Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Fusion loop clip

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author
  • Message
Offline

James Burlison

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 10:12 am

Fusion loop clip

PostSat Mar 04, 2017 10:17 am

Hi, I'm fairly new to fusion and vfx in general. I'm loading in a clip to be used as a looping animation throughout the comp but I can't seem to get it to loop. How do I go about making something loop?
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 239
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Fusion loop clip

PostWed Mar 08, 2017 1:21 am

Hi James.

There's a "loop" checkbox on the bottom of the Loader:

Clipboard11.jpg
Clipboard11.jpg (26.88 KiB) Viewed 748 times
Offline

James Burlison

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 10:12 am

Re: Fusion loop clip

PostWed Mar 08, 2017 1:04 pm

Adelson Munhoz wrote:Hi James.

There's a "loop" checkbox on the bottom of the Loader:



Hi,

Yes, I tried to check the loop box in the loader but it didn't do anything so I assumed I must be missing something obvious. Does it only work for .mov files? I'm using a fusion flipbook (.fb) file from a previous comp.
Offline
User avatar

Bryan Ray

  • Posts: 249
  • Joined: Mon Nov 28, 2016 5:32 am

Re: Fusion loop clip

PostWed Mar 08, 2017 6:59 pm

Is there a reason you're using a flipbook instead of an actual render out of your previous comp? That's a very unorthodox use of one. (I didn't even know you could bring one in via Loader. Having tested it, I get the same result you do—Loop doesn't work.)

If you're intent upon using this workflow, you could use a TimeStretcher right after the Loader. Set the keyframes such that the clip plays properly—for a clip that should run from frames 1 - 30, set Source Time at frame 1 to 1 and Source Time and frame 30 to 30. Then go to the Spline View, select both keyframes, and click the Set Loop button.

Untitled.png
Untitled.png (33.8 KiB) Viewed 711 times
Bryan Ray
http://www.bryanray.name
http://www.musevfx.com
Offline
User avatar

Adelson Munhoz

  • Posts: 239
  • Joined: Thu Mar 05, 2015 5:44 pm

Re: Fusion loop clip

PostThu Mar 09, 2017 2:24 am

I agree with Bryan.

I have never used a flipbook file as a Loader. Not even knew that was possible.

Flipbooks are intended to save a viewer preview. Maybe that's the reason they do not behave like normal loaders.

If you are using the result of a render exclusively as an intermediate file or a cache, I suggest rendering in Fusion RAW. The files are not big and Fusion loads them easily.

Just name the file extension as .RAW in the Saver.
Offline

James Burlison

  • Posts: 3
  • Joined: Sat Mar 04, 2017 10:12 am

Re: Fusion loop clip

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 10:48 pm

Hi all,

Thanks for your advice regarding input file format for the loader and looping with the time stretcher using the spline view. I will have a play around with both and post back here if I run into any more trouble.

Thanks guys! :)

Return to Fusion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Marc van Vliet and 7 guests