Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Render preferences ... how many frames at the same time?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Peter Cordes

  • Posts: 138
  • Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:04 am
  • Location: Germany

Render preferences ... how many frames at the same time?

PostFri Feb 17, 2017 8:00 am

Hi,

I've got a little question to the settings for rendering.

On a PC with 6 Cores and 12 threads (intel i7 extreme),
is it better to set the amount of parallel rendered frames to 6 or to 12 ?

Thanks a lot for your help.

Peter
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 694
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: Render preferences ... how many frames at the same time?

PostFri Feb 17, 2017 1:13 pm

It depends a lot how you build your comp.
Keep in mind that for every frame you render you need also the RAM.
Some tools use a lot of multithreading, sometimes it is faster to render multiple branches instead if multiple frames,...

I guess there is no magic bullet and only testing can give you a better answer
Offline

Peter Cordes

  • Posts: 138
  • Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 8:04 am
  • Location: Germany

Re: Render preferences ... how many frames at the same time?

PostFri Feb 17, 2017 3:01 pm

michael vorberg wrote:It depends a lot how you build your comp.
Keep in mind that for every frame you render you need also the RAM.
Some tools use a lot of multithreading, sometimes it is faster to render multiple branches instead if multiple frames,...

I guess there is no magic bullet and only testing can give you a better answer



Okay, thanks.
So I will have a look at RAM-usage while the render-nodes are rendering.

Thanks a lot
Peter
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 1463
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Render preferences ... how many frames at the same time?

PostFri Feb 17, 2017 3:19 pm

It would be nice if the render management software you are using could dynamically set that. There's no reason it can't. If it notices that there is headroom on CPU and RAM for a comp, it could edit the comp to force more frames to render concurrently. In the case of Deadline, you can just run more copies of Fusion concurrently, but it's not dynamic based on per-node resource availability.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

Ryan Hays

  • Posts: 11
  • Joined: Mon Jul 20, 2015 5:40 pm

Re: Render preferences ... how many frames at the same time?

PostFri Feb 17, 2017 5:57 pm

Hi Chad,

I remember in the past Fusion would max out one of disk, cpu or ram in the resource monitor whilst rendering. I've broadly noticed lately that nothing redlines and I'm left wondering why my comps couldn't be rendering faster. Wondering if you had any insight on this?

Thanks,

Ryan

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andrew Hazelden, Jack van den Bercken and 7 guests