Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Output using BM video card is quarter size

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

nigelgourley

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:09 am

Output using BM video card is quarter size

PostFri Oct 23, 2015 5:36 pm

We just can't figure this out...

The HDMI output from the BM card is quarter size... We are in a 1920 x 1080 project so it should fill the screen. Everything else is fine...The files we make, viewers everything is the right size

Except the video output...

The card works, it's got the latest drivers.. Any Ideas?
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 1198
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Output using BM video card is quarter size

PostSat Oct 24, 2015 8:23 am

Are you by any chance working in proxy mode?
Sander de Regt

ShadowMaker SdR
The Netherlands
Offline

nigelgourley

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:09 am

Re: Output using BM video card is quarter size

PostMon Oct 26, 2015 5:05 pm

Nope that's not it.
Offline
User avatar

Rony Soussan

  • Posts: 725
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:33 pm

Re: Output using BM video card is quarter size

PostMon Oct 26, 2015 5:47 pm

The resolution of your output has to match the resolution set both in the Fusion Video monitoring prefs, as well as the Blackmagic Video utility.
The card does not adapt to the resolution it's being fed, as there is no 'fit' like a traditional GUI display.
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2146
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Output using BM video card is quarter size

PostMon Oct 26, 2015 6:31 pm

Seems like with GPU Direct you could feed the BMD card directly from the GPU which would do all the scaling.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline

nigelgourley

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:09 am

Re: Output using BM video card is quarter size

PostMon Oct 26, 2015 10:42 pm

It's correct in the video utility and when you say fusion video monitoring prefs you mean in the IO Set up. And this setup doesn't appear for the compositions only at the top generic ones. Is that correct.curiously if you swith the output to 720p the picture is larger on the monitor than when it's 1080. And in pal it's correct
Offline

nigelgourley

  • Posts: 8
  • Joined: Wed Aug 22, 2012 9:09 am

Re: Output using BM video card is quarter size

PostTue Oct 27, 2015 10:05 am

Ah so the reason is the source footage is in fields so the process mode is PAL/HD fields.. That makes the BM output quarter size. If I change them to Full frame then the output is correct..

I guess a bug then that in an HD project with fields the output is the wrong size?
Offline
User avatar

Rony Soussan

  • Posts: 725
  • Joined: Tue Nov 11, 2014 5:33 pm

Re: Output using BM video card is quarter size

PostWed Oct 28, 2015 5:29 pm

It's not ideal yet for sure, and yes it's only a general option, not dynamic one per comp.

I would love to see it respond dynamical to what is being fed, this would work well without need for GPU access to decklink.

I wonder if a tool script can make changes to the general settings in a pref file.. hmm

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Lester James, selinofell197 and 5 guests