Jump to: Board index » General » Fusion

Motion Graphics Node Structure

Learn about 3D compositing, animation, broadcast design and VFX workflows.
  • Author

Jay McDonald

Motion Graphics Node Structure

PostFri Apr 07, 2017 7:16 pm

I am extremely new to Fusion, and am trying to get an understanding of the node-based paradigm and workflow. I'm interested in doing some simple motion graphics where I have vectors (brought in as SVG) of type that has been converted to outlines, and I want each letter to be separately animatable.

I found that I can optimize the structure of the initial node setup by how I have my outline shapes grouped in my original working file. The white foreground and black background on each (see images) are set up as parallel branches which are merged (if I had everything in one group in the original file I built the vectors in, then they were stacked really arbitrarily). But to get what I think I need for animating - each letter with its fore/back grouped for animation, then I still need to do a lot of tedious restructuring. I realize that I'm new, and I will speed up with time, but this kind of setup seems like it will always be slow going.

Is there a better way to approach this, or is this the only way?

Are motion graphics of this sort just not as suited to node-based work?
Attachments
setup after restructure.png
setup after restructure.png (253.34 KiB) Viewed 1447 times
setup after import.png
setup after import.png (197.46 KiB) Viewed 1447 times

Andrew Larson

Re: Motion Graphics Node Structure

PostSat Apr 08, 2017 2:16 am

Now I'm no expert yet either, but is your SVG a modified font for a logo. Does it have to be an imported vector? Could you use the text tool that is in Fusion?

Bob Place

PostSat Apr 08, 2017 11:22 pm

I am guessing you can't use the text tool because of the font. But if you could use it, then that is the way to go with this project. As far as what I would do, I would do basically what you did on the top example.