Speed change applied to Resolve 16 clips lost when export

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

dwcdv2000

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 9:50 am
  • Real Name: Dorian Weber

Speed change applied to Resolve 16 clips lost when export

PostTue Aug 13, 2019 9:26 am

Hello,

I reduced the speed of a clip to 33% in the Change Clip Speed Box.
When I export the clip, it always export in real time.
I tried several options.
What am I doing wrong?
I am using Resolve 16 Studio
Thank you.

Dorian
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1594
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Speed change applied to Resolve 16 clips lost when expor

PostTue Aug 13, 2019 10:22 am

You need to export with the "Single Clip" option and mark in/out on the timeline for the clip you want.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

dwcdv2000

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 9:50 am
  • Real Name: Dorian Weber

Re: Speed change applied to Resolve 16 clips lost when expor

PostTue Aug 13, 2019 12:06 pm

thank you Peter.....
works fine.
Is this the only way to export clips where I apply effects or only when I reduce (or increase) the clip speed?
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 5194
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Speed change applied to Resolve 16 clips lost when expor

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 12:08 am

Yes.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio under MacOS Mojave 10.14.6
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Mac mini 16 GB RAM plus eGFX Breakway Radeon RX 580
Offline

dwcdv2000

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 9:50 am
  • Real Name: Dorian Weber

Re: Speed change applied to Resolve 16 clips lost when expor

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 2:07 am

Hmm... I have an other problem.... after exporting, I notice, it stops many several times briefly. So the motion is not smooth. It can not be the drive speed, i am using the internal SSD of my Mac Book Pro
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1594
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Speed change applied to Resolve 16 clips lost when expor

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 2:52 am

dwcdv2000 wrote:thank you Peter.....
works fine.
Is this the only way to export clips where I apply effects or only when I reduce (or increase) the clip speed?


The individual clips setting is used for round-trip colour grading when final output will be from another editing app. Only colour page effects are applied, but there are some exceptions. The user manual has more detailed info.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

Peter Cave

  • Posts: 1594
  • Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2012 6:45 am
  • Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Speed change applied to Resolve 16 clips lost when expor

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 2:53 am

dwcdv2000 wrote:Hmm... I have an other problem.... after exporting, I notice, it stops many several times briefly. So the motion is not smooth. It can not be the drive speed, i am using the internal SSD of my Mac Book Pro


Without lots of detail regarding operating system, Resolve settings, media file formats etc. nobody can help you.
Resolve 16.0
Mac OSX 10.13.6
Hackintosh i7 8700 32GB RAM
GTX 1060 6GB
Offline

dwcdv2000

  • Posts: 19
  • Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 9:50 am
  • Real Name: Dorian Weber

Re: Speed change applied to Resolve 16 clips lost when expor

PostWed Aug 14, 2019 3:16 am

Sorry, I missed that.
Where do I put the settings in? Signature?
Resolve 16 Studio,
2018 Mac Book pro 32 GB RAM
OSX Mojave 10.14.5.
Export to Pro Res HQ 4444
File size 3840x2160

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: danielbigaux, David Williams, Google Feedfetcher and 32 guests