Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

What is workflow for importing from Avid MC Timeline?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

John Epton

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:44 pm
  • Location: Orpington, Kent, UK

What is workflow for importing from Avid MC Timeline?

PostFri Nov 21, 2014 12:48 pm

In the free version, which I understand does not include the convertor tool, could someone please recommend the best workflow for taking a stack of clips from the Avid timeline into Fusion.
Fusion appears to support the Avid DNxHD codecs but it will not handle mxf files.

Thanks

John
Resolve 16 Studio 16.0.004 Fusion Studio 16.0 Desktop Video 11.2
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard 24 Gb Ram
64 bit 3.2 Ghz Intel i7-960 Quad Core
GeForce GTX 1080 8Gb Driver 430.39
Boris RED 5.5.3501
Windows 10 Pro (1809)
Media Composer 8.11.049905
Offline

Stefan Janssens

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 2:56 pm

Re: What is workflow for importing from Avid MC Timeline?

PostMon Nov 24, 2014 7:01 pm

Depending on how your files are stored ( not AMA linked,... ), you might want to try exporting a Quicktime reference, and use that in Fusion. This gives a tiny file, which references your original mxf media
Offline
User avatar

John Epton

  • Posts: 54
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 1:44 pm
  • Location: Orpington, Kent, UK

Re: What is workflow for importing from Avid MC Timeline?

PostTue Nov 25, 2014 9:13 am

Stefan
My first move was to use a QTR file which I could not get to work.
I will try it again. I presume it works for you - what type of footage are you using and are there any particular settings in the Loader or I/O?
John
Resolve 16 Studio 16.0.004 Fusion Studio 16.0 Desktop Video 11.2
Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R Motherboard 24 Gb Ram
64 bit 3.2 Ghz Intel i7-960 Quad Core
GeForce GTX 1080 8Gb Driver 430.39
Boris RED 5.5.3501
Windows 10 Pro (1809)
Media Composer 8.11.049905
Offline

Stefan Janssens

  • Posts: 4
  • Joined: Sun Nov 16, 2014 2:56 pm

Re: What is workflow for importing from Avid MC Timeline?

PostWed Nov 26, 2014 12:39 pm

Just tested to make sure it still works, and it does.

Media is footage which was imported into Avid as DNxHD ( not AMA linked, I believe Qt-reference can't handle AMA footage). Then the sequence was exported as a Qt reference( default settings in Avid), and the file was dragged and dropped into Fusion. Plays back fine.

Make sure the footage isn't AMA-linked. Consolidate some footage to make sure it's in Avids mediafolders, and try to export that.


A different workflow ( including AMA) is using the AVX2 connection plugin, which still seems to sort of work in Fusion 7.5 But no idea where you can download that for the moment with the takeover of BM( I still have it installed on my Avid system)

S

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests