Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

newbie question--files from fusion>resolve

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

Bill Nunez

newbie question--files from fusion>resolve

PostThu Jan 08, 2015 6:45 pm

Hi,

I am completely new to video work, but have an extensive background in pro audio. I'm learning video strictly as a hobby. I've successfully loaded bmpcc prores footage in resolve and fusion independently...both programs run beautifully on their own. But when I try to move between the programs, things turn sour. I think I solved the problem of moving from resolve to fusion by rendering a tiff file that opened fine in fusion. If I then run that loader node straight into a saver node and render a final output, the resulting file does not playback smoothly in resolve. I've tried the playback smart caching in resolve and several different formats out of fusion (quicktime with "none" for compression, yuv, exr, avi with "none"...). All these options have resulted in files that playback in which the playhead jumps multiple frames, seemingly at random, within resolve. These are little sequences (~300 frames).

It's entirely possible that I am missing something obvious. I've searched the web and tried everything I can think of to no avail. Any thoughts? Thanks! bill
    Blackmagic Pocket Cinema Camera, Davinci Resolve 11, Fusion 7, homebuilt PC/windows 7-64/radeon hd 5570

Bill Nunez

Re: newbie question--files from fusion>resolve

PostFri Jan 09, 2015 4:23 pm

I think I may have this solved, so I'm posting in case it helps someone else. In doing many experiments, it seems that--on my windows pc anyway--resolve really likes prores files and nothing else. As I stated before, it plays bmpcc prores footage like a champ, so I d/l'd some other prores samples and resolve liked them. So, I d/l'd a trial version of footagestudio4k, transcoded some of my output files from fusion, and they played as expected in resolve.