Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Maya and Fusion Import

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

Edwin Rivera

Maya and Fusion Import

PostFri Mar 10, 2017 1:10 pm

Hi guys im new to maya but i wanted to integrate 3D in Live footage, hut i have no idea how are there any videos or references you recommend

Also how to i import a maya file to fusion, i try to drag and drop it but it didn't show so i guess i did something wrong

Please let me know
Thank you and have a wonderful day

Andrew Hazelden

Re: Maya and Fusion Import

PostFri Mar 10, 2017 3:24 pm

Hi.

You have to decide if you are trying to import just the camera motion from Maya, or if you want to access geometry too.

For camera motion data, add a Camera3D node to your Fusion comp using the Tools > 3D > Camera3D menu item.

When you select the Camera3D node, at the bottom of the node controls window is an "Import Camera..." button. Clicking this button will show a "Select Scene File" dialog.

fusion-camera3d-node-import-camera.png
Camera3D Node Controls
fusion-camera3d-node-import-camera.png (57.88 KiB) Viewed 4402 times

In the new dialog window, if you click on the options menu labeled "All Supported Files" you will see a list of the supported formats that can be loaded as a camera. Maya ASCII .ma scenes are the only Maya scene type you can load.

fusion-camera3d-node-supported-files.png
Supported Files
fusion-camera3d-node-supported-files.png (12.56 KiB) Viewed 4402 times

If you want to import animated geometry from your Maya scene into Fusion your best option is to export an FBX or Alembic file from Maya. This will also allow you to load in keyframed camera data as well.

When you export FBX files from Maya you may have to use an older FBX version be able to load the file correctly in Fusion.