Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Resolve dongle won't activate Fusion 9?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Dustin Bowser

  • Posts: 384
  • Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:38 am

Resolve dongle won't activate Fusion 9?

PostWed Jun 12, 2019 6:50 pm

We bought a Resolve dongle and want to run Fusion Studio 9 with it but it isn't activating?

Please don't tell me we are limited to only using Fusion 16. Until the UI is fixed we're staying in Fusion 9 at the studio.

Please advise, as we had to wait for this dongle to arrive and we need to actually be doing work with it.
System specs:
Resolve Studio version: 15.1.0.023
Fusion Studio version: 9.0.2 build 15
OS: macOS 10.13.6
CPU: Intel i9-7900x 3.3GHz 10-Core
RAM: 128GB DDR4-3000
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 1080 Ti 11GB x3
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1371
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Resolve dongle won't activate Fusion 9?

PostWed Jun 12, 2019 7:03 pm

AFAIK To run 9.02 you should've bought a Fusion dongle. This will allow you to run Fusion and Resolve while a Resolve dongle only lets you use Resolve (at the moment).
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

Dustin Bowser

  • Posts: 384
  • Joined: Thu Jun 11, 2015 4:38 am

Re: Resolve dongle won't activate Fusion 9?

PostWed Jun 12, 2019 7:47 pm

No, I believe a Resolve Dongle also runs Fusion. We are running Fusion Studio 16 right now with it. But we want to use Fusion Studio 9.
System specs:
Resolve Studio version: 15.1.0.023
Fusion Studio version: 9.0.2 build 15
OS: macOS 10.13.6
CPU: Intel i9-7900x 3.3GHz 10-Core
RAM: 128GB DDR4-3000
GPU: NVIDIA GeForce 1080 Ti 11GB x3
Offline
User avatar

Pieter Van Houte

  • Posts: 380
  • Joined: Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:04 am

Re: Resolve dongle won't activate Fusion 9?

PostWed Jun 12, 2019 7:50 pm

This just keeps coming back. It's one week away from the first anniversary of a certain console tip on We Suck Less:

Peter Chamberlain wrote:If you use Fusion today, and need a Fusion Studio feature, buy Fusion Studio (dongle) and that dongle will also work on DaVinci Resolve 15.

If you don't need something in Fusion Studio today, and would prefer the activation key, purchase DaVinci Resolve Studio.


Fusion 16 is capable of running off a Resolve dongle as far as I remember, but Fu9 obviously doesn't have that new code (because that's not how they roll).

It's annoying there is such ambiguity about what runs what, and the communication about it is lacking.

That said, I have heard that people have successfully exchanged their Resolve dongles for Fusion ones. Hope BMD support can sort something out for you.

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Feedfetcher and 7 guests