Page 1 of 1

[F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Thu Nov 21, 2019 9:10 pm
by Carlos Dordelly
Hi guys!

I noticed that sometimes when I use the "Vector Motion Blur" with a Motion Vector AOV some artifacts appears. Always as a line in the bottom part of the frame. Here you can see the beauty and motion vector AOV:

Image

F16 line artifact with Vector Motion Blur:

Image

With Scale value in 10:

Image

And this not happen in F9:

Image

F9 VMB Scale value in 10:

Image

Hope you can fix this issue, Let me know if you need something more, this happened with different render sequences and projects.

Thanks!

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2019 3:56 am
by Bryan Ray
Does it still happen if you set Use GPU to Disable?

I cannot reproduce this artifact. Windows 10, core i7-8700k, GeForce GTX 1070

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2019 11:58 am
by Carlos Dordelly
Hi Bryan!

If I disable the GPU it works, so now I suppose that is a GPU issue in VMB F16 because if I create a new comp with all nodes from scratch still getting the issue:

Image

Here you can download the frame in case that anybody want to make a test.

Comp:

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Beauty = Loader {
         Clips = {
            Clip {
               ID = "Clip1",
               Filename = "Y:\\My Drive\\Dyne - Works\\Canda Dry - FAXXI '19\\07_Render\\01_Render_3D\\02_Animation\\CD_Coolf_Anim_Scn_020-v03\\CD_Coolf_Anim_Scn_020-v03_mp_0000.exr",
               FormatID = "OpenEXRFormat",
               Length = 91,
               LengthSetManually = true,
               TrimIn = 0,
               TrimOut = 90,
               ExtendFirst = 0,
               ExtendLast = 0,
               Loop = 0,
               AspectMode = 0,
               Depth = 0,
               TimeCode = 0,
               GlobalStart = 0,
               GlobalEnd = 90
            }
         },
         NameSet = true,
         Inputs = {
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.Channels"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.RedName"] = Input { Value = FuID { "R" }, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.GreenName"] = Input { Value = FuID { "G" }, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.BlueName"] = Input { Value = FuID { "B" }, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 462, 34.0303 } },
      },
      CopyMotionVectors = ChannelBoolean {
         Inputs = {
            ToRed = Input { Value = 4, },
            ToGreen = Input { Value = 4, },
            ToBlue = Input { Value = 4, },
            ToAlpha = Input { Value = 4, },
            EnableExtraChannels = Input { Value = 1, },
            ToXVector = Input { Value = 0, },
            ToYVector = Input { Value = 1, },
            Background = Input {
               SourceOp = "Beauty",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            Foreground = Input {
               SourceOp = "MotionVector",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 617.333, 34.0303 } },
      },
      VectorMotionBlur1 = VectorMotionBlur {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            UseGPU = Input { Value = 0, },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "CopyMotionVectors",
               Source = "Output",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 736.222, 34.0303 } },
      },
      MotionVector = Loader {
         Clips = {
            Clip {
               ID = "Clip1",
               Filename = "Y:\\My Drive\\Dyne - Works\\Canda Dry - FAXXI '19\\07_Render\\01_Render_3D\\02_Animation\\CD_Coolf_Anim_Scn_020-v03\\CD_Coolf_Anim_Scn_020-v03_mp_0000.exr",
               FormatID = "OpenEXRFormat",
               Length = 91,
               LengthSetManually = true,
               TrimIn = 0,
               TrimOut = 90,
               ExtendFirst = 0,
               ExtendLast = 0,
               Loop = 0,
               AspectMode = 0,
               Depth = 0,
               TimeCode = 0,
               GlobalStart = 0,
               GlobalEnd = 90
            }
         },
         NameSet = true,
         Inputs = {
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.Channels"] = Input { Value = 1, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.RedName"] = Input { Value = FuID { "Motion Vector.red" }, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.GreenName"] = Input { Value = FuID { "Motion Vector.green" }, },
            ["Clip1.OpenEXRFormat.BlueName"] = Input { Value = FuID { "Motion Vector.blue" }, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 617.333, 67.6667 } },
      }
   }
}

Thanks!

--

Windows 10 / Intel i7 7.700-K / x2 RTX 2080ti / Drivers 441.28

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Fri Nov 22, 2019 12:13 pm
by Carlos Dordelly
Here is the same issue but in other project:

Image

With GPU disabled in VMB:

Image

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Sat Nov 23, 2019 5:39 pm
by Bryan Ray
Looks like you haven't yet crossed the moderation threshold to be able to add a link.

However, if disabling GPU rendering fixes it, then I doubt I'll be able to reproduce the issue on a different card, anyway. You could try changing your video driver. Fusion has, in the past, had issues with some driver versions.

Anybody else out there with a 2080ti who could look into this one?

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 12:00 pm
by Carlos Dordelly
Here is the link again (hopefully now it will appear correctly):

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1T39qgd ... sp=sharing

It happen the same with driver 430.86. Also this post works as a bug notification? or I need to post the problem in other site of the forum too to wait for a fix?

Thanks again Bryan,

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Mon Nov 25, 2019 10:01 pm
by Bryan Ray
Ah, I do get the same results. And adjusting my test shows that I can make it happen with synthetic vectors, too:

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      FastNoise1 = FastNoise {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            XScale = Input { Value = 20, },
            Seethe = Input { Value = 0.696, },
            Color1Alpha = Input { Value = 1, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 660.667, -65.697 } },
      },
      FastNoise1_1 = FastNoise {
         Inputs = {
            Width = Input { Value = 1920, },
            Height = Input { Value = 1080, },
            ["Gamut.SLogVersion"] = Input { Value = FuID { "SLog2" }, },
            XScale = Input { Value = 30, },
            Seethe = Input { Value = 2.167, },
            Color1Red = Input { Value = 1, },
            Color1Alpha = Input { Value = 1, },
            Color2Red = Input { Value = 0, },
            Color2Blue = Input { Value = 0, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 745.333, -102.939 } },
      },
      VectorMotionBlur1 = VectorMotionBlur {
         Inputs = {
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "FastNoise1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            Vectors = Input {
               SourceOp = "FastNoise1_1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            XVectorChannel = Input { Value = 0, },
            YChannel = Input { Value = 1, },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 738.667, -23.5455 } },
      }
   }
}


Technically, posting here counts as a bug report, but it's probably a good idea to put one in over at We Suck Less as well, since that forum's bug tracker is better organized:
https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckl ... m.php?f=19

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2019 12:04 am
by Carlos Dordelly
Ready, I posted the bug report and I added your example:

https://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckless/viewtopic.php?f=19&t=3585

Hopefully the dev team can fix it. Thanks for your help like always!

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Fri Dec 11, 2020 10:40 am
by UserNoah
Bumping this again because this bug is now three major versions old (if we count Fusion in R15)

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Sat Nov 13, 2021 6:06 pm
by David Chabashvili
Bump up !!! This problem is still present in Davinci Resolve 17.4.1 BUILD 4.
Also please add elliptical (curved) blur version to Vector Motion Blur.

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2022 9:49 pm
by clive davis
David Chabashvili wrote:Bump up !!! This problem is still present in Davinci Resolve 17.4.1 BUILD 4.
Also please add elliptical (curved) blur version to Vector Motion Blur.


Just discovered this issue and this thread.. seems like it's been going on for some time.

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Thu Jul 28, 2022 7:55 pm
by Carlos Dordelly
Hi!

This issue still in Fusion 18.0.1

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Fri Jul 29, 2022 10:45 pm
by RCModelReviews
Carlos Dordelly wrote:Hi!

This issue still in Fusion 18.0.1

That probably means it has now been promoted to be a "feature" :-D

Re: [F16] Vector Motion Blur - Artifacts

PostPosted: Wed Sep 07, 2022 8:26 am
by UserNoah
Seems to be fixed in 18.0.2
Thank you, Blackmagic! I no longer have to use Expressions that toggle between GPU mode while interactive working and CPU when rendering.