Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Opening Fusion Composition in DaVinci Resolve

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

Kenny Whitman

Opening Fusion Composition in DaVinci Resolve

PostTue Mar 14, 2017 11:21 pm

It seems to be fairly easy to create a linked Fusion composition from within DaVinci by right clicking on a clip in the timeline and selecting "New Fusion connect clip".

But I am new to Fusion and Resolve and so was unaware of this option, and I was playing with Fusion and created a composition. I now want to import this composition into Resolve as a connected Fusion composition, but am unable to find any information on how to do this? Is it possible, or do I have to render it out and import is the usual way losing the ability to edit this original composition?

Thierry Bergeron

Re: Opening Fusion Composition in DaVinci Resolve

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 1:14 am

I haven't really played with the link between resolve and fusion but maybe send a blank clip from resolve to fusion and paste your flow.

Peter Cordes

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 9:42 am

Hi,

when creating a fusion connect, Resolve renders the clip to use it in fusion, creates the base fusion comp project with loader, properly set saver and project name and then starts fusion with this project.

When you are done with your composition, you save the composition in fusion and render it out.

After rendering, resolve has automatically the rendered clip in its timeline and also all needed references to the fusion comp.

When you need to edit the fusion connect clip, you go to your clip in resolve, right mouse button / fusion connect / open in fusion and tadaaaa, fusion opens with your comp and you can edit it.

After editing, save the comp, render it and so forth.

I hope it helps.

Peter

Thomas Milde

PostWed Mar 15, 2017 10:46 am