Playback performance took a major hit, not sure the reason

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author

XGC750

Playback performance took a major hit, not sure the reason

PostTue Mar 12, 2019 12:48 am

System, application, project and source specs at the end.

I'm looking for a reason why playback performance took such a nosedive for me lately. Not sure if it's a bug in the application or something outside the application (some random driver config changed unbeknownst to me). Either could be equally likely. Looking for someone with similar experiences or input from a dev.

For what it's worth, I'm not averse to technical discussion. I'm a systems engineer for embedded systems by day; not exactly the kind of Windows/Mac environment here, but willing to learn.

Problem symptom: Playback video from source material or timelines in the Edit tab runs ~10-20% slower than project settings/timeline settings/source material. This results in somewhat choppy playback; more importantly, very inconsistent and choppy audio. From stopped media, video playback commonly "ramps up" to this 10-20% slower FPS as if it's the target FPS in an overdamped (Image) system. I can not reasonably edit in this performance environment.