Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Defocus rendering issue

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

PJPalomaki

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:21 am

Defocus rendering issue

PostMon May 14, 2018 7:51 pm

Hey,

I'm using the Resolve Public Beta (15.0.0B.032) and have hit an issue with the defocus effect. I followed this tutorial to create a depth matte from render3d and piping that to defocus blur.



Everything seems to work as it should, apart from during playback I get frames that are correctly focused/blurred and frames that are not. I've uploaded a video demonstrating the issue, which is here:



Is this an issue with my PC or Fusion issue? I've attached the comp if anyone wants to check if they get the same result.

Untitled.zip
Fusion comp with the issue.
(3.65 KiB) Downloaded 32 times


Thanks,
PJ

EDIT:

Realised I was getting errors, here's a snippet, can anyone explain what's going on?:

Code: Select all
DepthMatte cannot get DoD for Image 1 at time 139
DepthMatte failed at time 139
Defocus1 cannot get DoD for Input at time 140
Merge1 cannot get foreground image at time 140
Merge1 failed at time 140
DepthMatte cannot get DoD for Image 1 at time 141
DepthMatte failed at time 141
DepthMatte cannot get DoD for Image 1 at time 142
DepthMatte failed at time 142
Defocus1 cannot get mask image at time 142
Merge1 cannot get foreground image at time 142
DepthMatte cannot get DoD for Image 1 at time 144
DepthMatte failed at time 144
Defocus1 cannot get DoD for Effect Mask at time 145
Merge1 cannot get foreground image at time 145
Merge1 failed at time 145
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Defocus rendering issue

PostWed May 16, 2018 10:50 am

In my system your comp rendered with no issues or console errors, altough the cube never enters in focus. Don't know if this is intentional.

Did you try to turn off GPU processing in Fusion to see if it has an impact on the problem?

My system:

Windows 10
FX-8350 32GB RAM
GTX 1070 for GPU processing
GTX 1060 for GUI
Offline
User avatar

PJPalomaki

  • Posts: 31
  • Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:21 am

Re: Defocus rendering issue

PostWed May 16, 2018 1:55 pm

Adelson Munhoz wrote:In my system your comp rendered with no issues or console errors, altough the cube never enters in focus. Don't know if this is intentional.

Did you try to turn off GPU processing in Fusion to see if it has an impact on the problem?


Hey Adelson, it should come into focus when the camera gets close (see my YT video). I did try with and without GPU rendering, same issue..

My system is this:
Win 10
Ryzen 1600 16GB RAM
RX Vega 56 8GB
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 259
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Defocus rendering issue

PostWed May 16, 2018 2:25 pm

This is my rendering result.



It was made in DaVinci Beta 2.

I will try in Beta 3 later in order to see if it changens anything.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 2 guests