Page 1 of 1

From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Fri May 20, 2016 8:32 am
by Ciro Cardoso
Hi guys,

I am quite new to Fusion, but I see the value of using it to compose and colour correct and grading on Fusion. The reason is because I export all my renders as OpenEXR 16bits and Photoshop work-flow with 32bit files is completely rubbish.

I have a couple of doubts. First of all, is there any tool to control exposure? For example, in Photoshop you have the Exposure Adjustment, where you can tweak the image based on stops. Do I have to use the Brightness/Contrast for this adjustment?

Many thanks for your help.

EDIT:

I think is a good idea to use this first post to create a list with the tools in Photoshop and the equivalent in Fusion.

EXPOSURE

Photoshop
Exposure.PNG
Exposure.PNG (7.61 KiB) Viewed 12571 times


Fusion
BC.PNG
BC.PNG (15.04 KiB) Viewed 12571 times


Or use this code that michael vorberg provided

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      BrightnessContrast1 = BrightnessContrast {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Gain = Input {
               SourceOp = "Calculation1",
               Source = "Result",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 770, 115.5, }, },
      },
      Calculation1 = Calculation {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            FirstOperand = Input { Value = -1, },
            Operator = Input { Value = 17, },
            SecondOperand = Input { Value = 2, },
         },
      },
   },
}


Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 7:45 pm
by michael vorberg
if you working in linear space (as you should do with 32 bit float images) the gain in the BC is the best choice

in photography 1 f-stop up is double the light on the film, so a gain value of 2 is one f-stop up.
to make it easier to find the right value you could calculate the gain value by:

pow(2,f-stop value) = 2^f-stop value

i modified a BC here with a calculation modifier on the gain slider with that formula:

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      BrightnessContrast1 = BrightnessContrast {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            Gain = Input {
               SourceOp = "Calculation1",
               Source = "Result",
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 770, 115.5, }, },
      },
      Calculation1 = Calculation {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            FirstOperand = Input { Value = -1, },
            Operator = Input { Value = 17, },
            SecondOperand = Input { Value = 2, },
         },
      },
   },
}


if you change now the value of the first operand to the f-stop you want the gain value reacts right

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Mon May 23, 2016 10:03 pm
by Ciro Cardoso
A big thanks Michael,

Very helpful and many thanks for the script as well. I am just starting my first steps with Fusion and I find it very intuitive, but I still trying to "convert" some tools from PS to Fusion. Don't know if I am doing the best thing trying to translate my Photoshop workflow to Fusion.

Yes, I am saving my files as 32bit with a gamma of 1.0.

What I am trying to do now is saving the image as a LOG file, like the one you can get out of the camera. Would something like that be possible? I am exploring the use of a LUT to mimic the some film stocks, but when I apply some of the LUT the result is quite harsh.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Tue May 24, 2016 9:02 pm
by michael vorberg
you can convert your linear files very easy to a LOG file: the "cineon log" node is the right tool for you
you can then choose if you want convert "log to lin" or "lin to log" (the later in your case)

if you set your saver node to dpx it will automatical choose this conversion by default (you can also disable this if you have done this already)

its best practice to work in linear and only convert to other color space at the output. to work in linear and still got a "useable" preview you should use a ViewerLUT, which will be in many cases just a sRGB LUT.

if you use other premade LUTs is import to know for which colorspace they are made for. probably you have to convert to this space before you see the expected result.

color science, LUTs, color spaces, gamuts, etc. are a very deep field with a lot of technical aspects to consider and respect

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 1:23 pm
by Ciro Cardoso
Thanks Michael for your explanation.

I am using this comp-fu.com/2012/02/linear-gamma-workflow-in-fusion/ to set up the sRGB LUT. I am studying some fxphd videos about colour science, gamma and LUT. It is a quite big difference from Photoshop and Fusion, but we comparing 2 completely different applications.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu May 26, 2016 8:46 pm
by Travis Schmiesing
Are you trying to use Fusion to completely replace Photoshop for stills work? If so one of the biggest problems you will run into is that Fusion does not have the ability to embed a color profile into an image. At least not direct out of box... I am sure it can be coded.

My workflow for still is EXR to Fusion to Photoshop linked object.

Oh... and Fusion puts Photoshop to shame when it comes to speed of working with EXR's. But there are many things that Fusion can't touch that Photoshop does with a breeze.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2016 3:31 pm
by Ciro Cardoso
Travis Schmiesing wrote:Are you trying to use Fusion to completely replace Photoshop for stills work? If so one of the biggest problems you will run into is that Fusion does not have the ability to embed a color profile into an image. At least not direct out of box... I am sure it can be coded.

My workflow for still is EXR to Fusion to Photoshop linked object.

Oh... and Fusion puts Photoshop to shame when it comes to speed of working with EXR's. But there are many things that Fusion can't touch that Photoshop does with a breeze.


I am or at least I am trying to. The first reason is because I can work with 32 and 16bit images (I know that I can work with 16bit on Photoshop) and have a better control over the highlight compression. A couple of guys managed to create a script that mimics a filmic compression. This when I started to think about using Fusion not only for colour correction, but also for adding some vfx.

But there a couple of things that I miss, like adding chromatic aberration to the image.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 12:59 pm
by Eugene Afanasiev
you can offset transforms with turned on one color channel per transform in their common control to make a chromatic aberration:

Code: Select all
{
   Tools = ordered() {
      Polygon1 = PolylineMask {
         DrawMode = "ModifyOnly",
         DrawMode2 = "InsertAndModify",
         Inputs = {
            SoftEdge = Input { Value = 0.2, },
            Invert = Input { Value = 1, },
            MaskWidth = Input { Value = 3840, },
            MaskHeight = Input { Value = 2160, },
            PixelAspect = Input { Value = { 1, 1 }, },
            ClippingMode = Input { Value = FuID { "None" }, },
            Polyline = Input {
               SourceOp = "Polygon1Polyline",
               Source = "Value",
            },
            Polyline2 = Input {
               Value = Polyline {
               },
               Disabled = true,
            },
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 723.361, -75.0926 } },
      },
      Polygon1Polyline = BezierSpline {
         SplineColor = { Red = 173, Green = 255, Blue = 47 },
         NameSet = true,
         KeyFrames = {
            [19] = { 0, Flags = { Linear = true, LockedY = true }, Value = Polyline {
                  Closed = true,
                  Points = {
                     { X = -0.332050681114197, Y = 0.373852014541626, LX = -0.0632292628288269, LY = -0.0672071576118469, RX = 0.0806871950626373, RY = 0.0857633352279663 },
                     { X = -0.0455262660980225, Y = 0.449318170547485, LX = -0.0967812687158585, LY = 0.00161051750183105, RX = 0.0876664519309998, RY = -0.00145882368087769 },
                     { X = 0.212157636880875, Y = 0.364796102046967, LX = -0.0709860026836395, LY = 0.0825519561767578, RX = 0.0965335965156555, RY = -0.112262189388275 },
                     { X = 0.364510864019394, Y = -0.154411405324936, LX = 0.0411226749420166, LY = 0.179551929235458, RX = -0.0404849052429199, RY = -0.17676705121994 },
                     { X = 0.0416222810745239, Y = -0.379803776741028, LX = 0.115949630737305, LY = 0.0292553901672363, RX = -0.102075636386871, RY = -0.0257548391819 },
                     { X = -0.265592038631439, Y = -0.313393533229828, LX = 0.0911380797624588, LY = -0.0781255960464478, RX = -0.0808668732643127, RY = 0.0693209022283554 },
                     { X = -0.427976816892624, Y = 0.0428069233894348, LX = 0.0140573680400848, LY = -0.145366340875626, RX = -0.0116287469863892, RY = 0.12025260925293 }
                  }
               } }
         }
      },
      Transform1_2 = Transform {
         Inputs = {
            ProcessRed = Input { Value = 0, },
            ProcessGreen = Input { Value = 0, },
            ProcessAlpha = Input { Value = 0, },
            UseSizeAndAspect = Input { Value = 0, },
            Size = Input { Value = 1.00761904761905, },
            XSize = Input {
               Value = 1.00511428571429,
               Expression = "Transform1.XSize*1.004",
            },
            YSize = Input { Value = 1, },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "Transform1_1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            EffectMask = Input {
               SourceOp = "Polygon1",
               Source = "Mask",
            }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 924.741, 2.09259 } },
      },
      Transform1 = Transform {
         CtrlWZoom = false,
         Inputs = {
            ProcessGreen = Input { Value = 0, },
            ProcessBlue = Input { Value = 0, },
            ProcessAlpha = Input { Value = 0, },
            UseSizeAndAspect = Input { Value = 0, },
            Size = Input { Value = 1.00761904761905, },
            XSize = Input { Value = 1.001, },
            EffectMask = Input {
               SourceOp = "Polygon1",
               Source = "Mask",
            }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 688.784, 3.72839 } },
      },
      Transform1_1 = Transform {
         Inputs = {
            ProcessRed = Input { Value = 0, },
            ProcessBlue = Input { Value = 0, },
            ProcessAlpha = Input { Value = 0, },
            UseSizeAndAspect = Input { Value = 0, },
            Size = Input { Value = 1.00761904761905, },
            XSize = Input {
               Value = 1.00511428571429,
               Expression = "Transform1.XSize*1.002",
            },
            YSize = Input { Value = 1, },
            Input = Input {
               SourceOp = "Transform1",
               Source = "Output",
            },
            EffectMask = Input {
               SourceOp = "Polygon1",
               Source = "Mask",
            }
         },
         ViewInfo = OperatorInfo { Pos = { 810.636, 4.1821 } },
      }
   }
}

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Sat Jun 04, 2016 6:18 pm
by Ivan Ivanov
For chromatic aberration this fuse can be of help:

http://www.steakunderwater.com/wesuckle ... t=XfChroma

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Wed Jun 29, 2016 8:23 am
by Ciro Cardoso
Thanks guys. I have been away for 2 weeks, that is why I went quiet.

Thanks a lot for the chromatic script and link. I am working on a new image and I will post here my workflow.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 2:23 pm
by Ciro Cardoso
So we have any tool in Fusion like the Selective Color in Photoshop? This tool:
Selective Coloring is a tool used in Photoshop that allows you to cross blend your individual color channels using sliders within Photoshop. This allows you to add blue hues to your shadows, gold/yellow tones to your highlights, and everything in between to help make your photo look great.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Jun 30, 2016 8:22 pm
by Vladimir LaFortune
Ciro Cardoso wrote:So we have any tool in Fusion like the Selective Color in Photoshop? This tool:
Selective Coloring is a tool used in Photoshop that allows you to cross blend your individual color channels using sliders within Photoshop. This allows you to add blue hues to your shadows, gold/yellow tones to your highlights, and everything in between to help make your photo look great.


That would be Color Corrector node

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Fri Jul 15, 2016 7:54 am
by Ciro Cardoso
Thanks Vladimir for the tip.

I am working slowly on this workflow as I am using free time between projects. So far my initial workflow is as follows

WorkflowPart1.jpg
WorkflowPart1.jpg (85.41 KiB) Viewed 13352 times


Basically load the file as 32bit - connect to Gamut to change the colour space to Wide Gamut RGB - connect to a BC to control the exposure and finally connect to a node done by a user to get my highlights compressed.

Is there any alternative to control the highlights in Fusion?

(if you are curious about the script )

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Sat Jul 23, 2016 11:46 am
by michael vorberg
you could use a ColorCurve node and adjust the curve like in PS or the highlight control in a ColorCorrector

on a side note:
you should stay in linear workflow as long as possible, this means convert to any other colorspace/gamut just before the output and use a viewer LUT to see the (colorspace) correct image in the viewer

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Tue Oct 04, 2016 2:31 pm
by Ciro Cardoso
Keep playing with Fusion and I also had the opportunity to read the manual. Although I came across with something that what the manual mentions isn't working.

There is an option in Photoshop that allows to remove the White or Black matte and Defringe. I read that we can achieve the same in Fusion by selecting the Loader and tick the option Post-Multiply by Alpha. But I believe that this only works with files that embedded Alpha. Am I wrong?

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Oct 06, 2016 2:30 pm
by Ciro Cardoso
So, I was trying to solve this issue

Alpha.png
Alpha.png (206.72 KiB) Viewed 13002 times


Basically I am using a TIFF image with no Alpha. To remove the sky I used a Black and White image connected to a Bitmap node. I still see the White Matte around some of the edges, but after playing with these settings (The Low and High) I actually removed the white halo.

Settings.png
Settings.png (11.22 KiB) Viewed 13002 times


Is the correct workflow? I noticed that I loose some detail

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Sun Oct 09, 2016 11:51 pm
by Adelson Munhoz
There's a video tutorial that focuses in a workflow very similar to yours, I believe.

The author uses alpha multiply and alpha divide in order to obtain a better key:


Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:08 am
by Ciro Cardoso
Thanks for the tut, but isn't exactly what I am trying to do. In his case, the main image already has an alpha embedded. In my case I have something like this

Untitled.png
Untitled.png (107.19 KiB) Viewed 12924 times


If I connect the Alpha image to a Bitmap node I still get that white halo around some areas.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 12:13 pm
by Chad Capeland
That's normal. You haven't altered the RGB of the partially opaque pixels. You need to do that to get a good composite.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 1:09 pm
by Ciro Cardoso
Chad Capeland wrote:That's normal. You haven't altered the RGB of the partially opaque pixels. You need to do that to get a good composite.


Thanks Chad for the clarification. It may be a noob question, but is there any tool too do that? Just point me to the right direction, please.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Mon Oct 10, 2016 3:40 pm
by Adelson Munhoz
You can use several techniques:

1 - Use the chroma keyer instead of luma keyer. This will give you control over the Fringe gamma and Fringe color, which can enhance your keying.

2 - You can use Filter>Sobel over the alpha in order to obtain a mask that only includes the edges of the image. With this mask you can process the only the edges to color correct them, blur them, or even apply a hint of the background image over them, using a blurred version of it. Yon can use an merge with an apply mode (like Screen or Overlay) to do this.

3 - If you use Fusion Studio you can use Primatte with "Image Replacement" option in the spill to fill the semi-transparent pixels with the background image.

If you are not sure on how to do this things I can share some examples.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 9:20 am
by Ciro Cardoso
Adelson Munhoz wrote:You can use several techniques:

1 - Use the chroma keyer instead of luma keyer. This will give you control over the Fringe gamma and Fringe color, which can enhance your keying.

2 - You can use Filter>Sobel over the alpha in order to obtain a mask that only includes the edges of the image. With this mask you can process the only the edges to color correct them, blur them, or even apply a hint of the background image over them, using a blurred version of it. Yon can use an merge with an apply mode (like Screen or Overlay) to do this.

3 - If you use Fusion Studio you can use Primatte with "Image Replacement" option in the spill to fill the semi-transparent pixels with the background image.

If you are not sure on how to do this things I can share some examples.


Thanks Adelson. I am going to have a go with that and see if it works. This teaches me a lesson to always save an image with an Alpha.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Tue Oct 11, 2016 10:57 am
by Chad Capeland
That's not the issue . The alpha is fine,it's the RGB that is wrong.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 7:53 am
by Ciro Cardoso
Chad Capeland wrote:That's not the issue . The alpha is fine,it's the RGB that is wrong.


I know. I have to change my workflow. It is common to save a file with the RGB and another file with the Alpha, then in Photoshop you just have to use one option to remove the white or black matte.

I didn't have time yet to try the Sobel option. Is there any way I can tweak the edge thickness?

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 10:09 am
by Ciro Cardoso
A good tutorial explaining how to use the Zdepth to create a DOF effect.


Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:41 pm
by Ryan Bloomer
Ciro Cardoso wrote:
I didn't have time yet to try the Sobel option. Is there any way I can tweak the edge thickness?


You can use "erode/dialate" to expand the edge.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Mon Oct 17, 2016 9:05 am
by Ciro Cardoso
Ryan Bloomer wrote:
Ciro Cardoso wrote:
I didn't have time yet to try the Sobel option. Is there any way I can tweak the edge thickness?


You can use "erode/dialate" to expand the edge.


Thank you so much for your help. :D

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 4:52 pm
by Shawn Astrom
How do you apply this code?

- Shawn

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 8:13 pm
by michael vorberg
select all -> copy -> paste into fusion

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:27 pm
by Shawn Astrom
Specifically where do you paste the code? I'm particularly interested and the BC node.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Wed Mar 01, 2017 10:29 pm
by michael vorberg
just paste in the flow view

fusion comps are stored as LUA tables, which is plain readable text and can also be edited in a texteditor. another benefit is you can just copy and paste tools from everywhere (texteditor, browser, chat, email, ...)

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Mar 02, 2017 12:10 am
by Shawn Astrom
WOW Thanks. To easy! Obviously I'm learning... Thanks again!

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 10:43 am
by Ciro Cardoso
Is there a way I can select each colour of this image to create a mask/matte?

ID.JPG
ID.JPG (48.04 KiB) Viewed 11952 times


I know that I can use the Wand tool, but sometimes different areas have the same colour and I wanted to in go select all the areas with blue let's say. So far I have been using Photoshop to do that.

Thanks in advance

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:16 pm
by Adelson Munhoz
Use the chroma key tool to select the color you want, check "invert matte" and connect it to the mask input of any tool you need.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Apr 06, 2017 9:43 pm
by Ciro Cardoso
Adelson Munhoz wrote:Use the chroma key tool to select the color you want, check "invert matte" and connect it to the mask input of any tool you need.


Thank you so much. My workflow with Fusion is going to the next level.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Tue Apr 18, 2017 7:21 pm
by Ciro Cardoso
Let's say I have a folder with a bunch of LUT, is there an easier way to read all of them? So, instead of loading one by one, is there a way to just scroll and see the result? Or perhaps a script that does that?

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:03 pm
by Travis Schmiesing
Adelson Munhoz wrote:Use the chroma key tool to select the color you want, check "invert matte" and connect it to the mask input of any tool you need.


Hi Guys, I have a question about using the chroma key tool on a rendered wirepass.... I am trying to use the chroma key tool to select a color in my wirepass. As you can see in the attachment I got it to work but I would like it to select all of that color in the wirepass image, and not just the area where the color is continuous. Any ideas on how to do this?

I realize I could use another wand tool in the example, but I also have images where the color is separated into many different areas and using 20 wand tools would not be an ideal situation.

Thanks in advance for any help.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:22 pm
by Adelson Munhoz
As you can see in the attachment I got it to work but I would like it to select all of that color in the wirepass image, and not just the area where the color is continuous. Any ideas on how to do this?

I realize I could use another wand tool in the example, but I also have images where the color is separated into many different areas and using 20 wand tools would not be an ideal situation.


That's exactly what the chroma key tool does, when you use it like this:

You can select the green (or any color) on your image. The chroma key tool will search for any pixels near that color. The tolerance and bluriness of the selection is adjustable.

Then you select "invert matte" in the "matte" tab, and you will have a mask that corresponds solely to that color you selected.

Then this mask can be used to affect just that color inside any tool that accepts masks.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:41 pm
by Travis Schmiesing
Adelson Munhoz wrote:That's exactly what the chroma key tool does, when you use it like this:

You can select the green (or any color) on your image. The chroma key tool will search for any pixels near that color. The tolerance and bluriness of the selection is adjustable.

Then you select "invert matte" in the "matte" tab, and you will have a mask that corresponds solely to that color you selected.

Then this mask can be used to affect just that color inside any tool that accepts masks.


Hmmm.... Attached are 2 screenshots. The first shows what happens when I setup the ChromaKeyer. It only selects the color that is continuous in the wirepass. If an object breaks that continuous color and then the matte stops there, and won't include other areas of the image that are the same color.

The second image shows what happens when I set up 2 wands. It creates the pass that I want, with all of that color selected, even though it is not continuous.

The second image shows what I would like to happen but with only 1 node as the location and shape of the color will change, and I run the potential of needing to stack many wands if the color is really not continuous... For example if the color passed behind a tree it would be impossible to do it using the method I currently am using.

Maybe I am using a wand for no reason? Can I pick the color directly from the ChromaKey node without using a Wand node.

ScreenCapture_20170622_003.jpg
ScreenCapture_20170622_003.jpg (424.05 KiB) Viewed 10669 times

ScreenCapture_20170622_005.jpg
ScreenCapture_20170622_005.jpg (536.48 KiB) Viewed 10669 times

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:44 pm
by Bryan Ray
Yes, you don't need the Wand at all. The ChromaKeyer alone will do what you want. By using the Wand on the EffectMask input, you are telling the keyer to ignore anything that the Wand hasn't already selected.

Re: From Photoshop to Fusion

PostPosted: Thu Jun 22, 2017 11:54 pm
by Travis Schmiesing
Bryan Ray wrote:Yes, you don't need the Wand at all. The ChromaKeyer alone will do what you want. By using the Wand on the EffectMask input, you are telling the keyer to ignore anything that the Wand hasn't already selected.


Oh my! That was so much easier! I couldn't figure out how to select the color in the ChromaKey which is why I was using the wand. If only I knew all I had to do was click on the color. ;)

I'm a happy camper.