Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Bakc to Fusion and GPU+Vram Question

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

Asta Dittes

Bakc to Fusion and GPU+Vram Question

PostFri Feb 06, 2015 12:10 pm

Hello

Since i finished studying, i never used Fusion again, but now i saw that there is a free version of Fusion and so i began to use it again :D - and i still like it! And now i can finish a project thats pendig since i studied.
But now my question. I want to upscale my system a bit with a new graphic card. It is an older workstation with an Xeon-Processor and 24GB RAM, but the graphic card is an quite small Quadro.
Now my questions if these two GPUs are ok and which of the two is best for Fusion
The AMD Radeon R9 290X with 8GB DDR5 VRAM
or the Nvidia GTX970 with 4GB DDR5 VRAM
I found nothing about Fusion and Radeon GPUs so i ask here.

Best regards from Germany
Asta

Rony Soussan

Re: Bakc to Fusion and GPU+Vram Question

PostFri Feb 06, 2015 6:01 pm

Welcome back!

I would go for the Nvidia card, but get one with more ram. A slightly slower card with more ram will benefit you if you plan on doing a lot of 3D compositing, otherwise, both cards will work quite well.

Blazej Floch

PostFri Feb 06, 2015 10:55 pm

There has been some buzz about NVIDIA GTX 970 and memory access. However I remember from bench-marking Fusion with the GTX 970 that it rocked price/performance. So I guess it has to do more with realtime performance. Don't take my word for granted, though.

I personally can't comment on Radeon, but would be also interested to hear experiences - especially with the insane amount of VRAM AMD offers.

Alaz Soytemiz

PostSat Feb 07, 2015 9:19 am

What about dual GTX 970 or 980? Does Fusion benefits from 2?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i9-11900K
Ram: 128GB
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3070 Ti
Disks: Samsung SSD 980 PRO

Chad Capeland