Page 1 of 1

Hot keys to set Render Start and End?

PostPosted: Mon May 08, 2017 10:27 am
by Kel Philm
I've searched high and low for hot keys to set the render in and out but the only reference I found was to an older version (Ctrl or Shift + [) which did not work. I could not find anything in the hotkeys editor either. Any one have any clues?

Re: Hot keys to set Render Start and End?

PostPosted: Tue May 09, 2017 4:37 am
by Bryan Ray
As far as I can tell, there's no built-in command, but you can do it by running a small script from a hotkey. For instance, here's one to set the GlobalEnd:

Code: Select all
c = composition
attrs = c:GetAttrs()
now = attrs.COMPN_CurrentTime
c:SetAttrs({ COMPN_GlobalEnd = now})


I couldn't get a hotkey assigned to Fusion to run the script, but I could do it for the Flow View. Save this code in a file with the extension .lua in your Scripts > Comp folder. The four attributes you want are:
COMPN_GlobalStart
COMPN_GlobalEnd
COMPN_RenderStart
COMPN_RenderEnd

Each attribute should be controlled with a discrete script, so you'll have four .lua files when you're done.

Oh, and the Ctrl and Shift+[] simply move the playhead to the beginning or end of the global or render range, much as Alt+[] moves to the next or previous keyframe.

Now that you've got me thinking about this, it might be nice to set up some similar scripts to set the Global and Trim ranges for Loaders with hotkeys, as can be done in After Effects. That's one feature that I miss from AE, but it never occurred to me to import it to Fusion.

Re: Hot keys to set Render Start and End?

PostPosted: Wed May 10, 2017 5:41 am
by Kel Philm
Thanks Bryan,

I also found that you can cmd-click and drag on the timeline to set the range which will be another option.

Re: Hot keys to set Render Start and End?

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 3:35 pm
by Sam Steti
Excuse me guys, but I'd like to understand, as I've thought about that a few times too last month.
Are you looking for anything else than what clicking on << and >> under the timeline does ?

Re: Hot keys to set Render Start and End?

PostPosted: Thu May 11, 2017 7:55 pm
by Bryan Ray
Yeah. We're talking about setting the ranges in the time ruler rather than navigating it.

In After Effects, you can use the hotkeys B,N to set the Beginning and eNd of the work area to the current frame. Or Alt+[] to trim a layer's in or out. Fusion has no such commands (as far as I am aware).

Re: Hot keys to set Render Start and End?

PostPosted: Thu Sep 14, 2017 7:46 am
by Mattias Lindberg
Thank you so much for this.

My hotkey setup, for those European former After Effects users who cannot use [ ] hotkeys on their keyboards:

C:\Users\(You)\AppData\Roaming\Blackmagic Design\Fusion\Profiles\Default\User.fu
Code: Select all
{
   Hotkeys {
      COMMA = "Time_Step_Back",
      SHIFT_I = "Time_Goto_RenderStart",
      CONTROL_COMMA = "Prefs_Show",
      F = "Viewer_Scale_Abs{ scale = 0 }",
      I = "RunScript{ Name = 'render_start', filename = 'C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Blackmagic Design\\\\Fusion 9\\\\Scripts\\\\Comp\\\\render_start.lua' }",
      K = "Time_Goto_Key_Next",
      J = "Time_Goto_Key_Prev",
      Target = "FuView",
      O = "RunScript{ Name = 'render_end', filename = 'C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Blackmagic Design\\\\Fusion 9\\\\Scripts\\\\Comp\\\\render_end.lua' }",
      N = "RunScript{ Name = 'set_end', filename = 'C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Blackmagic Design\\\\Fusion 9\\\\Scripts\\\\Comp\\\\set_end.lua' }",
      PERIOD = "Time_Step_Forward",
      CONTROL_K = "App_CustomizeHotkeys",
      SHIFT_B = "Time_Goto_GlobalStart",
      SHIFT_N = "Time_Goto_GlobalEnd",
      SPACE = "Player_Play",
      KEYPAD_0 = "Comp_Render",
      SHIFT_O = "Time_Goto_RenderEnd",
      SHIFT_ALT_V = "Time_Goto_GlobalStart",
      B = "RunScript{ Name = 'set_start', filename = 'C:\\\\Program Files\\\\Blackmagic Design\\\\Fusion 9\\\\Scripts\\\\Comp\\\\set_start.lua' }",
      SHIFT_1 = "View_Show{ Name = 'Show &Flow View', id = 'FlowView' }",
      SHIFT_2 = "View_Show{ Name = 'Show &Timeline View', id = 'TimelineView' }",
      SHIFT_3 = "View_Show{ Name = 'Show &Spline View', id = 'SplineEditorView' }"
   },
}