Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Hyper threading does it count for Fusion

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline
User avatar

Eugene Afanasiev

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:57 pm
  • Location: Russia

Hyper threading does it count for Fusion

PostThu Apr 21, 2016 2:14 pm

What Should be best set it the Preferences under the Memory 4 frames at once or 8 or 1 or 10 and how to know what's best or it's not based on the cores at all?
Last edited by Eugene Afanasiev on Sat Apr 23, 2016 2:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
__
--[[BMD's cameras and Resolve all-post workflow evangelist
My old stuff: http://www.youtube.com/rebelorelse
Debug: ALIENWARE 17 R3 (Win 10, i7 6820HQ, 32 GB RAM, GeForce 980M 4GB.]]--
Offline
User avatar

Sam Biddle

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:09 pm
  • Location: London

Re: Hyper threding does it count for Fusion

PostThu Apr 21, 2016 5:00 pm

I'd set it to 10, with simultaneous branching on. Seems to be faster. I could be wrong but I believe simultaneous branching increases the CPU utilisation.

I would note increasing to 10 frames at once increases memory usage.

Worth a look:

http://www.jasonmyres.com/2014/11/fusio ... ce-tuning/
Sam Biddle
3D Artist@Random42
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2216
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Hyper threding does it count for Fusion

PostThu Apr 21, 2016 5:51 pm

Frames at once and core counts aren't related. Fusion doesn't assign one core to one frame or anything like that. It's useful in cases where you have non-CPU bottlenecks, like I/O or GPU rendering.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline
User avatar

Sam Biddle

  • Posts: 30
  • Joined: Wed Feb 03, 2016 4:09 pm
  • Location: London

Re: Hyper threding does it count for Fusion

PostFri Apr 22, 2016 7:22 am

Ahh okay I thought this might be the case. So what about simultaneous branching, is this also better used for non cpu bottlenecks?
Sam Biddle
3D Artist@Random42
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2216
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Hyper threding does it count for Fusion

PostFri Apr 22, 2016 2:27 pm

Generally speaking, if you want to optimize performance, you'll need to keep an eye on where the bottlenecks are. It happens that RAM is stuuuuupid cheap right now, so it's probably the best bet to default to using more RAM to make things faster. But that may not always be the case, and for users on OSX machines or laptops in general, might not be an option. But if the work you do is I/O bound or GPU bound or CPU integer or float bound, you need to keep an eye on those and adapt accordingly, assuming performance is important at the time (it often isn't).
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline
User avatar

Eugene Afanasiev

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:57 pm
  • Location: Russia

Re: Hyper threading does it count for Fusion

PostSat Apr 23, 2016 2:23 pm

Thanks that helped, I also found a lot of explanations in the manual (which I forgot to check in the first place) on what the options are doing for tweaking in the preferences...
__
--[[BMD's cameras and Resolve all-post workflow evangelist
My old stuff: http://www.youtube.com/rebelorelse
Debug: ALIENWARE 17 R3 (Win 10, i7 6820HQ, 32 GB RAM, GeForce 980M 4GB.]]--
Offline
User avatar

Eugene Afanasiev

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:57 pm
  • Location: Russia

Re: Hyper threading does it count for Fusion

PostMon Apr 25, 2016 3:57 pm

Is anyone getting the same behavior, cause I do on 2 PCs: when I choose to cache loaders to disk Fusion starts playing loaders extreeeemely slow?.. Should be the other way around, shouldn't it? Is it a bug?
__
--[[BMD's cameras and Resolve all-post workflow evangelist
My old stuff: http://www.youtube.com/rebelorelse
Debug: ALIENWARE 17 R3 (Win 10, i7 6820HQ, 32 GB RAM, GeForce 980M 4GB.]]--
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2216
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Hyper threading does it count for Fusion

PostMon Apr 25, 2016 4:03 pm

No, it doesn't precache, so it needs to do more I/O on demand. This causes a huge performance hit initially, but you can improve results for subsequent requests for the data.

Also, it makes the most sense when the difference in performance between the original storage and the cache storage is largest.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com
Offline
User avatar

Eugene Afanasiev

  • Posts: 595
  • Joined: Sun Aug 30, 2015 2:57 pm
  • Location: Russia

Re: Hyper threading does it count for Fusion

PostMon Apr 25, 2016 4:33 pm

Thanks, understood..
And what is the subsequent request for the data?
__
--[[BMD's cameras and Resolve all-post workflow evangelist
My old stuff: http://www.youtube.com/rebelorelse
Debug: ALIENWARE 17 R3 (Win 10, i7 6820HQ, 32 GB RAM, GeForce 980M 4GB.]]--
Offline

Chad Capeland

  • Posts: 2216
  • Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:40 pm

Re: Hyper threading does it count for Fusion

PostMon Apr 25, 2016 10:06 pm

Ideally it would just read from the cache, but I think it still checks to see if the data is valid by modified time.
Chad Capeland
Indicated, LLC
www.floweffects.com

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests