Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Advanced stabilization

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

michelc

Advanced stabilization

PostFri Nov 22, 2019 7:55 pm

Hello,

I am a total Fusion newbie here.

I have several wide angle crane-like shots to stabilize, lots of perspective change and crowd crossing in the foreground.
I tried the built in Resolve stabilizer but it fails on some of them. I would love to be able to tell the software which tracker points it should follow (buildings, walls, ground, unmoving objects) and which it should discard (people moving).

Is there anyone out there who knows more and is kind enought to tell me about this?
I tried using 3d Camera tracker but I did not go very far.

Many thanks in advance

RCModelReviews

Re: Advanced stabilization

PostSat Nov 23, 2019 12:35 am

Have you tried the classic stabilizer in Resolve with manually set tracking points?
Resolve 18.1 Studio, Fusion 9 Studio
CPU: i7 8700, OS: Windows 10 32GB RAM, GPU: RTX3060
I'm refugee from Sony Vegas slicing video for my YouTube channels.

Bryan Ray

PostSat Nov 23, 2019 5:31 pm

Are you attempting to lock a particular feature in place? Or remove camera shake while preserving the overall motion?

For the former, a few 2d point tracks (the regular Tracker node) will do. Run the track, then in the Operation tab, set the Operation to Match Move and the Merge to BG Only (note for BMD: Those controls are now even more confusing than they were when they were multi-buttons).

To remove shake from a 3d tracked camera, it's a bit more involved. Yes, you'll want the CameraTracker node, but it doesn't have built-in a way to designate supervised tracking points. You can mask out the moving people, but if you want a user track, you'll need to do a bit more. I haven't tried it yet, but there is now a script that can copy tracked points from Fusion's point Tracker to a CameraTracker node: