Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

ColorCorrect - causes RGBA channels to look like tiny dots

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

David Spittle

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:12 pm
  • Location: Brisbane

ColorCorrect - causes RGBA channels to look like tiny dots

PostSun Apr 22, 2018 12:54 pm

It's been 6 months since I used Fusion - was new to it then.

I've loaded a half float exr, plugged it into a CC node and for some reason, if I adjust colours, levels on anything apart from Master it stuffs up my image.

Attached demonstrates the issue.

Also I'm using the paid version - do I need to do anything special to get it to read the dongle? There are a few options that I click and it says I need the studio version.
Attachments
Fusion Screengrab.JPG
Fusion Screengrab.JPG (355.15 KiB) Viewed 377 times
Specs WS: AMD Threadripper 1950x 16c/32t, 64GB RAM, GTX 1080ti, Win10 Pro. Fusion Studio 9
Specs Laptop: Dell XPS15 9550, i7-6700HQ 4c/8t, 32GB RAM, GTX960M, Win10 Pro, FS9
www.davidspittle.com
Offline

David Spittle

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:12 pm
  • Location: Brisbane

Re: ColorCorrect - causes RGBA channels to look like tiny do

PostMon Apr 23, 2018 12:31 am

Turns out that I had installed the free version at some point. The Studio version doesn't have the same problem.
Specs WS: AMD Threadripper 1950x 16c/32t, 64GB RAM, GTX 1080ti, Win10 Pro. Fusion Studio 9
Specs Laptop: Dell XPS15 9550, i7-6700HQ 4c/8t, 32GB RAM, GTX960M, Win10 Pro, FS9
www.davidspittle.com
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 584
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am
  • Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA

Re: ColorCorrect - causes RGBA channels to look like tiny do

PostMon Apr 23, 2018 4:21 am

The free version shouldn't have done that, either. I haven't seen anything like that before. I'm curious what the error message in your Console was. I suspect it was probably something about an OCL kernel. I'll bet if you turned off OpenCL for that node the problem would have gone away.

I would also posit that you were still running 9.0 initially, which had some bugs in the OpenCL for CC and Gamut, and possibly some other color-related nodes.
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline

David Spittle

  • Posts: 23
  • Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 1:12 pm
  • Location: Brisbane

Re: ColorCorrect - causes RGBA channels to look like tiny do

PostMon Apr 23, 2018 9:33 am

I'm pretty sure the console said that I needed to buy a Studio license - but not 100% on that.

Is there a guide anywhere that would help me to set Fusion up to get the best out of my hardware?
Specs WS: AMD Threadripper 1950x 16c/32t, 64GB RAM, GTX 1080ti, Win10 Pro. Fusion Studio 9
Specs Laptop: Dell XPS15 9550, i7-6700HQ 4c/8t, 32GB RAM, GTX960M, Win10 Pro, FS9
www.davidspittle.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Daniel Leary, Mel Matsuoka and 5 guests