Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

VIewport not working

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

Matthew Zinn

VIewport not working

PostMon Jan 05, 2015 2:35 am

Hey All,

So I'm very very new to this program but I am certainly willing to put in the time to learn it all, once I get it all working. I'm a 3D Artist and compositor in the SF Bay Area and had previously done all my editing and compositing with Adobe and have been thinking about making the switch to Fusion since its a much more powerful program. However, I do need to get it working correctly before I think about spending the money for the full version.

I simply can't get the viewport to display anything on my system. I'm running a Intel i7 5930K CPU @ 3.50GHz with 32GD RAM and my GPU is a GeForce GTX 780 Ti.

Any time I load any footage - I and mean any footage be it .png sequence, a single jpeg, .mp4.mov etc (you get the picture) I can't get the footage to display in my viewport. I import everything through the loader but the thumbnails don't appear in the flow area, I just get the Loader Icon with the name of my file. I try using the hotkeys (1 and 2 ) I've tried dragging and dropping but nothing gets the picture in the viewport. I've even tried just making a text file within FUSION to see if I can get that to show up in either viewport and I'm not having any luck at all. I've uninstalled and reinstalled everything a number of times, still with no difference.

I don't believe its a codec problems because I took all of these files and am able to open and play them back without issue is DaVinci.

Please just tell me I'm doing something very simply wrong. I'd love for Fusion to become my main compositing program.

Thanks so much

Rony Soussan

Re: VIewport not working

PostMon Jan 05, 2015 6:03 pm

Hi Matthew,

Did you try a floating view? menu..windows-new image view