Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

Get answers to your questions about color grading, editing and finishing with DaVinci Resolve.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Stan Willis

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2016 11:11 am

Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSat Sep 07, 2019 12:26 pm

Hi,
I have a large panoramic jpeg I created in lightroom a few years back. It's roughly 20Kx3K. I can import it to Resolve but it just appears black. Is there any simple workaround so I can do a pan across it in Resolve 16? Thanks in advance for any responses.
NVIDIA GTX 1060 6Gb
i7 CPU 920 2.67 GHz
16.0GB DDR3 @ 534MHz
Mobo SUS P6T SE (LGA1366)
SAMSUNG TV (3840x2160@60Hz)
Sys 465 SSD Cache 240 ssd
media intHD +USB3 HD
Windows Home 64-bit
12/06/2018 2018-06 KB4284835)
Resolve Free Version
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 3441
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSat Sep 07, 2019 1:21 pm

Open it in Photoshop and make sure it's in RGB color.
Offline

Stan Willis

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2016 11:11 am

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSat Sep 07, 2019 2:08 pm

Thanks Jim,
I only have photoshop lightroom but there my preferences are set to sRGB and with normal size jpegs there is no problem in Resolve. I had looked on the internet and the only relevant info I could find was a statement that said that Resolve has a maximum size it allows for Jpegs. I suspect that this may be the problem.
NVIDIA GTX 1060 6Gb
i7 CPU 920 2.67 GHz
16.0GB DDR3 @ 534MHz
Mobo SUS P6T SE (LGA1366)
SAMSUNG TV (3840x2160@60Hz)
Sys 465 SSD Cache 240 ssd
media intHD +USB3 HD
Windows Home 64-bit
12/06/2018 2018-06 KB4284835)
Resolve Free Version
Offline

Jim Simon

  • Posts: 3441
  • Joined: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:47 am

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSat Sep 07, 2019 5:25 pm

Quite possibly. I believe Premiere Pro can only handle media up to 10K resolution in any dimension, so a similar limitation in Resolve wouldn't be surprising.
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2741
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSat Sep 07, 2019 5:47 pm

Stan Willis wrote:Hi,
I have a large panoramic jpeg I created in lightroom a few years back. It's roughly 20Kx3K. I can import it to Resolve but it just appears black. Is there any simple workaround so I can do a pan across it in Resolve 16? Thanks in advance for any responses.


(from memory)
Do a search in the Forum:
BMD Team to pronounce a answer for large images and the use of the resulting VRAM.
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5512
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSat Sep 07, 2019 10:47 pm

Are you able to share the file?
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7080
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSat Sep 07, 2019 11:41 pm

Can you load it separately in fusion?
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - BMR St. 16.1.0B.025
nvidia: 430.86 studio
Offline

Stan Willis

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2016 11:11 am

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSun Sep 08, 2019 9:50 am

@Dwaine - thanks for your reply. Here's a link
https://www.dropbox.com/s/i3i9k3gy43nju ... B.jpg?dl=0
I tried loading it into Fusion and for the first time in DR 16.0 I got the gpu full error and the program crashed - so thanks a lot to Walter! Joking.. (but it did crash)
NVIDIA GTX 1060 6Gb
i7 CPU 920 2.67 GHz
16.0GB DDR3 @ 534MHz
Mobo SUS P6T SE (LGA1366)
SAMSUNG TV (3840x2160@60Hz)
Sys 465 SSD Cache 240 ssd
media intHD +USB3 HD
Windows Home 64-bit
12/06/2018 2018-06 KB4284835)
Resolve Free Version
Offline
User avatar

Johan Fleetwood

  • Posts: 84
  • Joined: Tue Mar 21, 2017 12:52 pm
  • Location: Sweden

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSun Sep 08, 2019 11:20 am

Stan Willis wrote:Hi,
... It's roughly 20Kx3K. I can import it to Resolve but it just appears black.


If I remember correctly, resolve can't handle stills larger than 16.000 pixels H or V, but fusion (at least stand alone) can.
Johan Fleetwood
Colorist | Editor | Post Production Consultant
< Win10pro, RTX 2080, Decklink, Mini Panel, Ample RAM & SSD storage >
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 288
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSun Sep 08, 2019 1:41 pm

As a reference point, I loaded the JPG into DR. DR didn't crash, but neither does it display the image, leaving a black background.

When I zoomed in with the Transform panel, I got a GPU Memory Full warning at around a zoom level of 1.5. But the increase in memory usage was not reflected in Windows Task Manager.
_________________________________________________
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.1b1 -- Win10 Pro -- i7-6700K@4GHz -- 32GB RAM -- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1070 8GB
Offline

Michael_Andreas

  • Posts: 288
  • Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2019 9:40 pm
  • Real Name: Michael Andreas

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSun Sep 08, 2019 4:06 pm

After down-sampling to 9500x1440 in Affinity Photo, I was able to import and create a short clip that zoomed in to eliminate the letter boxing and pan from one side to the other.
_________________________________________________
DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.1b1 -- Win10 Pro -- i7-6700K@4GHz -- 32GB RAM -- NVIDIA GeForce GTX1070 8GB
Offline
User avatar

Jean Claude

  • Posts: 2741
  • Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2015 4:41 pm
  • Location: France

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostSun Sep 08, 2019 5:32 pm

I can in Fusion Standalone in 19435x2945 px=> rendered in any format
In Davinci Resolve Studio in 19435x2945 px => KO => black
In Davinci Resolve Studio in 16208x2456 px (just a test) => OK

No explanation.
"Saying it is good, but doing it is better! "
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4872
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostMon Sep 09, 2019 7:56 am

After Effects can handle up to 32000 and they have a fully functioning 7 days demo.
Just in case you only need this once.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7080
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostMon Sep 09, 2019 5:44 pm

Uli Plank wrote:After Effects can handle up to 32000 and they have a fully functioning 7 days demo.
Just in case you only need this once.


Fusion is the equivalent for AE in BM environment... You don't need to switch software...
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - BMR St. 16.1.0B.025
nvidia: 430.86 studio
Offline

Uli Plank

  • Posts: 4872
  • Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:48 am

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostTue Sep 10, 2019 12:26 am

Absolutely, and it’s better. But in this case I suggested AE as a pragmatic solution, since you need heaps of RAM to handle such large images in Fusion. AE has been around for so long on lower specs machines, it will be slow, but normally not crash when trying that.
Resolve Studio and Fusion Studio
iMac 2017 Radeon Pro 580 8 GB VRAM and 32 GB RAM
Offline
User avatar

waltervolpatto

  • Posts: 7080
  • Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 5:07 pm
  • Location: 1146 North Las Palmas Ave. Hollywood, California 90038 USA

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostWed Sep 11, 2019 6:43 pm

Uli Plank wrote:Absolutely, and it’s better. But in this case I suggested AE as a pragmatic solution, since you need heaps of RAM to handle such large images in Fusion. AE has been around for so long on lower specs machines, it will be slow, but normally not crash when trying that.


Got it.
SuperServer 5039AD-I
C9X299-PGF - DDR4-2400 16x4 GB
i9-7920xCPU 12c 2.90GHz Water cooled
2x GTX 1080ti DeckLink Studio 4K
Window10 - BMR St. 16.1.0B.025
nvidia: 430.86 studio
Offline
User avatar

Dwaine Maggart

Blackmagic Design

  • Posts: 5512
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 2:53 pm

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostWed Sep 11, 2019 8:48 pm

@Stan: We can only handle media up to 16K wide.
Dwaine Maggart
Blackmagic Design DaVinci Support
Offline

Stan Willis

  • Posts: 16
  • Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2016 11:11 am

Re: Importing large single panoramic Jpegs to enable pans.

PostThu Sep 12, 2019 9:08 am

Thank you Dwaine and the others who took the time to confirm that it wasn't just me seeing a black preview when I loaded the file. Anyone reading this thread can now scroll to the bottom and see Dwaine's authorative response above.
NVIDIA GTX 1060 6Gb
i7 CPU 920 2.67 GHz
16.0GB DDR3 @ 534MHz
Mobo SUS P6T SE (LGA1366)
SAMSUNG TV (3840x2160@60Hz)
Sys 465 SSD Cache 240 ssd
media intHD +USB3 HD
Windows Home 64-bit
12/06/2018 2018-06 KB4284835)
Resolve Free Version

Return to DaVinci Resolve

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 36 guests