Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Mask paint more than one frame?

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

Rene Berendsen

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 1:35 pm

Mask paint more than one frame?

PostFri Sep 30, 2016 5:46 pm

I'm trying to use the mask Paint node on an image but I need it to run over the entire animation instead of only one frame. Can this be done?
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 423
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostFri Sep 30, 2016 8:19 pm

Yes. That is possible. But instead of using 'multistroke' (the default setting in paint which only does single frame touch ups) set the paint tool to 'stroke'. This should paint across your entire range.
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostSat Oct 01, 2016 10:09 am

If you want that each stroke lasts until the end of the compositition, you must set the "stroke duration" to a value equal or greater than the length of the composition.
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 423
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostSun Oct 02, 2016 7:09 am

And that's what the difference is between 'stroke' and 'multistroke'. The first one will be set to the full duration by default.
Offline

Rene Berendsen

  • Posts: 6
  • Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 1:35 pm

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostMon Oct 03, 2016 10:59 am

How do i set it from multistroke to stroke. I must be missing something...
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 176
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostMon Oct 03, 2016 11:00 pm

You can select on the toolbox that appears when you select the MaskPaint node, like this:

multistroke.jpg
multistroke.jpg (20.38 KiB) Viewed 449 times


stroke.jpg
stroke.jpg (17.75 KiB) Viewed 449 times


Sander is right about the default behaviour of the Stroke option.

Just keep in mind that:

- Stroke is more flexible, but is a heavier tool.
- Multistroke is lighter but less flexible.

The complexity of the tool, however, should only be a concern in projects with hundreds of strokes or more. Or if you are running Fusion in a computer with limited resources.

In terms of flexibility, if you need to access or edit individual strokes, the Stroke tool is your choice.
If you want to make a quick mask paint and don't want to alter ou access any data of it later, go to Multistroke (but you will have to set the duration of the brush strokes to cover all your comp)
Offline

Dominik Rabalski

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:56 am

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostSun May 14, 2017 12:59 pm

Hi, can I change the duration of the existing stroke? I've already painted my mask but with the duration value set to 1, now even if I select it and set the value to 300 its gone by thy frame 1.
Offline
User avatar

michael vorberg

  • Posts: 654
  • Joined: Wed Nov 12, 2014 8:47 pm
  • Location: stuttgart, germany

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostSun May 14, 2017 1:25 pm

there is a script "edit multistroke" which lets you change some parts of the multistroke (i believe its one of the standard scripts which are installed with fusion)
Offline

Glenn Sakatch

  • Posts: 123
  • Joined: Sat Apr 13, 2013 5:36 pm

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostSun May 14, 2017 3:54 pm

This used to trip me up all the time.
I ended up going in and changing my default stroke length to 1000 frames.
(change the lenght to 1000, right click, set as default)
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 423
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostSun May 14, 2017 9:11 pm

If for some reason you can't get Michaels script suggestion to work (it's the preferred method) you can also create a workaround if you need a static mask. Feed a BG into your paint tool then add a timestretcher after the paint tool and set the source time to the frame you painted.
This will effectively repeat that frame indefinitely, so you get a permanent mask that you can use further on in your flow.
Offline

Dominik Rabalski

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:56 am

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostMon May 15, 2017 7:30 pm

Sander de Regt wrote:Feed a BG into your paint tool then add a timestretcher after the paint tool and set the source time to the frame you painted.

What do you mean by that? Feed a Background to the MaskPaint node?

I don't know how to use that script. Pls halp
Offline

Sander de Regt

  • Posts: 423
  • Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2014 10:09 pm

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostMon May 15, 2017 7:50 pm

Can you post what you did so far? This way I can see what it is you did exactly.

Just select all your nodes CTRL+C and then CTRL+V in a message on this forum between two [code] tags.
Offline

Dominik Rabalski

  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2017 8:56 am

Re: Mask paint more than one frame?

PostTue May 16, 2017 2:35 pm

Ill just attach it here through my Google Drive cos its over 60000 characters and I canny attach .comp nor .txt to the post, ok?

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B08bH1wkIXqGWG9QbVdIWUctWEE/view?usp=sharing

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests