Resolve scripting - On Mac Using Python

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Steve Swisz

  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:51 am

Resolve scripting - On Mac Using Python

PostFri Apr 05, 2019 12:56 am

I hope that I am doing something wrong and that this is simple fix.
We are using 15.3 trying to add and use Python scripts on both Studio Paid version and also the Free Version.

MAC OSX - I forget what Ver OS we are on but it is update.
Python - 2.7

I have gone back and forth Igor Riđanović, he has some cooked up some awesome Python apps and workflows in Resolve.

Problem is when we try to run Python scripts we are getting tons of errors, could it be the Free Version since that is always a station we have access to test on?
We have re-installed the Resolve Soft. and Python, but we get msg like Attribute Error, and Object has not Attribute. But we have typed in the exact same code from the README sheet as well as from Igor and still a few lines will work but cannot get to a point where we can start setting up the scripts to tasks for us.
So if any of you can or have had success on MAC, scripting with Python please help us out.

Thanks,
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 680
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: Resolve scripting - On Mac Using Python

PostFri Apr 05, 2019 2:22 am

I think the free Resolve will only allow you to use the internal console to execute scripts. I have never tried the free version so I can't say for sure.

Which Python are you using? The one that's shipping with the OS, a Brew package, etc.?
www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps
Offline

Steve Swisz

  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Resolve scripting - On Mac Using Python

PostFri Apr 05, 2019 5:28 pm

Hello again Igor, funny I thought of just emailing you directly but thought others could benefit from this thread.
We are using the OS python, we will try again on both the paid and free version. Hard to get on the paid version here always in use or rooms are booked.
Offline
User avatar

Igor Riđanović

  • Posts: 680
  • Joined: Thu Jul 02, 2015 5:11 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, Calif.

Re: Resolve scripting - On Mac Using Python

PostFri Apr 05, 2019 7:25 pm

You don't really need the access to the machine's desktop. Just SSH into the machine while the colorist is using it. As long as you don't attempt changing anything via the API you can poke around all you want. The impact is minimal.
www.metafide.com - DaVinci Resolve™ Apps
Offline

Steve Swisz

  • Posts: 43
  • Joined: Tue Aug 11, 2015 1:51 am

Re: Resolve scripting - On Mac Using Python

PostTue Apr 09, 2019 3:30 pm

Yeah I aware of being able to access through SSH, but the rooms/stations are in use, that is why we suse the free version to test new ideas and workflows on.
Offline
User avatar

Antoine Grasset

  • Posts: 154
  • Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:05 pm
  • Location: Paris, France

Re: Resolve scripting - On Mac Using Python

PostFri Jan 24, 2020 12:50 pm

Hello,
did you find a way to make it work properly with the native Mac Python 2.7 ?

I'm still getting errors :
when running from the Resolve/Fusion Console, "Unable to find module DaVinciResolveScript from $PYTHONPATH - trying default locations"
when running from Sublime : "dyld: warning, LC_RPATH @executable_path/../Libraries/Fusion in /Applications/DaVinci Resolve/DaVinci Resolve.app/Contents/Libraries/Fusion/fusionscript.so being ignored in restricted program because of @executable_path" (and several other that looks the same)
Offline

Frank Engel

  • Posts: 382
  • Joined: Thu May 17, 2018 11:09 pm
  • Real Name: Frank Engel

Re: Resolve scripting - On Mac Using Python

PostFri Jan 24, 2020 2:41 pm

At least some of the scripting support is limited to the non-app-store version of Resolve Studio:

https://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/ ... arison.pdf
Offline
User avatar

Antoine Grasset

  • Posts: 154
  • Joined: Sat Mar 14, 2015 7:05 pm
  • Location: Paris, France

Re: Resolve scripting - On Mac Using Python

PostFri Jan 24, 2020 2:45 pm

Frank Engel wrote:At least some of the scripting support is limited to the non-app-store version of Resolve Studio:

https://documents.blackmagicdesign.com/ ... arison.pdf

I'm using Resolve STUDIO 16.1.2, so that shouldn't be a problem
Offline
User avatar

Gary Hango

  • Posts: 413
  • Joined: Mon Apr 09, 2018 10:35 pm
  • Location: Left Coast
  • Real Name: Gary Hango

Re: Resolve scripting - On Mac Using Python

PostFri Jan 24, 2020 3:30 pm

It’s my understanding that scripting is not available at all in the free version.
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro x64
Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-6700, 3.40GHz, 32.0 GB
MB: MSI, BIOS: American Megatrends Inc. A.60, 12/17/2015
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960, 2Gb
Resolve 16.1.2 (Standard)
Offline

Shrinivas Ramani

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 693
  • Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2017 10:19 am

Re: Resolve scripting - On Mac Using Python

PostSat Jan 25, 2020 7:23 am

Script access from outside the application is limited to the Studio version. The free version can still use the Fusion Console or load scripts from the menus.

The developer documentation from the Help menu has a read-me in the scripting folder that identifies the various paths, variables and utilities for Resolve. A formatted version of the same has also been created by users here: viewtopic.php?f=21&t=99270

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Cary Knoop, Jeremy, lacobo, lucabriganti, roger.magnusson and 75 guests