Page 1 of 1

Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Thu Jul 04, 2019 7:36 pm
by cypher
Using Davinci Resolve 16 Beta 5

Experiencing an issue where various media appears online in the editor, but several frames are rendered as a red "Media Offline" image. In the editor there are no indications of any problem. I can scrub through the offending clips just fine, I can play them just fine, I can generate optimized media for them, they work with or without optimized media.... all until I render them. I have tried numerous render formats, all produce the same result. Certain frames appear offline in the render output.

This problem always seems to happen with the same frames according to the timecode of the project, not the same frames of the video clip. For example, if a render produces certain frames as "Media Offline" and then I return to the project in Resolve and edit out those frames, then whatever frames replace them at the project's timecode will be rendered as "Media Offline".

This has happened to me in various projects with footage from various sources including Mavic Pro 4k 30fps, Pixel 3 XL 4k 30fps, and even videos rendered from other editors that never had any issues in other editors. It happens when rendering various codecs.

Any ideas how to troubleshoot this further or resolve it? Thanks.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 12:17 am
by Peter Chamberlain
Are u using v16? Which OS?

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 1:29 am
by cypher
Resolve 16 b5 and Windows 10 x64.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 1:32 am
by Peter Chamberlain
It might be your GPU, or GPU driver, or the disk drive is not able to provide frames fast enough. Try setting the render settings to 10fps

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 3:09 am
by cypher
Peter Chamberlain wrote:It might be your GPU, or GPU driver, or the disk drive is not able to provide frames fast enough. Try setting the render settings to 10fps

Thanks for the ideas.

If it were a hardware issue wouldn't it make more sense to be sporadic? It's always exactly the same frames that show up as Media Offline in the final render, every time no matter what settings I try. Even after restarting my PC, removing CacheClip directory, using a different version of the source clip, it always happens with exactly the same frames every time.

Sometimes this issue happens when I render smaller 1080p videos, and doesn't always happen when I render long 4k videos.

I'll try changing render frame rate to 10fps and report back.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 3:20 am
by cypher
Peter Chamberlain wrote:It might be your GPU, or GPU driver, or the disk drive is not able to provide frames fast enough.


Video card is a GTX 1070 ti with the latest Nvidia driver. The drive the media files are stored on and the Media Cache is on is a fast M.2 drive so I don't think that would be the bottleneck.

Peter Chamberlain wrote:Try setting the render settings to 10fps


Ok I tried to do this but can't seem to find any option to do so. I can change the timeline settings to 10 fps, but when I go to the render (Deliver) tab my only choice is 29.97 fps in every render option I can find. 29.97fps is the original timeline setting before I changed it to 10 fps.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 4:53 am
by Peter Chamberlain
Deliver page, render settings, file tab.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 10:22 am
by Charles Bennett
As Peter said it is here.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 05, 2019 2:07 pm
by Jim Simon
Peter Chamberlain wrote:It might be your GPU, or GPU driver, or the disk drive is not able to provide frames fast enough


That's...odd. An export should not care about how fast data is delivered. It should work at whatever speed the data arrives, never proceeding past that point without the data.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Sun Jul 07, 2019 11:06 pm
by Puddinhead
Your camcorder recorded some drop frames

Patrick

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:28 am
by cypher
Charles Bennett wrote:As Peter said it is here.


Thank you, I was missing the file tab.

I was never able to get that particular video to render without the "Media Offline" frames, but on another project since then I have rendered at "10" speed and haven't seen this issue re-occur yet.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 4:31 am
by cypher
Puddinhead wrote:Your camcorder recorded some drop frames

Patrick


I don't think that is the case, because I tried editing out the areas of the clip where "media offline" was rendering in place of the video. It just displayed "media offline" at the same timecode but with different frames of the video than previous renders. It was impossible to edit the issue out, which I am guessing may work for dropped frames.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Jul 12, 2019 11:21 am
by Puddinhead
What camera were you using ?

Patrick

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 5:37 pm
by cypher
Puddinhead wrote:What camera were you using ?

Patrick


I'm experiencing this issue again in another project on a different PC. PC specs = Ryzen 3900x CPU, 32GB DDR4 3600, 2070 Super, M.2 Gen4 Storage only. I think this can rule out hardware bottlenecks.

It is happening with footage from several different sources:

DJI Mavic Pro 4k 30fps recorded onto 100MB/s (U3) Samsung MicroSD card
Google Pixel 3 XL 4k 30fps recorded on internal storage
DJI Mavic Air 1080p 30fps recorded onto U3 SanDisk MicroSD card

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Aug 02, 2019 5:58 pm
by cypher
Here's some screenshots form a project where this is happening to me now on the first clip in the timeline.

I changed the render speed to "5" but it doesn't seem to make any difference.

The clip appears fine in the timeline, I can scrub through it without issues, it plays in video players just fine, but as soon as Resolve tries to render it... Media Offline.

Before I start the render:
Image

and while it is rendering the "Media Offline" message in place of my footage:
Image

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 10:35 pm
by cypher
Update on the project I posted screenshots of above:

The first clip in my timeline played fine and showed no signs of any issues in the editor or any other video player... until I rendered it in Davinci Resolve. After rendering my project, the first frame of the first clip showed "Media Offline" (one frame only).

I trimmed 3 frames off the beginning of the first clip and rendered again. Again, the first frame of the render shows "Media Offline" for only one frame. This is now showing "Media Offline" for a frame that had no problems in the first render.

I trimmed another 3 frames off the start of the first clip then rendered just the first few seconds of my project. Again, the first frame of the rendered video shows "Media Offline" message, replacing a frame that had no problems in the first two renders (because it wasn't the first frame in those renders).

I continued trimming frames off the start of this clip and rendering until finally the "Media Offline" message went away... this only happened after trimming off more than 40 frames. Every render before that produced one frame at the start of the video with "Media Offline" and always on a frame that had previously rendered fine.

I had another "Media offline" frame in the middle of the project, again at the first frame of a clip. I tried trimming that frame off and got similar results, the first frame of that clip would always shows "Media Offline" when rendered, even after I trimmed it several times. I tried adding a cross dissolve transition between this problematic clip and the clip before it, and this worked to remove the "Media Offline" frame.

Any ideas what the problem could be?

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Tue Aug 13, 2019 11:44 pm
by Peter Chamberlain
Can u update to the v16 release and test?

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Wed Aug 14, 2019 3:01 am
by cypher
Peter Chamberlain wrote:Can u update to the v16 release and test?


Just updated to 16.0 release. Same result. Removed the cross dissolve transition from my clip in the middle and rendered it, shows "Media Offline" for one frame at the start of the clip. Added the cross dissolve back and rendered again and it's gone.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Fri Aug 16, 2019 5:47 am
by TelevangelistGroupie
I'm having this same issue where the first frame of a clip displays "Media Offline" in the final render. My pc is a new build with 32GB and a new SSD, rendered video is very simple @1080p stuff.

I'm willing to submit logs or anything that may help solve this.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Sun Sep 08, 2019 5:39 pm
by cypher
TelevangelistGroupie wrote:I'm having this same issue where the first frame of a clip displays "Media Offline" in the final render. My pc is a new build with 32GB and a new SSD, rendered video is very simple @1080p stuff.

I'm willing to submit logs or anything that may help solve this.


If you edit out the problematic frame by trimming the clip in your timeline, does the problem go away? For me it just renders "media offline" on the new first frame instead of the frame I trimmed.

What is the source of your clips?

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Mon Oct 21, 2019 5:59 pm
by cypher
Update on this - still having issues with this despite a brand new computer with fresh Windows and Resolve 16, using footage form a new camera.

I am now using a Sony A7iii with 16-35 GM lens, shooting 4k 24fps. Many of my clips from this setup render/export one or more frames as "media offline".

After having this issue across multiple editing PC's, multiple cameras, and with several different project settings it seems to be a ubiquitous issue.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Re: Media Offline in Render, Online in Resolve 16

PostPosted: Sun Dec 29, 2019 4:55 pm
by psihoza
Noob here, played for months on Linux and slow PCs but now bought something ok for 108 at least. Having very similar problem but my render breaks and tells me to check if file is still there. In 99% of cases it is on the first frame. Randomly "no media" red image appears and disappears in edit timeline but on render it is 100% consistent and I cannot render even at speed 1.

I'm suspecting H264 source files create those problems. If I "use optimized media" when rendering (DNxHR HQX from 2K H264 of DJI Mavic air) problem is gone. So, my guess is that if I transcode sources to something more usable it will be a usable workaround. Also I need to double check that before confirming.

I'm on Windows 10, AMD Ryzen 3600X, 16GB RAM, ATI Radeon RX 5700 XT, fast M.2 NVMe Toshiba drive, MSI X570 MB, and DR version 16.1.2.026