I overwrite a clip into the timeline it automatically places all the audio tracks from the clip into the timeline even though I have no audio track selected. Still sample shows this... how do I turn this off!

Thanks,
Jim

before overwrite.jpeg
before edit
before overwrite.jpeg (55.02 KiB) Viewed 229 times

after overwrite.jpeg
after edit
after overwrite.jpeg (76.68 KiB) Viewed 229 times
Offline

Brad Hurley

  • Posts: 806
  • Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:42 pm
  • Location: Montréal

Re: Audio track auto insert

PostThu Jan 17, 2019 4:26 pm

There are a few ways to avoid this.

If you're using drag-and-drop editing, see page 392 of the Resolve 15 manual for video-only or audio-only drag-and-drop. You can option-drag (alt-drag in Windows) to insert/overwrite only the video portion of a clip. There's also an overlay in the source viewer that appears if you hover over it.

Another way is disable any existing audio tracks or to turn off auto-select on them; that way the audio has no place to go. See page 400 in the manual.
Resolve 15, Mac Pro 3.0 GHz 8-core, 32 gigs RAM, dual AMD D700 GPU.
Audio I/O: Sound Devices USBPre-2
Offline

Jim Jordan

  • Posts: 68
  • Joined: Thu Dec 31, 2015 2:41 pm

Re: Audio track auto insert

PostThu Jan 17, 2019 5:16 pm

Thanks for showing options in the manual. If you look at my overwrite I had no audio tracks 2-5 but they auto made tracks and placed then into the timeline with auto selection and track selection on. That being said i will try the manual direction in the future.

Jim
Offline

Brad Hurley

  • Posts: 806
  • Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2018 7:42 pm
  • Location: Montréal

Re: Audio track auto insert

PostThu Jan 17, 2019 5:28 pm

Jim Jordan wrote:Thanks for showing options in the manual. If you look at my overwrite I had no audio tracks 2-5 but they auto made tracks and placed then into the timeline with auto selection and track selection on. That being said i will try the manual direction in the future.


Yes, in your case I think the first method (choosing to edit only video into the timeline by either option/alt clicking or using the overlay in the source viewer would solve it.

Most of the audio recorded with my camera is scratch audio used for syncing and I never insert it into my timeline, so I use this feature a lot.

The auto-select disabling is handy when you're making edits within your timeline, especially moving clips around, trimming, etc.; it allows you to control which tracks are affected or not affected.
Resolve 15, Mac Pro 3.0 GHz 8-core, 32 gigs RAM, dual AMD D700 GPU.
Audio I/O: Sound Devices USBPre-2
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1059
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Audio track auto insert

PostFri Jan 18, 2019 2:23 am

Create the appropriate number of audio tracks first, then enable the ones you want to edit to. Premiere is similar in operation. It drives me crazy too!
Resolve 15.2.4
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 32gb
GTX 1060 6GB

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Devoncollins1, Google [Bot], Google Feedfetcher, Hulihullut Productions, joysthokkins, ricmonyc, Yoav_D and 34 guests